We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Sweeny, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neat place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, and had a really nice time. We spent an entire day wandering around the indoor trails and looking at all of the plants and flowers. The restaurants in the hotel were all very good. I can't remember the name of the steak house inside the hotel, but it was very good, and the habanero corn was out of this world!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    786
    435
    231
    170
See reviews for
727
362
66
1,109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Standard Marriott comfortable room with a pretty view overlooking the lake. Check in communication could be better...such as where to go for pool wristbands and shuttle, and specifics about parking (requires a room key swipe at 1st entrance box and then take a ticket at 2nd box in order for gate to rise).
Icky note...I cleaned out long hair from the both sinks and fridge before we used them. We were in a rush so it was easier for me to clean up after the previous guest vs. calling housekeeping.
The pool area with the lazy river and slide is unfortunately away from the hotel...
about a 5 min shuttle ride every 10 minutes provided as part of the resort fee. If you don't have a car to bring your own munchies, soda, wine, etc....be aware that typical inflated resort prices are on the high end here. A dispensed soda is $5 and lunch for four with only water to drink will set you back $75 minimum. Suggest you inquire if your personal drinks and snacks are allowed at the pools. Also, add at least $40 to your daily room rate to cover taxes and resort fee.....$60 if you park.
And buyer beware...if you need to cancel a night's stay, the online info states cancelation should occur "a day prior" to avoid penalty. What does a day prior mean? Not sure. I was told by one agent on the property that it meant 24 hours prior and by another that it meant 6pm the evening prior. Most Marriotts provide a specific time online...this one doesn't.
This is a nice not great resort for a personal overnight visit...otherwise best for convention business and company credit cards.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Barbara D,

Thank you for writing your review in regards of your past stay at our resort. We do appreciate your feedback as this will help our team improve our procedures and services. I passed your review to both the Housekeeping and Front Desk managers so they can train our STARS about information at the desk and paying attention to detail, when we are cleaning our rooms. In regards of the cancellation policy, a guest can cancel their reservation the day before their stay without a penalty fee. For example if your reservation was for August 12, you can cancel on August 11th without getting charged . If you stay under a conference rate, they do have different policies and the cancellation is based on their contract. I am sorry for miscommunication from our team. We do hope you get come back soon and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful place to stay, many things to do in the area, hotel property is amazing, comfortable, very Texas looking decore, many restaurants on property and staff is great. Staying here is a great experience. One of the nicest places to stay at anytime of the year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to a conference in Grapevine, TX (July 2914) and stayed at Gaylord Texan Resort. If you have to travel to Texas in the summer, this is the place to stay--impeccable grounds, welcoming staff, variety of restaurants, and wonderful rooms (contemporary with a hint of rustic). It's a great hotel for conference goers, families and couples! You can escape the heat if you stay here because the majority of the resort is built atrium style with the air conditioning cranked up to keep you cool (you might actually need to bring a sweater or two)!! Outside the temp was 102 degrees while inside was a cool 68 degrees. The outdoor pool is well designed with a variety of areas to enjoy (whether you want direct sunlight, partial sun or shade)!!

The only thing I would suggest to the property owners is perhaps add a few more stores!! There are four boutiques/shops but a few more would be cool!! Also, the business center computers are not complimentary so bring your own laptop/tablet. Ok, that's all I can think of!! I want to give a realistic and comprehensive review. Have fun ya'll!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My son and I joined my best friend and her family for a weekend getaway at the Gaylord Texan. For the most part, we had a great time but I think that this hotel caters more to adults than it does to children. There were 2 pools and one waterpark. All of which had freezing cold water at the end of July. Personally, I think pools while vacationing are more enjoyable when they are heated (even if only slightly). Although the waterpark is a great idea, I think it needs to be expanded. The lazy river was so packed full of people that there was a constant traffic jam that made the experience less enjoyable than lazy rivers I've been in at other resorts. There was only one waterslide and the zipline was too short. There was not enough wait staff for the number of people that were at the park and we found ourselves waiting a long time to get service. The DJ played great music for all ages and keep the crowd involved with trivia and games throughout the day. I think more activities (like miniature golf, bocce tournaments, etc.) would help keep the kids busy when they got bored with the slide. We ate at the Sports Bar which was very comfortable and inviting. It had good burgers and lots of TV's. The Italian restaurant (Zeppoles) was fantastic!! Not one person in our group was disappointed with their meal or the service. The drinks and food choices were a bit high priced. I suggest taking your own cooler of food and drink to enjoy in your room or at the pool in between your big meals. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The adults could have stayed and enjoyed the resort for the week but the kids were ready to go home after only 2 days. If you are looking for a place to visit with your significant other, the Gaylord is definitely the place to go but if you want your kids to have a fun filled vacation, you might want to look into the waterpark resort directly across the street.

Room Tip: We stayed in an atrium view room and it was very nice to be able to sit on our balcony and watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This resort was comparable to a night in the best entertainment plaza throughout the United States! I had booked this resort to celebrate my son's 13th birthday. Without referencing the property, I haphazardly, took my chances from only viewing the photos from a hotel website. Upon arrival, the majestic scenery and the architecture led me in awe to the entryway and the front lobby. The staff and bellmen were college age, which was a great idea to employ those wishing to learn first hand what the hospitality industry was like. Will recommend to others!

Room Tip: Be sure to view pictures of the inside, then ask to be placed near your preferred site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at the Gaylord for a recent conference. Rooms were nice size, clean and generally comfortable. Large property with a number of shops, restaurants and even a water park. Nicely landscaped. Ate at two of the hotel restaurants. Expensive and the food was average at best. For other dining opportunities you can take a local shuttle or the hotel vans (which were very nice and relatively reasonable) to Grapevine which has a good selection of restaurants. Nice facility for the modest size conference we attended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.