We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring the outside in! Great concept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lone Star Christmas
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
east greenwich, rhode island
Top Contributor
593 reviews 593 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Bring the outside in! Great concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is like a city unto itself. Nice clean comfortable rooms. Unfortunately, my floor was quite noisy. Otherwise, no real complaints. There HAS been a change in the demeanor and friendliness of the hotel personnel, however, since Marriott took it over. The flowers and decor of the lobby changes with the season. This is my fourth trip to the Gaylord Texanand it's nice to return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    692
    396
    207
    162
See reviews for
663
329
61
957
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The resort is well maintained and it is does have the "wow" factor. However, the conference services department is lacking in so many ways. Their attention to detail just wasn't there. As the meeting coordinator, I felt that I was doing their job on a daily basis. The banquet orders were incomplete on several occasions and the AV requested had to be chased down for over 20 minutes - they kept telling me "the flip charts are in the meeting room" while I am standing in said room and there were no charts. Dealing with their onsite conference coordinators became cumbersome. You never knew which one was dealing with what issue and if you had the same coordinator at 2 PM that was there at 8 AM.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful resort. Would recommend this property for any company convention events. Hotel rooms are nice, comfortable and super clean. Five star quality and no need to drive anywhere. You have restaurants, bars, lounges, retailers on property. Good food. In door premises well landscaped.overall a very nice place for large groups.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P'burgh, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Gaylord Texan aspires to be its own little community, and succeeds in its own bizarre way. Like several of the other Gaylord properties, the Texan is a series of room blocks arranged around a central atrium that includes trees, rivers, even a spanish mission. Unfortunately, after just a few days here you'll want to go over the wall. Even if you manage that, you are so isolated there is nowhere to go. We were there for a week on business and felt trapped the whole time. There are four restaurants in the complex so there is some variety, but the overall impression is one of being stuck in the middle of nowhere. If you are staying for any length of time you'll definitely want a car.
The rooms themselves were fine and there are a variety of different styles. But ultimately, you'll just want to get out of there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Gaylord's climate controlled atrium provides a unique outdoor experience with waterfalls, a re-creation of San Antonio's River walk, and an interesting variety of trees, all under the glass roof that keeps out bugs and wind. The restaurants are touristy but enjoyable and the rooms are spacious and clean. If you are a foodie and/or if you love wine, don't miss a day trip to nearby Grapevine, only a 10 minute bus trip away. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an interior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very pleasant getaway with my best girl.
All the fine amenities and service without the white glove snobbishness.
We never had to leave the place - ate at two restaurants and room service.
The Spa was like brand new.
We will be back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed an atrium view and kept the french door open to hear the goings on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Not sure about anyone else, but I hate it when hotels do not honor booked requests for room types. Made the reservation two months ago in advance and the girl handling the reservation assured me of a king size bed with an atrium view.

We checked in and not only did I not get the view, but I have two queen beds. I was patient in inquiring more about it with the check-in desk worker, but to no avail. They were "100% booked". That should not have mattered when the booking was made in advance for a king room.

Called customer service and they were of absolute no help. Suggested to try switching rooms tomorrow, which means more hassle for my wife and I.

The hotel itself is what it is... nice, but huge. Theming is well put-together. Room isn't "resort quality", but not entirely bad either of course. Similar accommodations to a nicer Marriott or Hampton Inn.

In my reviews I'm pretty fair and tend to give hotels/resorts the benefit of the doubt, but this is just disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.