We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, with above average service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Love & War In Texas

Love & War In Texas
2505 E Grapevine Mills Cir, Grapevine, TX 76051-2085
+1 972-724-5557
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 189 Restaurants in Grapevine
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Gardner, KS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average food, with above average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall the food was average, we had prime rib.

We did enjoy the unique to us menu items. We tried and like the fried pickles.

Service was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    56
    24
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Something different than the normal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A pretty standard steak house by all means except they have a lot of wild game choices on the menu. Which I enjoy as a change from what you find every where else.

The place was crowded but that may just have been because of the time of year.

Service could have been better but with large parties it can always be hit or miss anywhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Love coming to this place. Lots of good opens for food. Great service and they usually have a good red dirt concert going on at night

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not A Standout In The Crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If there is one thing Texas has a lot of, it's steakhouses! And if you're going to open one, you really need to differentiate yourself from the others in someway. However, I found Love & War was just one of the crowd. While they don't do anything bad, they just don't do anything noteworthy. The menu variety was very good - even offering German fare. The service was very good. The atmosphere was typical late 19th century stucco, brick and timber frame decor - which I find fitting as well as enjoyable in a steakhouse. My steak had a unique proprietary seasoning to it that I found different but not necessarily preferable. I found the menu a little pricey but not out of line with other steakhouses in the Dallas area. If you go you won't be disappointed but you may not be overly impressed either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Buffalo Steak Fajita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great spot to sit back and unwind. My food was great. I am here late Monday night and the servers were on fire. I was left wanting nothing. The fried onions were perfect on my fajita. The salsa was medium hot for me and just right. I normally order a diet coke with lime and/or lemon and even thou there were serveral waiters going by they all got my drink right with me only ordering once. I was impressed. I have never had buffalo before and always wanted to try it. It was so good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Love & War In Texas also viewed

 

Been to Love & War In Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Love & War In Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.