We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious, authentic Mexican Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esparzas

Esparzas
124 E Worth St, Grapevine, TX 76051
817-481-4668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 205 Restaurants in Grapevine
Price range: $11 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious, authentic Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We recently visited the Dallas area and really wanted authentic Mexican food. We were shopping in charming downtown Grapevine so we asked one of the shopkeepers to recommend a place to eat. Just one block away was Esparza's. It was a Friday night after 7:00 pm and the place was packed- which we knew was a good sign. We waited 15 or 20 minutes at the bar and enjoyed margaritas. After being seated at our table, we enjoyed fabulous chips with queso and guacamole (best I've ever had!). The queso and guac cost extra and were a little pricey for the small amount we got. The dinner portions were generous, though, and perfectly priced. The chicken quesadilla was stuffed with outstanding grilled chicken and the right amount of high-quality cheese. The spinach quesadilla was a great healthy option that did not disappoint us. We highly recommend Esparza's. We did not give it 5 stars because it was so loud and crowded.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    79
    27
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I visited on a Friday night for dinner. It took 3 times as long to find a parking place than to get seated at a table. Our waitress Antonia was fabulous.........very gracious and attentive. The food is typical tex-mex. Nothing special. The restaurant is quite loud. I would certainly go back the next time I'm in Grapevine, but wouldn't make a special trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok place, great margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We go when in town, but don't plan on having a conversation. Food is ok, not great. Margaritas by the pitcher.....no worries after

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go to Mexican place when friends come to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great atmosphere, great food and drinks. You can't go wrong taking visiting friends here. Plus, one of our favorites for sitting outside and chilling out in the summer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Used to be a great place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We used to frequent Esparzas often, as it was always a great 'happy hour' meeting place with great food and dynamite Margueritas. However, we have been there twice in the last three months and the service was terrible and the food tasted like something from a Taco Tico. The second time was with a large party of 16 and everyone in the group agreed they had really gone downhill from the Esparzas of years ago.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esparzas also viewed

 

Been to Esparzas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esparzas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.