We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff seemed too overwhelmed to the crowd size.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Save Saved
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Grapevine
1 review
“The staff seemed too overwhelmed to the crowd size.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The room was not serviced our entire stay. The room was extremely stuffy. It was dusty and moldy. Allergy and asthma attacks non stop. Not worth the money. It was too crowded. Staff complained of having to work long hours and rooms were booked to capacity.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    318
    180
    94
    56
See reviews for
717
9
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I purchased a special discount to take my family and some of my daughter's friends for a belated birthday celebration. I mistakenly thought I'd cut a chunk of the significant cost because of the room discount, and my kids were both totally excited about our trip because I said we could add on some extras since we were saving so much money.

Upon arrival at the hotel, it's clear that the place is totally, completely tailored to children and families. My son was able to keep himself plenty busy in the lobby area while I waited in line to check in and pay about $100 in fees and taxes. From here on out, I'll just call Great Wolf Lodge the "$100" hotel. After making our way to the room -- it was nice, clean, comfortable enough -- we wanted to explore. Let's pick up magic wands to play the treasure-hunting game in the hotel! $100. Let's get dinner! $100. Breakfast? You guessed it, $100.

If cost is not a consideration for you, Great Wolf Lodge in Grapevine is a BLAST. My kids really, really enjoyed it. My husband and I enjoyed it too. The water park was uber-fun, and there's so much going on all the time that there is also plenty to keep the kids busy. The restaurants were also good, and even though the hotel was packed with families enjoying a long weekend we didn't have to wait to be seated.

Overall, I recommend this resort. We will likely go back, as the kids wanted to stay longer. However, we'll continue to watch for specials. Our one night, two days in the hotel with activities for the kids ended up costing as much as we would have paid for a weekend in Mexico for just the four of us... so perhaps this will be our getaway during hurricane season. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the loft rooms -- plenty of space for four pre-teen girls and chaperone parents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I never knew how much fun a family could have at Great Wolf Lodge! Granted, I was with preteen children that could explore on their own. But, I felt very safe within this environment. MagiQuest will keep kids busy for hours! The decor was amazing.The water park was terrific and well-supervised by the staff. The Elements Spa was perfect for adults! Plenty to do and see. I would definitely recommend it to others!!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators and stairs...it's quieter. Be prepared for lots of walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

For years I balked at the price of staying here. Just do it. Book 3 months in advance for the best rate & stay. Wow. This place is amazing. Stayed with husband & 5 year old. Really, it wouldn't matter if you had a 5 month old or a 50 year old, you'll have a blast. Spa was great, restaurants were great, staff was great, pools were great, beds were SO comfortable. We already have plans to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Loved the hotel and the family environment, it is on the expensive side but its so amazing and fun for the entire family. Tip, do buy the $70 package at the front desk that includes a magic wand and the magic quest game. It's so much cheaper than to walk in to the store, once your kids see All the other kids playing magic quest around the hotel they will not stop bothering u till you get it. I wish I would've know this before, I spend $56 on the magic wand and magic quest alone. :(

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Place is for families with small children. I get that. I don't get why the room walls are so thin and that every door of every room slam hard when you shut them. All night I heard slamming doors literally every 2-5 minutes. They slam so hard that the photos on the wall rattle.

I also don't get why the elevators are so slow. They have about 6-8 elevators but only 1 work at a time. The parking is atrocious that you're forced to use valet. I heard this place was fairly new but the rooms look a bit dated. (1999 wants their TV back). The free wifi is a joke. I know, it's free, but come on. My 3G service is faster. We use the wifi to find restaurants and other stuff to do.

I'm sure the kids had fun, but they're going somewhere else next time. I'm sure there will be a response from the staff, but it is what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel exists solely for the purpose of entertaining children, so if you want to give your kids a fun weekend, go there. My kids loved the waterpark which was a beating for the adults. They also loved the arcade and laser game. The food was mediocre at best, we went to all of the different restaurants, all low priced for a resort.
The rooms were clean but not even slightly luxurious. I would return here just because my kids had such a good time, which in turn I had fun watching them.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Grapevine
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.