We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar's Mexican Restaurant

Oscar's Mexican Restaurant
3408 Denton Hwy, Haltom City, TX 76117-3205
817-222-9020
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 61 restaurants in Haltom City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had not been to Oscar's in a very long time (many years). In fact, it was before they moved next door into their new facility. We did not like the food and service when they were in their old facility and therefore did not return. That is, until this week. We were in the area and the restaurant looked new and appealing. I recalled that the one next door was the one we visited before. I'm glad we stopped to give them a try. Outside, the fountain area was very pleasant to see. I even took a photo. The food was very good and appealing. They automatically serve "boracho" beans instead of the refried ones that we are accustomed to having with Mexican dinners. They were very cordial in providing the refried ones when we requested them. I really enjoyed the chicken chalupa. Their chicken has a great taste. I was glad to hear they have flan and cheesecake for dessert as well as one I have never heard of "apple blossom?" We would have ordered one except that we remembered we are watching our weight and we were full. But it sure did sound tempting. Perhaps next time. I discovered a coupon in yesterday's Val-pack mail. Wow, we can save some money too. We will return. They have such a variety of dish selections.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    4
    4
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great restaurant tucked away in the Haltom City area. There is a nice outdoor area as well as nicely decorated more upscale furniture and decor, kinda atypical for the area. The TexMex food served up in this restaurant is more than satisfying and there are several vegetarian variations on Tex-Mex favorites. Service is usually quick and thorugh--eat lunches here at least monthly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Always been a favorite of mine in Haltom City. Oscar is friendly and usually there himself. The service is good and the decor is nice too. It is one of the nicer places in Haltom City.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great TEXMEX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Although we miss the older funkier location, this newer place is really nice. Beautiful patio and interiors done up nicely with indoor fountains. Service is excellent and food very good. Margaritas killer. So many options on menu, I normally order a grilled chicken breast with the cilantro cream sauce that has a hint of white wine. Chips and salsa just the way you want them to be. Always a treat!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This is our last time to eat at Oscars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

1 Star for the chips and salsa, otherwise Oscars Mexican Restaurant in Haltom City, Texas is not what it has been. Something has happened there - either new managment, new staff, new cooks, new recipes or nobody gives a rip anymore about the customers.
The food is bland - not what you would expect for Mexican food. The portions are smaller, both for food and drink and the prices have gone up, even to the point of charging for things they did not used to charge for.

Don't waste your time or money, there are many other fine restaurants that care about the customer and still serve great food with a friendly staff and don't rob you at the end of the meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.