We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
LongHorn Steakhouse
106 Bass Pro Drive, Harlingen, TX 78552
+1 956-412-0622
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 147 Restaurants in Harlingen
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Harlingen, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Could be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Longhorn Steakhouse was a welcome addition to Harlingen's barren non-Mexican food restaurant scene a year ago. When I reviewed the restaurant nine months ago, I gave it an excellent rating. Since then the restaurant has slipped further and further. It is inconsistent. One time the steak is cooked a perfect medium rare; the next time the beef sandwich is burned and dry. One time the salad is fresh and the dressing tasty; the next time the lettuce should have been tossed. One time the drinks taste great and are served in a timely manner; the next time it takes 15 minutes to get a drink and there is no bartender in sight. Friends of ours have notified corporate management of the problems and vowed to boycott Longhorn. My wife and I will keep trying, hoping it improves. Longhorn just stole the best server from the country club, so we will ask for her. Our fingers are crossed!.And why don't they take reservations?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenson Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had a salad it was not appealing it had too much bacon that taste terrible. i also ordered a shrimp appetizer it was all greasy-my husband had the steak he asked for medium well, it was very raw. We lost our appetites. I will not be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice for a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The New York strip steak I had was very good. I requested it done Medium. Most of it was pink in the center but part was more done than I would have preferred. I would eat here again even though the price is a little high for the Harlingen area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A group of 5 of us thoroughly enjoyed the food and our waitress Jaunita was excellent as well.
Don, Carolyn, Scott from Minnesota

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Ne
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“3 weeks after South Texas Traveller review and SAME EXPERIENCE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Here at 4:45 -3/4 the place empty and the hostess tells everyone the wait is 10 minutes. Understaffed by management is a bad guest experience. We may try once more before we say Adios Texas longhorn Steakhouse.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongHorn Steakhouse also viewed

Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
Harlingen, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongHorn Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.