We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel ever!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chaparral Motel

Chaparral Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaparral Motel to your Saves list
Chaparral Motel
310 US Highway 77 S, Hallettsville, TX 77964   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hallettsville
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The worst hotel ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I moved to 2 different rooms due to the rooms smelling like mold and mildew and the bathrooms were not very clean in fact I had housekeeping clean it for a second time which they had a very nasty attitude. The entire staff at that dump was rude and never very friendly at all. I will never ever stay at that place again.

Room Tip: This place is next to some stockyard and all you hear all night long is cows making noise all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room was roomy, nice TV. The bathroom has Lilliputian size fixtures (where did they find such a small toilet and tub). The owner kept trying to enter my room without knocking, then resorted to demanding to know who I was and when I checked in. (This was the guy who took my sign in payment.) When confronted he offered no explanation for this behavior. I itched all night, and have been treated for bedbugs. The coffee maker had no pot, and the styrofoam cups were unwrapped. I would never stay here again even if it were free. This was a pleasure trip for me, but the poor accommodations made the stay less than pleasant.

Room Tip: Try the Best Western across the highway. I have stayed there before and never been uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is older, and a bit worn, but it is clean, and the rooms are spacious. I left two rings there during one stay, and the honest housekeeping turned them in - very refreshing!

The affordability makes up a lot for the vintage of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the property are generally more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I booked 2 motel rooms at about 11:00pm Wednesday evening for a Friday night stay (2 days later) due to a family funeral. Booking the rooms online was very fast & easy.

The rooms were more than adequate for our stay & quite spacious. They were very clean & the beds were comfortable. My husband & I stayed in a room featuring a king sized bed, a cloud-soft lounge chair, a work station desk (with free wi-fi), a dresser. 2 night stands, a mini-fridge, microwave, iron & ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer and a very new looking flat screen color TV with remote control. My daughter and her family stayed in the second room, which featured 2 double sized beds with similar amenities.

We utilized the mini-fridge with some drinks & snacks that we brought from home. We were pleasantly surprised to find that when using the sink to wash, the hot water became hot very quickly. In our experience, this is not very often the case. The TV had very good picture & sound quality. The bathroom & sink area were well stocked with towels, hand towels, washcloths, facial tissues & toilet tissue.

All the staff that we came in contact with were both friendly & helpful.

Although our reason for the stay was a somber one, we enjoyed our comfortable stay at The Chaparral & would recommend it to anyone staying in Hallettsville.

If the need arises in the future, The Chaparral would be our first choice for accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaparral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaparral Motel

Address: 310 US Highway 77 S, Hallettsville, TX 77964
Location: United States > Texas > Hallettsville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hallettsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chaparral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaparral Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.