We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movie night with my bride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Arts Center Theatre

Palace Arts Center Theatre
300 S. Main St., Grapevine, TX 76051
817-410-3100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 Activities in Grapevine
Type: Theaters, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
DFW Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Movie night with my bride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I enjoyed our first visit to the Palace last Friday night to see "The Princess Bride" on the big screen. I admit it had no appeal when it was originally released, but we've enjoyed watching the video/DVD with our children (now adults) over the years. The Palace shows old(er) movies on the big screen on Friday nights in the summer and on some Friday nights throughout the year, but also features live entertainment throughout the year. The theater is maintained and staffed by folks from the Grapevine Convention & Visitors group and it would be hard to find folks any friendlier.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Definitely worth seeing! Old movie theater that still has movies & shows. Great prices. Located in downtown Grapevine, so parking is easy and FREE.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas, Usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old Movies at Old Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have watched Grease, all three Star Wars movies, and Jaws so far this summer at the Palace Theater. Goonies is coming up later this month. It's one of our favorite theaters.

The price is right ($5/ticket) along with cheap drinks and popcorn. The volunteers do a great job: a personal introduction (often with games and prizes) to the movie, and no commercials. The restrooms are fantastic with art by local artists on display in the hallways leading to the restrooms.

There's a balcony available to watch the movie and rumble seats (two-person seats) for the romantics.

All in all, it's a fun experience as the audience sings along, cheers the heroes, and booes the villains.

Sign up for their newsletter to keep up with their offerings. Online tickets are available (small fee added to the $5 tickets). Arrive early for popular movies.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Evening for 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I went out to eat and enjoy a movie at the Palace Arts Center Theatre in Grapevine. We had not ever seen Mama Mia and it was showing so we went. It is a beautiful old theatre that I believe is run pretty much by volunteers. Seats are comfortable and it was alot of fun. We will go back and do it again. All the concessions are 1.00 with exception of popcorn which is 1.00, 2.00 and 4.00.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Texas Tenors in Grapevine, Tx!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you have never been to Grapevine, Tx I suggest you go in December when the whole town is decked out with Christmas decor and The Texas Tenors are performing at the Palace theater in Downtown Grapevine.

The Texas Tenors once again put on an amazing show, well actually more than amazing, FANTASTIC!! One thing about them performing at the Palace is that it is a more intimate and there's not a bad seat in the house! (you don't binoculars in order to see the gentlemen).

The first half started with them performing songs from their regular show, best of all their song "You Should Dream" hitting the billboards in the top 10 albums when it debuted on Dec. 10th, actually it came in at #7 on iTunes! Their wonderful harmony and heartfelt melody of "God Bless the U.S.A." and the attention they gave to the veterans, current active military, and the spouses and families of those who have or who are currently serving in the military.

The who wouldn't swoon over their rendition of "Unchained Melody" this would melt any woman's heart!

The second half was there Christmas show.... again beautifully done!! From JC's new Christmas song, to John reading the Christmas story, to Marcus singing on the floor, "Last Christmas I Gave You my Heart" these three men originally from Texas know how to keep you laughing, clapping, and Yee Hawing!!!

If you weren't in the Christmas spirit before the show you definitely were after you got to sing with The Texas Tenors, "White Christmas" it was beautiful and before you left you were in the Christmas spirit!

I encourage you, if you haven't seen the The Texas Tenors live that you put it on your calendar for next year, it is a great performance for all to see and I guarantee you will have a blast! Go to their website to see where they will be performing next... www.thetexastenors.com but I must warn you... when tickets go on sell they go fast! Enjoy!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Arts Center Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Palace Arts Center Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Arts Center Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.