We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your kids will LOVE this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Moore, OK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Your kids will LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

We just left the Great Wolf Lodge and had SUCH a good time! This place definitely caters to kids, and since we have 4 this was just the ticket for us. Our room was spacious - and what every family needs - PLENTY OF TOWELS! The indoor water park was great - fun for kids of all ages. I don't really have anything bad to say about this place at all, except the elevators are REALLY busy, and get ready to spend some $$$ - lots to do, but nothing is cheap. I highly recommend you try this place out - in the winter this would be such a fun place to take the kids for the weekend!

  • Liked — Family Friendly, Awesome facilities
  • Disliked — Slow elevators, pricey!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    408
    223
    118
    67
See reviews for
901
12
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SE Okla
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Wow! What a neat place. First of all, I did not call for a reservation until the day before our stay. We got a Deluxe King Suite with one king bed and a pull out sofa. The rooms were huge and clean. But, you barely spend any time in the room anyway. You are there just to change clothes and sleep. Otherwise, you will spend the rest of the time in the waterpark. Even though check in is not until 4:pm, our room was available at 1:pm. Even if you room is not available, you can still use the waterpark starting at 1:pm on the day of check in. You get the use of the park until 9:pm on the day of check out. They opened the outside park the same day we checked in and we really enjoyed that as well. There are two slides outside and 4 slides on the inside. You must be at least 42" tall for the smaller slides and 48" tall for the bigger slides. If you have young children, they have several pools that are 1 inch deep to 1 1/2 foot deep.

While you are there, you can't worry about money. Just try to have fun. Everything cost extra. They make it easy on you though. All the restaurants let you charge to your room. Also, your bracelet you have to wear is also you room key and scanned for vending machines, arcades, etc. It is nice not to have to carry a room key or money around. But it also makes it so much easier to spend money as well. The older kids will also enjoy the interactive video game based on Harry Potter. My nephew is 13 and he loved it. He ran all 8 stories looking for clues.

I will definitely take my family back again. I just need to save up some more money.

  • Liked — Waterpark - Indoor and Out
  • Disliked — Cost - room, food, and other is expensive
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

My husband and I took 4 children 13-14 years old and had a wonderful time! Check was relatively simple and quick given the number of people that were checking in. The rooms were clean and the beds were full size and very comfortable. We didn't hear any noise and we were on the main floor (2nd).

We quickly headed to the waterpark once we arrived and were pleased to find the wait for the rides was 10-15 minutes. Great Wolf could improve on the speed of getting riders on with additional help. The park was filled with families and we had no trouble. The outside portion was closed on Friday but open on Saturday. It may depend on the weather.

Food at the waterpark was priced as I expected. It was like going to any other theme park. However, there was a Pizza Hut just outside the waterpark inside the hotel which provided a cheaper alternative ($14 for a medium pizza). We did not eat at the buffet due to the cost ($20 adults $14 kids). We ate at the restaurant on the 3rd floor which was a little high but not horrible ($9.50 for burgers and fries). I highly recommend the Campfire Sundae which fed all 6 of us for $10. It was a circle of ice cream scoops (fire ring), 4 chocolate covered pretzels (logs) and cotton candy in the middle (fire). Too cute!

Our children went to the GR8Space which cost $10 each. It was a teen club which closed at midnight. It had high speed internet, various game platforms and a lounge area. It was nice to have a place for the teens to go. We felt it was a much cheaper alternative than the arcade. There was also a Cub Club for younger kids.

The Magic Quest looked very interesting and fun. The kids could buy wands for $15 then the game was $10. They roamed the hotel trying to complete their quests. Parents looked like they were having as much fun as the kids searching for their treasures.

Note: Be sure to turn on charging to the room on wristband so that you don't have to take money to the waterpark!! Also if you check out by 9:30am, GWL will credit you $15 and you can still use the waterpark the day you check out.

  • Liked — Something to do for all ages!
  • Disliked — line que on waterslides - need more help
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We loved the Great Wolf and while it may seem a little pricey, you are getting a fantastic waterpark! The food was moderately priced and of average quality. My complaint was that they did not tell me when making the reservations that the outdoor park was still under construction, as was at least one third of the remaining hotel. On check in, they also failed to tell me I was getting a handicapped room and that as a consequence, the Kids Cabin I was getting would not have a day bed for the kids. There was a sleeper sofa, but my three boys wanted to all be in the cabin and so this was a minor disappointment. My suggestion is to ask lots of questions at reservations and on check in. When I tried to change rooms, there were no others available.

The hotel is new so it is very clean and fresh. The weekend we were there had loads of kids and while the patrons are not going to be accused of being highbrow elitists and they probably enjoy NASCAR more than golf, they were polite and friendly.

The kids absolutely loved the waterpark and the waits were not too bad for the best rides like the tornado - about 20-30 minutes and the hotel was full.

  • Liked — Unbelievable water park.
  • Disliked — Poor disclosure about construction of the hotel.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

I took eight 13-ish girls to the resort for a birthday party. The kids had a great, great time. Many aspects of the resort are kid friendly, especially the wristband system, in which the wristband triples as waterpark admission, room entry, and cashless payment system. The room slept all of us, easily. The two bathrooms were definitely a plus. The kids loved the food. Some of the employees were great. On the downside, this resort is sorely lacking in service. Many of the employees sported expressions of excruciating agony, practically screaming out: "I would rather be ANYWHERE than here and doing ANYTHING other than serving these Neanderthals!" (If management is reading, this negative is easily remedied, as proven by Six Flags Over Texas.) The resort is very, very expensive, yet it was sold out when we were there (Saturday night) and gave all signs of selling out again the Sunday we left. Even though many families were shelling out the substantial cash required, I am told by a bell hop that tipping is extremely miserly, which might be the reason for the mandatory 18 percent gratuity on many activities. We were stunned when the spa, which admitted it could not use my friend's credit card because of an internal problem, nevertheless refused to take her check. They really made her feel like some kind of deadbeat, when the fault was the resort's. I suspect this facility will wear badly, but, open only four months, it's still nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Ok, we have 2 girls ages 6 and 9. The hotel is SOOOOOO expensive I was extremely disappointed. We used this hotel as a weekend getaway, as we live locally.
I expected by paying over $299 a night that the staff would've been more friendly and that meals, snacks, and the arcade would've been more reasonable.
The rooms are noisy and I cannot believe such a HUGE resort would only have 4 elevators. The kids use the elevators for the MagiQuest, which makes things run way too slow.
The MagiQuest is too expensive and senseless. You get absolutely nothing for running up and down the stairs around the hotel for hours. You encounter rude kids, and unhelpful staff along the way.

If you want to spend $1000 for three days, then go here. I won't again.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

They so totally messed up our reservations that we didn't even stay at their hotel the night we booked months in advance. They had us staying a different night. Offered us two rooms to compensate for the VERY EXPENSIVE Suite we booked, but that would have meant my husband slept alone as we would not leave children alone in the other room (seemed okay with them). They also messed up our VERY EXPENSIVE Cabana reservation at the waterpark.

So we went down the street to Embassy Suites (who upgraded us to an Executive Suite after hearing what happened to us). So check, double check, triple check and get everything in writing. And don't settle for what you don't want if they mess up.

They did give up compensating Waterpark Passes - after I told them they would do so. So we did spend the day at the waterpark, which was awesome.

The Hotel is like Disney World, detail upon detail. But their service is NOT like Disney. The Buffet is terrible, but the upstairs restaurant is decent and priced okay too.

Terrible Reservation Process
Terrible Food at Buffet
Terrible Service (mostly, but we did find some nice lower paid employees)
AWESOME Waterpark,but is that enough?

Very dissappointed in GreatWolf.

  • Liked — The Waterpark
  • Disliked — The Reservation Process and the cost.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Grapevine
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.