We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a revamp and some new costumes.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Let's Pretend Tea Parties

Let's Pretend Tea Parties
317 Jenkins St, Grapevine, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 23 Attractions in Grapevine
Type: Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs a revamp and some new costumes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My daughter really liked it the first time so we went back again using our second groupon. The actual tea part is charming and so fun to bond with your little princess. The costumes and hats are nasty. My daughter was Cinderella ...minus one sleeve with a big stain on her dress. My mil wore a red hat with a big tear in the tulle and I wore a pink hat that if turned around to the back....hid the hole. Ha. If this place got some new outfits and a fresh coat of paint...it would be charming! Still a fun afternoon and definitely worth the groupon for the smile on your daughters face. Cupcakes and tea are tasty!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Du Quoin, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I bought a groupon for my daughter and used it for a small birthday party (5 moms / daughters). After the bad review, I was nervous about what to expect, but our expectations were going in were that of a local boutique tea party, not the Bibbiddi Bobbidi Boutique at Disney. (Which should be the expectation for the inexpensive price... even if you don't have a groupon.) We were very pleased! All the girls were given ample attention. Yes, costuming had been worn, but it was all much better than 'cheap halloween quality'. Make up was applied with q-tips, dipped into make-up one time, clean. The girls loved having their hair done. Tea was great, cupcake was good, the look on the girl's faces (2-4 year olds) when they brought real tea out was priceless. (they had been pretend playing 'tea party' while a few girls finished up getting ready). All of us talked about when we'd come back. And we will come back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“charming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a charming place it is. Located behind the Farmer's Market is this store with plenty of cute outfits and colorful and fun accessories for little princesses. At the back of the store there's a room for tea parties.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“fun for children under 7”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lots of fun. Many dressup options for girls but not as many for little boys. The kids loved being served tea and cupcakes as much as playing dressup.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money--even with a Groupon.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place runs Groupons constantly, and having recently changed ownership, we decided to give it a second try. It was the same old stuff from last summer. The "dress up" clothes/shoes/hats etc---are tattered, falling apart, stained, really old, and horrid looking. The owner should be embarrassed. The store part in the front has a lot of baby sized clothing--yet they have dress up clothing for ages 4 and up in the back--so who are they targeting? Ditch the baby stuff and cater to the 4-8 year old group, in the store, that come for the dress up parties. The "tea" is pretty much warm concentrated fruit punch--that is served with extra sugar cubes. Tasted like cough syrup. The cupcakes are from the grocery store--really. We had to make an appointment, and even then, the attendants still weren't very attentive. They were busy cleaning. It was just a waste of time and money. The owner needs to close up shop for a few weeks and regroup. New dress up clothing/shoes/etc are desperately needed!
Clean that front half of the shop and bring in age appropriate merchandise and clothing, for your clientele. This is a poorly executed *new ownership*, that has potential---but they need to throw some cash into the business and give it a facelift.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Let's Pretend Tea Parties also viewed

 

Been to Let's Pretend Tea Parties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Let's Pretend Tea Parties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.