We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better experience than at Christmas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Grapevine
Paris, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Much better experience than at Christmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have been during Christmas, and we vowed not to go back because of how crowded and expensive everything is. But we decided to take our kids to the water park before school starts. It was a much better experience. Even though Paradise Springs is relatively crowded, the lines for the slide and zip line were very short! My kids were able to ride them as many times as they wanted. You ARE NOT ALLOWED TO TAKE IN A COOLER!!! A previous writer suggested that and we tried to take one in. They took our cooler as we walked into Paradise Springs. They gave it back to us as we left. Be prepared to spend some cash on beverages and food everywhere you go at the Gaylord.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    648
    375
    195
    147
See reviews for
614
304
60
923
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Recently stayed at the Gaylord for a convention. Loved the proximity of everything and the little extras like our company logo all over the place. Check in was smooth and quick despite many people checking in at the same time. Appreciated the extra time spent helping us to orient to the property. The rooms were nice, beds were very comfortable. One oddity - no dresser, so there was no place to unpack or store items. Concierge was helpful, bell staff was great in helping us with luggage (including weighting items to insure no over weight fees at the airport).
The on-property restaurants (with the exception of the steak house) left a little to be desired. The convention center was great, the shuttle to the water park was great. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Tx, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We used 30000 reward points and pay $40 to up grade. Nice riverwalk and atmosthere. Expensive breakfast at Riverwalk Catina at $22 each, but the quality of food and service were average. It was not worth it in my opinion. I rather eat at Starbucks. Cost $17 for self parking, $27 for valet parking. The traffic is always jamming in front of hotel. We had hard time getting out of parking lot using our Elite card. I probably won't ever come again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Yichun,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I would like to apologize about the issues you had trying to get out of the parking garage and the Riverwalk Cantina service. i passed on this information to the Riverwalk Cantina and the Towne Park manager so we can improve our services. Our team strives to provide a great experience to our guests and your review will definitely help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Beautiful setting with many restaurants and clean outdoor pool. HUGE resort with above average customer service, but by no means exceptional. Food in restaurants is average and expensive, but the variety is outstanding. Rooms are pricey, but considering everything that is onsite, that should be expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweeny, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, and had a really nice time. We spent an entire day wandering around the indoor trails and looking at all of the plants and flowers. The restaurants in the hotel were all very good. I can't remember the name of the steak house inside the hotel, but it was very good, and the habanero corn was out of this world!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Standard Marriott comfortable room with a pretty view overlooking the lake. Check in communication could be better...such as where to go for pool wristbands and shuttle, and specifics about parking (requires a room key swipe at 1st entrance box and then take a ticket at 2nd box in order for gate to rise).
Icky note...I cleaned out long hair from the both sinks and fridge before we used them. We were in a rush so it was easier for me to clean up after the previous guest vs. calling housekeeping.
The pool area with the lazy river and slide is unfortunately away from the hotel...
about a 5 min shuttle ride every 10 minutes provided as part of the resort fee. If you don't have a car to bring your own munchies, soda, wine, etc....be aware that typical inflated resort prices are on the high end here. A dispensed soda is $5 and lunch for four with only water to drink will set you back $75 minimum. Suggest you inquire if your personal drinks and snacks are allowed at the pools. Also, add at least $40 to your daily room rate to cover taxes and resort fee.....$60 if you park.
And buyer beware...if you need to cancel a night's stay, the online info states cancelation should occur "a day prior" to avoid penalty. What does a day prior mean? Not sure. I was told by one agent on the property that it meant 24 hours prior and by another that it meant 6pm the evening prior. Most Marriotts provide a specific time online...this one doesn't.
This is a nice not great resort for a personal overnight visit...otherwise best for convention business and company credit cards.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Barbara D,

Thank you for writing your review in regards of your past stay at our resort. We do appreciate your feedback as this will help our team improve our procedures and services. I passed your review to both the Housekeeping and Front Desk managers so they can train our STARS about information at the desk and paying attention to detail, when we are cleaning our rooms. In regards of the cancellation policy, a guest can cancel their reservation the day before their stay without a penalty fee. For example if your reservation was for August 12, you can cancel on August 11th without getting charged . If you stay under a conference rate, they do have different policies and the cancellation is based on their contract. I am sorry for miscommunication from our team. We do hope you get come back soon and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful place to stay, many things to do in the area, hotel property is amazing, comfortable, very Texas looking decore, many restaurants on property and staff is great. Staying here is a great experience. One of the nicest places to stay at anytime of the year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grapevine
#8 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#11 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.