We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just want to dance the night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chill Restaurant & Bar

Chill Restaurant & Bar
814 S Main St, Grapevine, TX 76051
817-310-0004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 213 Restaurants in Grapevine
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Mexican, Pizza, Grill, Chicken Wings, Sandwiches
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just want to dance the night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to chill about midnight. I never expected it to be some sort of night club. There were a few of us from England and some of our American cousins. The tunes reminded me of when I was at school in the 90's.... I could not stop dancing. It was brilliant xx

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I eat at this "popular hangout" a couple of times a month. He likes to watch the games on the big screens that cover nearly every wall space. I like to spend a late afternoon on their casual outdoor patio especially when they have the musicians. Note: If it is nice weather, get there early to get a table outside.
It is in a great location in the historic downtown Grapevine - walking distance to the Tarantula Train and the local shops.
All the food we have eaten there is really good at competitive prices. My favorite appetizer is the bacon wrapped shrimp $8.99 (it may be their most expensive appetizer but it could be a meal by itself) The kids like the piled high fried pickles $5.99. (they gladly brought out extra Ranch) The queso dip is good too.
For dinner, I like the chicken fajitas. The sides they bring out is more than I need. My husbands favorite is the pizza. I compare it to one of the best pizzas I have ever had.
If you are not watching calories, the chicken fried steak is WONDERFUL. It is huge and comes with cream gravy, mashed potatoes and broccoli.
I have not been there late at night but I understand they have bands or a DJ at night and a dance floor.
Service is friendly.
I would recommend this place and we will be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sports Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have visited this place a few times since being in Grapevine. It is a typical sports bar. Happy Hour starts at 11 and the food is good. O would say it is aboe average but I am comparing it to my home state which has the best HH around and fantastic sports bars. The only drawback - it is not always the place I would want to be.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“just your average sport's bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went here with my honey because we had a groupon. When we walked in I noticed that the staff consisted of young women with lots of cleavage. I found this to be a little strange for main street in Grapevine. It's more of a bar than restaurant feel inside. The place was pretty much empty when we went in for dinner. I asked the waitress about a couple of menu items and she told me that she had never tried them and didn't know if they were a good choice or not. Also, she told us that the beer special was one price and charged us another. I ordered ribs with fries and coleslaw. The food was average, nothing to write home about. My husband had a ribeye with mashed potato. He thought that the steak was really good and he enjoyed his sides as well. Maybe I should have gone with the steak. The service was just ok. The waitresses seemed to be just hanging around, not doing anything and sitting in the bar area at tables. They also have a stage so I'm guessing they have bands. I think it might be a fun place to go have drinks but I won't be running back anytime soon for the food or service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Caveat Emptor (Buyer Beware)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently took part in a surprise birthday party here and left without many positive emotions about the place. Their semi-private room was nice and they had plenty of TVs to go around. They even had a happy hour on a Saturday night. However, they actively advertise happy hour as lasting until 7pm but then try to get out of honoring it as that time approaches. For instance, I ordered a drink at 6:50pm, and they came back to warn me it would be full-price. I looked at my watch and two cell phones and it wasn't even 5 'til. The waitress talked to a manager and they made an exception "this time," so I guess that means they plan on continuing to NOT honor their own happy hour pricing policy. Food was mediocre—hot sauce and sliders were pretty plain. It's unlikely I will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Grapevine, TX
 

Been to Chill Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chill Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.