We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything's bigger in Texas (well, maybe not the water park)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lone Star Christmas
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything's bigger in Texas (well, maybe not the water park)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the resort over July 4th. The property was well kept, rooms clean, and the service was friendly. The water park is newly opened and we felt it was a bit small compared to other similar resorts we have visited. It will probably grow in the future, and hopefully grow toward the resort. Taking a shuttle bus to reach the water park was not our favorite thing. Once we arrived though the area was very clean and the pool side staff attentive. They had fun games and entertainment for the children. The fireworks offered with a rooftop view were nicely done and it seemed there was some sort of entertainment or games for the family going on at various times of the entire day. Overall, I would say the Gaylord Texan is a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    692
    396
    208
    162
See reviews for
664
329
61
957
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent the weekend at the Gaylord. It's a great spot for a mini vacation. Know upfront it is on the expensive side, but our opinion is worth every penny. Not as large as the Nashville or Orlando sites, but just as nice.

We had an atrium room with two beds. Bathroom was clean and roomy The room large enough for four. Loved the walking paths and amenities. Indoor pool, outdoor pool, recreation area, night club activities for the adults. The kids got to meet Toothless the dragon. Great firework shows also! The water park is too small and we had a hard time figuring out where to find the shuttle. We jus stayed at the outdoor pool. It's on the small side also, but plenty of seating and poolside service. Only complaint is pools were cold! They are listed as heated. Someone lied! Staff was friendly. Loved the Italian resturant. Be sure to make reservations for the resturants. We watched folks get turned away. Will be back and soon. This hotel offers wonderful military discounts! Thank you Gaylord for taking care of our servicemen and women!

Room Tip: There is so much to do, you won't stay in the room. Shop for the best rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stay here a few times a year with the family for the past several years. Beautiful interior that is similar with walkways to the San Antonio Riverwalk area. Lots of beautiful indoor landscaping. Tons of free entertainment for couples and families year round. Room are always clean and beautifully decorated. Staff always helpful and lots of great dining indoors. Two big thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and kids. We were a party of 5 and had reserved a suite, but the room had only 1 bed and a pull out couch. For the price, I would have thought a room with 2 beds would be standard. The hospitality and service were great, as were the pools and water park. The restaurants were a bit expensive especially with such great food available in Grapevine, but you kind of know that going in. The River walk Cantina is good for kids.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
cmayfield510,

Thank you for staying at our resort. Your review will definitely assist our team improve our services. Unfortunately our hotel doesn’t have two bedroom suites. We do provide in regular rooms double queen beds. If you prefer the suite we can fit up to two rollaway beds to accommodate families. Thank you again for your feedback as this will help us improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

You could come here for any occasion and not be disappointed. Come during the summer and go to Great Wolf Lodge. Come during winter and see the ice sculptures. Wine tasting is great for an adult trip and the main restaurant has amazing food. Rooms are spacious and lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent the weekend of the 4th at the Gaylord and had a great time! We did not go to the water park on the property, but we did spend the day at the resort's outdoor pool. We had reserved a cabana for the day and it was well worth the money! Jon was our poolside server and he was great. Always checking to make sure that we had what we wanted or needed. He was really pleasant and lots of fun. The food poolside was good as well. We ate at the Texas Grill a couple of times. Our second visit was better than the first and I think it was because Mark was our server. We were watching the World Cup and he just made sure that we enjoyed our meal and never made us feel rushed. We had three rooms for the weekend all on the same floor; however, only one of our rooms got a note from the room attendants and towels folded into shapes. This was a nice touch and made it special. So thank you to Alex and Bertila on the 3rd floor. On the evening of the 4th we went to to the Glass Cactus to watch the fireworks. This was a wonderful place to spend the Fourth because they shoot the fireworks off over the lake and the view is great. We had reserved a table out on the patio for the evening and had drinks and appetizers, which were really good. The only problem we had was our table must have been in storage because there were spider webs and spiders all over it. Our server, Lisa was awesome. She tried to clean the spiders off herself, but once she realized that it was futile, she went and got the manager and they replaced the table. She did a great job! That night at the Glass Cactus they had the band Le Freak playing which was lots of fun and capped off a really nice Fourth of July Celebration!!! Overall, we really enjoyed staying at the Gaylord. All of the common areas are well kept and they have free shuttles to all of the attractions on the property. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. My husband and I and our two preschool children. My only advice is to pack walking shoes!! This place is huge and everything is wide spread. My only suggestion to the resort staff is to be more helpful and detailed when giving directions to places within the resort. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. Our double queen room was a good size for us. I could easily stay here for 3-4 days and not leave the resort grounds. There are winding jogging trails for scenic morning runs. A night time stroll thru the atrium is a must. Their in grounds "water park" isnt that big but serves the purpose of entertaining kids and adults alike for several hours. The zip line is about 20 feet long and the height requirement is to reach 72" with your hand. Kids must be 48" to ride the slide. There are waiters that will bring you food and drinks (resort priced food and drinks) macho nachos were delicious. Check for various kids activities and entertainment. We definitely will be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.