We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between average and very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lone Star Christmas
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Olympic National Park, Washington
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Between average and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Impressive atrium, good sized rooms, not so nice beds. Poor service in restaurants/shops. Indoor pool lame. Staff could be more helpful across the board. Bad location to shopping, activities, restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing toward atrium, nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    662
    378
    199
    153
See reviews for
622
315
60
943
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
753 reviews 753 reviews
221 hotel reviews
Reviews in 270 cities Reviews in 270 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is crazy big and crazy good.

The main area under the atrium is designed to look like the Alamo, albeit with waterways, fountains and restaurants.

I had a room on the 9th (top) floor of the Riverview Walk side. It was spacious, luxurious and had a balcony with a view of the whole atrium.

You should walk the grounds to see how big it is and how many things there are to see and do. Lots of restaurants, a sports bar with the hugest screen, fitness centre and spa, shops and a Fedex store to send all those vacation purchases home.

My room was lovely, large and comfortable. There is a desk, fridge & coffeemaker. The tv was inside the armoire - which is nice as it faces the bed - so you can hide it away when you sleep.

I did have an issue with the service as I asked for some half-and-half for my coffee. I refuse to use the awful powdered creamer that most hotels expect us to use. I called at 4.30pm and nothing had arrived before I left for dinner at 5.30pm. I figured it was on its way up and would be put into my fridge for when I got back.

No such luck. When I got back at 10.30pm I called again. Half an hour later, still nothing, so I called again.

At this time I realised that my airconditioner was blowing cold air (as I had a cold, this was not good). Calling down to maintenance received a much speedier response. Two workmen came up and fixed it in a jiffy...at the same time my cream was finally delivered.

It's understandable to have staffing issues in a place this big, but I was a little disappointed that it took three calls just to get some cream.

I give it a 'very good' as there is nothing between 'average' and 'very good'. A solid 'good' is where I would put this particular experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We attempted to check in a little before 3 for an anniversary getaway. A half hour later we are still waiting for our room. Apparently they are 98% occupied which I'm not sure how this is now our problem but it is. This is after they tried to give us a room with 2 queens instead of the king we reserved weeks ago. We were told that was only a request and they can't always be honored. We were not staying in separate beds for our anniversary. Finally the check in lady searched and found a different room but it has yet to be inspected so we have to hang out in the lobby.
We are local and this is our first trip here. We thought itd be a nice treat but its turning into an annoyance. Not impressed yet.
The valet and door staff have been very welcoming and nice and the hotel is beautiful. However we'd like our room so we can relax.
I'm scared how the rest of our stay will pan out with this rough beginning. Any other place we would be unpacking already and have more money in our pockets. While the outside staff made us feel valued walking in, the impression we get trying to get a room leads me to believe they could care less. They happily took our money to pay for our yet to be seen room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was lied to on six occasions over a four hour period today. They will swear to you they are going to clean your room in 30 minutes. But all they really do is say it. If your waiting for them to finish so you can take a nap your out of luck You can complain all you want, but they still clean your room when they get around to it- not when they say they will. In fact the Front Office Supervisor, Michelle Sims told me personally- " We have 1500 rooms, yours is just one of them." I have had better service at a gas station.

Room Tip: Stay away, you can't trust them to do what they say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Big convention center. Nice people who really walked the show and asked if they could do anything additional for you. Very supportive and helpful staff members. Watch out for the multiple levels. Bring your walking shoes to get from the parking garage to the hall. More meeting rooms available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

At check in we requested early check in two weeks in advance and yet when we got there at 1 pm, we were told our room was not ready by a very surly clerk. We then asked where our room would be, and again rudely were told she couldn't tell us but went and got her manager. Well, my guess neither of them were from Texas-rude to the core!
I was born & raised in Texas and we don't treat folks like that! I have been many times to the Gaylord Palms in Orlando and love it there! I have been to the Gaylord Opryland and were treated wonderfully! Marriott needs to get a handle on this property! I am a travel agent and would not book anyone here and I came to scope it out for my business!
At 2:30 still no call saying out room was ready! Definetly not "The Best in the West"!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was superb. The indoor dome enables you to have an outdoor experience no matter how the outside weather is. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's their pleasure to help you. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, clean and house keeping are great. The gym is a good size with an indoor and outdoor heated pool. The conference facilities are amazing. The bars and restaurants are great.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms face into the dome, they have a balcony and the outer rooms have natural light an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.