We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Family Getaway"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Great Family Getaway"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved everything about this Resort. It's almost like it's only little town within. There is something fun for everyone to do here. The waterpark is fabulous. Our little one really enjoyed the toddler pool. We will be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    752
    424
    224
    168
See reviews for
700
350
63
1,047
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Awesome! Jordan had an amazing birthday celebration at Grapevine location. 20 of his friends joined him, we heard only great comments. Look forward to our next stay. Pool great, dining great and our guest was so pleased they stay over night.

Room Tip: book your room as far from elevator and ice machines. Balcony view rooms adds a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had a wonderful room overlooking the atrium. My daughter, her fiancé and I had a wonderful time. We can't wait to go back. I am usually there on conventions and did not have much time to enjoy the property. It was awesome to go back on my own and enjoy the Gaylord Texan. I am renewed. Room service was great, the staff was professional and kind. The pool and the work out room was clean and smelled great. The food was great. I am so happy there were no smoking on the property ….I would strongly recommend the Gaylord…it is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After being told I messed up my own reservation, I went to my room to find a yellow (looks like it was peed on yellow) wash rag wadded up in the bathtub and dirty towels everywhere. The beds were barely made.The only positive thing I have to say was room service was good and the man was nice who brought my food.

The last note I have is that I am paying for two nights instead of one, leaving me a bill of $700 instead of $300. BUT REMEMBER I MESSED UP MY OWN RESERVATION SO I AM "RESPONSIBLE". (I tried to call and get this fixed but I was told that it was my fault for missing the reservation and they would give me a call back later to see if there was anything they could do, but guess what NO CALL!!!)

I have dined and stayed with the Gaylord many times. VERY VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING.

Basically, the Gaylord isn't what it was cracked up to be. I lived down the street from this hotel from the moment they started building it. My aunt designed and built the lobby floor. This hotel meant a lot to me. This was the first time I even went and reserved a hotel on my own.

Oh and the next morning (at 8:30) one of the ladies who came to clean rooms barged in my room without even knocking.

Just terrible, disappointing, and DIRTY.
I expect this from a Super 8, but a Gaylord? Never.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money, stay at the Great Wolf across the street, the people are polite, more things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The gaylord is a great resort. They have great restaurants on premises, their water park is fabulous, as well as their outdoor pool. I can nit say enough about this facility it. Is a treat place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Kind of frustrating when you have to request another room because your next door neighbor is conducting conference calls in his room and yelling at the top of his lungs when you're trying to take a snooze after a long flight. Other than that, the hotel is good...the Gaylords are known for their great atmosphere and huge campuses and that's pretty much the case here - although it's out in Grapevine, TX, and the views from the rooms is pretty crappy (in the first room I had, I just had a rooftop view, and in the second one, I had the highway.) I did encounter a few other problems. I couldn't find where my conference materials were shipped. None of the hotel staff knew. Then, finally, one of them said "go to the Kinkos/Fedex, they're probably down there." I had to make 2 trips to lug everything back up to my room; I would've picked them up the next morning but thank goodness I was able to get them that evening because they weren't going to be open the next morning when I needed to set everything up. The next morning, it was completely dark in the main atrium. No lights at all hardly, except a few lamps that lighted the walkway. The glass roof provides all the light in there during the day and it's very nice, with the waterfalls and foliage and so forth, but that didn't really help my situation. Anyhow...I wouldn't NOT go back to this hotel, or dread it in the future, but it didn't really come up to the standard that the other few Gaylords seem to be at (I've stayed at the other ones multiple times).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON,TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in room overlooking the restaurant cantina. dont stay by cantina if you do not like to hear french music lightly playing at night and morn. music was very soft. No noise problems encountered from restaurant. Spend the extra for the inside hotel balcony view rooms. paradise springs was great. It will keep teen busy only for 1 day. its main attraction is lazy river and small zipline. Had 14yr old boy, 11yr old girl and 8 yr old boy. Expect to spend lots of money at hotel you do not have to leave for 2 days which is when you want something different. it is great for relaxing family time yet will keep teen busy for one and half days, a wkend. Lots to look at and lots going on in hotel all the time. Beautiful hotel ry o walk around including the grounds. Young kids will be amazed. Room, grounds, everything well maintained. Staff great. Fireworks great. Poolside and paradise springs food great. You can charge to room. Will return. great for family and definitely couples. Has nightclub and sports bars on property. Caters to all couples, singles, and families yet neither group clashing or crossing paths. A must hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.