We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for ruining my birthday! ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lone Star Christmas
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanks for ruining my birthday! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We've stay at Gaylord Texan in Grapevine several times, however I'm not sure we will ever return. I called and made a reservation, and requested a room with a great view of the atrium, and not be stuck in the back of the hotel with a horrible view, as we have been before. Once we arrive, the checkin desk assured we would have a great view. We get to our room, and here we are once again, stuck over looking the cantina with a horrible view I requested we didn't want. So while my wife is getting dressed for us to go out and celebrate a night out for her birthday, I'm at the checkin desk for 30minutes trying to resolve this issue. Finally spoke with a manager, and the best she said she could do was move us to another room. Never received any sort of discount, I'm sorry, offer to move our luggage, or make any gestures. I interrupt my wife from getting dressed so we could move rooms. Not only did that issue inconvenience the both of us, it made is late and miss our dinner reservations. We would normally have dined at one of the restaurants at the resort, however they were all closed besides the steak house, which we didn't want. That alone forced us to travel to Dallas for dinner. It would have also been nice to know, the entire resort was booked for a convention. We couldn't even enjoy the amenities as we have on prior visits. To say the least, we were very disappointed in our stay at Gaylord Texan in Grapevine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
LMP12083,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review in regards of your stay. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize in regards of the room view and the hotel's outlets being closed due to a private event. Our front desk tries their best to accommodate requests but unfortunately can’t guarantee them. We are working on a better process to assist our guests' requests. In regards of the private event, our team is working on improving our communication with our guests, so this incident doesn’t happen again. We are extremely sorry this happened during your birthday weekend. Please feel free to email me at tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com if you need further assistance. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    685
    391
    205
    158
See reviews for
653
326
60
956
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I planned a night at the hotel for my birthday this weekend. We live locally and I thought it would be great for a night away from home to drink, dine, and dance all under the same roof. Our standard room was $259. The room was fine. We had a nice view of the lake. After we got settled we wandered around the atrium deciding where to eat, much to my disappointment, we quickly discovered one by one that each of the restaurant's in the hotel were closed for a private event. Only one restaurant,(the most expensive) out of five was open and I really wasn't planning on eating steak. The Glass Cactus nightclub was also closed to the private event. When we expressed our disappointment to many the staff they just said they were sold out for the event. I understand that they have conventions but how about telling me up front? I may have chosen a different date or hotel with Marriott. It was not mentioned at booking or check-in and many of the staff were not even aware. I was so disappointed. We ended up taking a cab to downtown Grapevine to dine and drink (because we didn't want to drive). Based on this experience I have no desire to stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on the Atrium side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Cinnamontx,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review in regards of your stay. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the restaurants being closed due to a private event. Communication to our guests is a priority to at our hotels. Our team is coming up with new ways to better communicate information when there are private events in our facility. We are extremely sorry this happened during your birthday weekend. Please feel free to email me at tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com if you need further assistance. Thank you again, and hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A convention center really ought to be able to handle a convention, but not here. Not only did we have NO water pressure or hot water for the shower, a nasty gritty rust came out of faucet. Front desk didn't care. Restaurants couldn't handle to crowds, either. Very disappointed. Beautiful property, but service was poor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Anne M,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review towards your stay. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize in regards of your experience with the hot water and service. Our team's priority is to create a flawless stay and with your feedback we will be able to improve our services. Our engineering team has been notified about the Hot water and the rust from the faucet. The issues have been resolved. If you need any further assistance please feel free to email me at Tfeedbackmailbox.@gaylordhotels.com. Thank you again for your review and hope you have an amazing day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel, convention center are very conveniently connected. Walk from hotel through beautiful atrium which is landscaped with abundance of unique plants, restaurants, interesting architecture. Like seeing all the sights of Texas but indoors.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony overlooking the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I came to check in at 3 pm on 1/18/14 and I was told that housekeeping was behind on rooms so I was offered a downgrade! When I said I rather wait, the front desk agent got upset.
So we decided to go eat whole waiting for the room. To my surprise, I was told by the hostess that only the people by the convention were allowed in. After waiting for 1.5 hours, I had to go back to the desk only to find out the room was still not available!
Finally, I went to get dinner and the restaurant had a 2-hour wait since their convention had taken it.
Disastrous experience! Never coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanResort, Customer Care Specialist at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
bmacarty,

Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your review in regards of your experience. On behalf of Gaylord Texan, I want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your check-in time and your restaurant wait. Our hotel strives to create flawless service and with your review we will take training actions with our staff to improve our services. Your information was distributed to the front desk and our food and beverage outlets. Please email me at tfeedbackmailbox@gaylordhotels.com if you need further assistance. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Took the family to Dallas for Christmas and stayed at the Gaylord Texan. It's like being at a theme park. Great restaurants. And the "Ice" presentation at Christmas is a "can't miss." The atrium effect is the best at any hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Terrific people, great attractions (ICE). Grandson became ill while there & everyone went out of their way to accommodate. Overall, the food was excellent, but the Mexican restaurant food was only fair. Service however was very good. That food not up to par with everything else at the facility. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.