We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to stop after tubing on the Guadalupe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gruene Historic District

Gruene Historic District
Gruene, TX 78130
830-625-2351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Gruene
Type: Ghost Towns, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A former ghost town that offers a General Store and souvenir shops as well as THE Gristmill and Gruene Hall.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun to stop after tubing on the Guadalupe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Whether you are driving on 35 between San Antonio and Austin, or planning a tubing trip on the Guadalupe/Schitterbahn, Gruene is a great place to stop and wander around. I think it was once a town that was abandoned and someone was smart of enough to revive it. You feel like time has stopped in some areas. Try to stop and get an ice cream, fudge or vintage candy at the General Store, my kids liked sitting at the old fashioned soda bar. Then we danced at Gruene Hall (Texas's oldest Dance Hall)...in the day the children were welcome. It was fun to see other parents dancing with their kids, but there was a great mix of people there. We enjoyed walking through the many stores including the antique store. The Gristmill Restaurant has a neat atmosphere and is a fun place to sit and watch people tubing on the river below.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    43
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Green Light for Gruene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I came here with a friend I was visiting at the suggestion of her daughter and daughter's friend. I was charmed by the place. There were a lot of tourist prices, but it was still fun to wander around and there was no pressure to buy here, eat there, or any of the other distractions so common at a tourist destination. I'm sure I will be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW - Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“If you like country music and cold beer it's a must visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's pretty crowded during the day but everything is manageable. Parking can be confusing but most of it's free. The places mostly are cash only but there is a Chase ATM right down town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gruene Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a charming Texas town with lots of awesome shops, bars, and restaurants. You can spend an entire day perusing them all. And the flowers are gorgeous!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Gem Of A Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Does not matter if you are a Tourist or a local you will love The historic District of Gruene! There are several places to eat overlooking the Guadalupe River. Lots of Antique and Gift shops. Artist stores. Beautiful scenery. Go on a weekday if you can as it will be less crowded. Summer is always busy but weekdays the rest of the year it can be less busy and more pleasant without all the crowds. This town is like getting away from it all. Always a joy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruene Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Gruene Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruene Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.