We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Camping!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vineyards Campground and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grapevine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Vineyards Campground and Cabins
Save
You added The Vineyards Campground and Cabins to your Saves list
1501 North Dooley St, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel amenities
Borger Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Camping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is one of the best places we've stayed. We stopped by here twice in May for a total of 6 days and enjoyed every minute of it. the sites are very level and even the back in sites are very easy to access. All of the connections are modern and the pads are concrete. We stayed in two different golden sites that were just a few yards from the lake. The kids and grandkids came out to visit and they loved it as well. There is a very nice swimming area, public showers, a laundromat with new machines and a small store for snacks and fishing gear. Even though you're just minutes away from down town Grapevine, you feel like your out in the country. There is an abundance of wildlife including some not so wild ducks. (They love pop corn). The fishing from the shore wasn't great but it was good enough to keep us intrested and we caught enough catfish for a fish fry. The staff is very friendly and ready to assist with any questions or issues. I highly recommend this park.

Room Tip: If you're planning to fish, opt for the smaill increase in cost for one of the gold sites along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very nice park, clean with paved road and the park is around the lake. We enjoyed this park, and it was close enough to town for us to walk. We do not tow a vehicle, so we use our legs. It's about 30 to 40 minute walk depending on how fast you move.

The staff was nice as well. The only thing is, this park is pricey...some say you get what you pay for, but not sure it warrants these prices, and we were there "off season".

RVing is not as economical as some people believe. Not if you want to stay in the nicer parks...and we do. The nicer parks have better security, and that is important to us, even though we lock everything up, even if we take a walk, it's nice to know security is making rounds!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a well situated campground with very friendly and welcoming staff. We stayed in a good, long, level site with views across pretty campground and lake. The sites were nicely spaced out amongst lovely trees.

Grapevine is a pretty town to explore and approximately half an hour from the centre of both Fort Worth and Dallas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
904 helpful votes 904 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in their cabin which sleeps 6 people. The cabin really isn't a "cabin". It is more like a trailer with wood looking paneling on the outside to look like a cabin. It was extremely small. Inside, we felt like we staying more in an RV than cabin. The bathroom was so small that I hit my head on the sink when using toilet!

It was fairly clean. The extra blankets we needed to use for the futon bed either had coffee stains or food in them so we had to use one of own blankets we keep in our van for traveling.

Everything inside was cheaply made - the frig didn't stand evenly on the floor, most of the blinds were broken or not working, etc.

The shower/tub had the drain on the side of the tub instead of under the faucet so when trying to shower, you were stepping in the drain. Plus the shower head was so low, you had to bend down to take a shower. It was so weird that half of us wouldn't even even use the shower.

The map on their website shows the cabins facing Lake Grapevine. However, they face a swampland (see photo) and not the lake. That was disappointing also.

The staff were friendly. There are numerous RV sites available too and most all of them were taken the night we stayed so they do stay quite busy.

This campground is located in the city and just around the corner from The Gaylord Texan Resort. Due to the small size of the cabin, we would not consider staying here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a very pretty rv park...spacious. We stayed in Dec/Jan. Best advice I can offer is...If you are staying for the use of Grapevine Lake, find out the lake water level. We had to launch at Silver Lake Marina (Private Marina) because EVERY other launch site on the lake was too shallow for us to launch our small jon boat. Also fishing was horrible. We found no underwater structures to fish around....no trees, etc. Humminbird showed no fish. So unless you are coming to spend time other than in the lake the park was very nice. Grapevine is very pretty.

Room Tip: we stayed in spot 36...very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Set up reservations way in advance to meet son and family traveling in rented motor home and visiting from California. Initially had a campsite across from theirs, but as fate would have it we found ourselves broken down in Denton at Camping World for past 2 weeks. So had to call and change from camping to a cabin that would be close to family and grand kids. Wife had planned to cook Gumbo for the cool weather and to our surprise there was no stove, hot plate, nothing! Although the brochure indicated fully furnished cabins. No problem we can go to plan B. Then at end of evening and enjoying a nice campfire, everyone retired for the night. It was very brisk and cool out. Came in got showers and headed to bed. Another surprise - no blankets just sheets and very light bed spread. No problem my wife always comes prepared, went out and got a coupe throw blankets a friend made us for Christmas. They worked out fine. Now laid down and bingo bed was worn out and pillows flat as pancakes! Did not bring ours from motor home, darn it live and learn! This is a very beautiful campground and very nicely laid out with oversized campsites and pretty much all with excellent views. Staff all seem to be very friendly and eager to help. Even delivered firewood and kindling for our nightly fire and at a decent price at $10 bucks per bundle, (bundle great per night). Over all we will be back in our motor home but doubtful for the cabins.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very nice place hidden in the middle of Grapevine Texas.
Helpful Staff, very clean park and felt very secure.
I didn't try the wifi but you get access for two devices.
AT&T cell service was strong.
Bathhouses were immaculate condition.
Only negative I have is some of the sites were not as level as I would have hoped, but hey, everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vineyards Campground and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vineyards Campground and Cabins

Address: 1501 North Dooley St, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grapevine
Number of rooms: 108

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vineyards Campground and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.