We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Willhoite's

Willhoite's
432 South Main St, Grapevine, TX 76051
817-481-7511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 189 Restaurants in Grapevine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stopped here for lunch before heading to the airport. Thought it would be a great place to eat considering the history behind the location. The food was ok - we had the lunch buffet, it was reasonably priced and I enjoyed the three different soups. The service was good. The biggest turn off was having to sit outside because of the smoke inside from the smokers. I might go back but at least I know what to expect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    20
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Short shrift”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Been here on last visit, but they were short on cooks, and what we received did not resemble what the menu stated. The waitress was very apologetic and we did get a reduced bill.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spring Sunday Brunch, you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My daughter and I like trying different brunch places once a month. I had not been here in several years and it was a perfect day. It is quaint as other have mentioned this was an old gas station. We opted for the buffet. They have a made to order omelet and waffle station. Also, at that station great cinnamon rolls. On the buffet there was a semi smoked salmon, lettuce with all different types of "fixins" fried chicken. gravy, scrambled eggs, rolls, biscuits. bacon sausage, hot veggies, .hash browns, fresh fruit, pudding. cottage cheese and such. Real butter is also available, The offerings were good not exceptional. Service is OK but if you are at a buffet, there is no real service to speak of. Our waitress came once to offer more to drink and to take the used plates away and after that is was for the bill. Like all buffet service the rule is $1.00 a person . I would have left more if we had been checked on earlier than practically at the end of he meal but that was the server's choice, I have been to other buffets in this price range ($ 14.) and this had higher quality offerings, plus the location, plus the décor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Screaming kid and cold food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Unfortunately the child was quiet just long enough for us to get in and order food. Then it squealed repeatedly throughout or time there. Apparently the mother was either an employee or close friends with the staff as no attempt was made to quiet it. The burgers were quite good, although the "tater tots" were completely cold. The waitress did replace them with hot ones, although we had eaten the rest of the food by then. Without the child it would have approached mediocrity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old time Texas bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great atmosphere but very smoky inside- this is bothersome to a non-smoker like myself. Simple menu of burgers and the like. They have cold beer and live music. They have a buffet line as well.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willhoite's also viewed

 

Been to Willhoite's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willhoite's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.