We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time for family of all ages” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Save Saved
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Grapevine
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good time for family of all ages”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

They have slides the family can do together in one raft. I was 8 weeks pregnant when we went and I had a great time. It was nice to swim and see sunshine. We live in Germany and spent Spring Break with family in the US. If you have a weak stomach, do not go down the slides backwards. Tons of lifeguards. It is a bit expensive. If you lose your bracelet, it costs $40 to replace it. We did not have to do that, but we were told that once we asked about it. Your room key is a chip in your bracelet they provide you. Very handy!! We didn't get a super fancy room. It was plenty big for us. We went downtown and they had lots of boutiques to look at. They close at 5:30. There is a seafood restaurant and it was delicious. We were there Monday thru Wednesday during Spring Break. You can start playing before your room is ready. I believe you can start at 1pm. Also the day you check out, you can play. We went to the aquarium in Dallas. It was about 30 minutes from the Lodge. It was very neat and it ended our trip with a smile. They say that you can't take outside drinks and stuff into the waterpark area, but we did. We saw lots of people that did also. No coolers, but beach bags with things.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and didn't have any noise problems. We were quite satisfied with our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    324
    184
    97
    56
See reviews for
736
9
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a great time we had and our 2nd time to visit! We arrived on a Thursday and left Friday, but we started enjoying the waterpark at 1pm Thursday and then again Friday morning. Our kids are still too young to do the Magiquest, so one night's stay is plenty for us. We brought a cooler of drinks and snacks, and were able to use the refrigerator w/icebox. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The whole famy had a great time here. You really don't need more than three days here. Great fun in the water park and the magiquest game. The food was ok...breakfast buffet maybe the best meal here. Plenty of other places nearby to eat. Kids loved the "kids cabin" room. It is pricey but it was worth it by not having to go to other places to entertain the whole family. Already making plans to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We took our grandson and nieces, 7, 10 and 12, for spring break. It was a zoo.

In summary, the kids enjoyed it but we were appalled at what we experienced. If you want to turn your children loose with the other 500 unsupervised gremlins running around, then this is the place for you. It also provides the opportunity for your children to see, first hand, with endless examples, how lack of discipline and entitled disrespect will allow them behave.

Lord of the Flies is a 1954 novel about boys stuck on an uninhabited island who try to govern themselves with disastrous results. It poses the question of human nature and individual welfare versus the common good. Hence the reference above.

It was not what we expected, or what we think is presented. We have 2 grandchildren less than a year old that will not be going with us when they get old enough. We will find something else.

The room is $100/day per person ($500/day for us) and includes use of the waterpark only. For 3 days, it was $2,500 (room $1,677, on the room, MagicQuest $254, food and misc $572). Not worth it. To be fair the service was acceptable and the staff was very pleasant. However, it is overpriced, over sold, worn out and over rated. We will NOT return and do NOT recommend it to anyone.

To be clear, it is NOT about the money, but I do believe in getting what you pay for. We took our entire family to Disneyworld for the week of Thanksgiving last year, and we will do it again, soon.

The remainder of the review is more specifics of our experience which you may choose to read or NOT.

==========================================================

Upon arrival it was total chaos at the porte-cochère. Although there were 5 or 6 valets, they were walking around in total confusion and the arriving and departing guests were overwhelming the entry. No organization or control whatsoever. A sign of things to come.

Check-in at the front desk was surprisingly efficient. We were informed bracelets were MANDATORY for ALL guests as they are your room key and can be used for ID to make room charges. Although we were NOT pleased with this we were even more surprised when we were asked if we wanted all of the children to have room access and charging privileges. My wife asked, “Do you mean so they can come and go anytime they please and make charges to the room?” “Yes” was the response to which she replied “NO!” Another sign of things to come.

We started to our room and found it a challenge to navigate the barrage of running, screaming kids who evidently had never been instilled with the concept of common courtesy or respect for others. When we arrived at the elevator lobby there were kids running up and down the emergency stairwell. We waited for the elevator and when the door opened several of the natives rushed the door from behind us almost knocking my wife over. In the elevator stood two children appearing to be about 5 years of age alone, evidently riding the elevator for entertainment.

We arrived at the room. We had one of the “KidCabin Suites” (direct quote from their website).
The use of the term “Suite” is inaccurate and misleading. It was an $89 a night room with an additional 10 foot of length and the “Cabin” stuck between the bathroom and Queen bed.
The room was worn and cheaply done. Beds were hard, even the kids complained. The Cabin had a 26” LCD TV and we had a 29” CRT. I hadn’t seen one in about 6 years, much less stayed in a hotel with one, and we do A LOT of traveling.

We changed into our swimsuits and stated for the pool. The water park is amazing for an indoor park and the kids really enjoyed it. After about 2 hours I retired to the room. That evening we went to the MagiQuest store to buy the kids wands. MagiQuest is a computerized scavenger hunt where the objective is to run the halls and stairwells to collect all of the Magic Rune the game sends you in quest of. This is why the stairwells and common areas are full of kids running up and down to win the game. Most of them were unaccompanied, unsupervised and uncontrolled.

I cannot believe the local Fire Marshall allows this to go on.

That night the natives were running the halls until about midnight. We were awakened by the same rumble about 7:00 AM. Evidently is normal as this continued for 3 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is our 4th time to visit Great Wolf and this lodge in Texas is 100 percent bigger and better than the Great Wolf Lodge in Kansas City. This time our family of 5 got the Loft suite which included an upstairs. It was spacious and perfect. Our only complaint is the beds are hard and the pillows are not good. (I would highly suggest you bringing your own pillows). We love the area of Grapevine where the hotel is located... it is super close to so many great surrounding areas. It took us only 15 minutes to go to Ikea and about 20 minutes to go to the Galleria. We also had the pizza at the Lodge for the first time and it was really good. The drinks are super expensive on property so I would suggest packing a few or stopping by a nearby gas station and taking some up to your room. The park wasn't very crowded (we were there the week of March 19-20th). Also you should know that they do not allow any water toys from home so don't bother bringing any with you. It was a fun quick get away and we will return!

Room Tip: Get the upstairs Loft if you have a family of 5 or more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great Wolfe is a great place to stay!!! Fun for all....my kids will remember this forever!!! Be prepared to pay for what you get.....stick to the waterpark and quest and give kids a budget for the day, which you can place on their wristband....I paid for dinner for all, which is about 60 bucks for a family of 4!! Clean hotel, friendly staff, love....love....love!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I take my kids here every year for their Birthday. The ages are 10 and 12. They have a blast every time. If you go have plenty of money because the magi quest is worth every penny but can be costly. Try to eat off the resort the food is decent but cost quite a bit. Make sure you bring plenty of bottled water and snacks. The rooms are clean and I was happy with the beds.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Grapevine
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.