We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort is like a Mini-City.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This resort is like a Mini-City.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The staff were very profession and helpful, which was refreshing. The rooms were a decent size, very clean and well maintained and the atmosphere was delightful......but all that comes at a price, which is pretty steep, but manageable. The resort always has some activities going on, with a lot geared toward keeping the kids entertained. There were several restaurants located inside the facility, with a decent mix and variety. Prices were on par with the rest of the facility and service was adequate.
The resort is located close to a lake, a water park and a large shopping mall, so there are lots of things to do, if you tire of the resort itself. DFW airport is also just across the street, so air travel in & out is not an issue.
If I only had one complaint, it would be the cost!

Room Tip: Couldn't say.............the place is Gigantic!
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm sure they do their part. There were recycle bins in various locations.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    825
    456
    238
    175
See reviews for
763
375
69
1,164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, TX
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have been during Christmas, and we vowed not to go back because of how crowded and expensive everything is. But we decided to take our kids to the water park before school starts. It was a much better experience. Even though Paradise Springs is relatively crowded, the lines for the slide and zip line were very short! My kids were able to ride them as many times as they wanted. You ARE NOT ALLOWED TO TAKE IN A COOLER!!! A previous writer suggested that and we tried to take one in. They took our cooler as we walked into Paradise Springs. They gave it back to us as we left. Be prepared to spend some cash on beverages and food everywhere you go at the Gaylord.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Recently stayed at the Gaylord for a convention. Loved the proximity of everything and the little extras like our company logo all over the place. Check in was smooth and quick despite many people checking in at the same time. Appreciated the extra time spent helping us to orient to the property. The rooms were nice, beds were very comfortable. One oddity - no dresser, so there was no place to unpack or store items. Concierge was helpful, bell staff was great in helping us with luggage (including weighting items to insure no over weight fees at the airport).
The on-property restaurants (with the exception of the steak house) left a little to be desired. The convention center was great, the shuttle to the water park was great. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Tx, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We used 30000 reward points and pay $40 to up grade. Nice riverwalk and atmosthere. Expensive breakfast at Riverwalk Catina at $22 each, but the quality of food and service were average. It was not worth it in my opinion. I rather eat at Starbucks. Cost $17 for self parking, $27 for valet parking. The traffic is always jamming in front of hotel. We had hard time getting out of parking lot using our Elite card. I probably won't ever come again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Yichun,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I would like to apologize about the issues you had trying to get out of the parking garage and the Riverwalk Cantina service. i passed on this information to the Riverwalk Cantina and the Towne Park manager so we can improve our services. Our team strives to provide a great experience to our guests and your review will definitely help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Beautiful setting with many restaurants and clean outdoor pool. HUGE resort with above average customer service, but by no means exceptional. Food in restaurants is average and expensive, but the variety is outstanding. Rooms are pricey, but considering everything that is onsite, that should be expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweeny, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, and had a really nice time. We spent an entire day wandering around the indoor trails and looking at all of the plants and flowers. The restaurants in the hotel were all very good. I can't remember the name of the steak house inside the hotel, but it was very good, and the habanero corn was out of this world!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Standard Marriott comfortable room with a pretty view overlooking the lake. Check in communication could be better...such as where to go for pool wristbands and shuttle, and specifics about parking (requires a room key swipe at 1st entrance box and then take a ticket at 2nd box in order for gate to rise).
Icky note...I cleaned out long hair from the both sinks and fridge before we used them. We were in a rush so it was easier for me to clean up after the previous guest vs. calling housekeeping.
The pool area with the lazy river and slide is unfortunately away from the hotel...
about a 5 min shuttle ride every 10 minutes provided as part of the resort fee. If you don't have a car to bring your own munchies, soda, wine, etc....be aware that typical inflated resort prices are on the high end here. A dispensed soda is $5 and lunch for four with only water to drink will set you back $75 minimum. Suggest you inquire if your personal drinks and snacks are allowed at the pools. Also, add at least $40 to your daily room rate to cover taxes and resort fee.....$60 if you park.
And buyer beware...if you need to cancel a night's stay, the online info states cancelation should occur "a day prior" to avoid penalty. What does a day prior mean? Not sure. I was told by one agent on the property that it meant 24 hours prior and by another that it meant 6pm the evening prior. Most Marriotts provide a specific time online...this one doesn't.
This is a nice not great resort for a personal overnight visit...otherwise best for convention business and company credit cards.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Barbara D,

Thank you for writing your review in regards of your past stay at our resort. We do appreciate your feedback as this will help our team improve our procedures and services. I passed your review to both the Housekeeping and Front Desk managers so they can train our STARS about information at the desk and paying attention to detail, when we are cleaning our rooms. In regards of the cancellation policy, a guest can cancel their reservation the day before their stay without a penalty fee. For example if your reservation was for August 12, you can cancel on August 11th without getting charged . If you stay under a conference rate, they do have different policies and the cancellation is based on their contract. I am sorry for miscommunication from our team. We do hope you get come back soon and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 193 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.