We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel pricey but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel pricey but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for a "girls" weekend. It was a bit pricey and everywhere you turned we were having to tip people. The room was nothing to write home about. We were on the 9th floor atrium and the view was wonderful at night. The beds are hard and the room is nothing out of the ordinary. There were 4 of us and there were only 3 washclothes and 2 hand towels for us, not to mention 1 pk of coffee for the coffee pot. We attended the "ICE" exhibit and had purchased tickets for the 11 am slot....lines were long before you even got into the staging area. Once in the staging area, we waited another 1 1/2 hrs before being able to see the exhibit. There were no chairs or benches to sit and no restroom facilities while waiting. I definitely wouldn't recommend for elderly or people with back problems. The exhibit itself was nice, but wouldn't go back as it only took about 20 minutes to get through it.

Room Tip: Atrium views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    801
    443
    235
    173
See reviews for
750
369
69
1,123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My company exhibited at a recent conference at the Gaylord Texan. The property is beautiful and well maintained, and of course, it's huge! A few things here that would make this a bit easier for business folks: there's no quick place to grab food on the same floor as the convention hall. When one of our team members went to find lunch, it took her 2 hours to find the quick serve place the floor above. While she was in line, it was announced they had run out of everything except cheese pizza. Seems like poor planning on their part, because this was a huge conference. She ended up having to go to a restaurant, order to go-food and wait. They aren't set up to do to-go food, so they only had linen napkins and real silverware which they told us to just throw away after we were done. There were several times I went into the restrooms across from the convention hall and five stalls were completely out of toilet paper. That's pretty unacceptable. Parking was a bit of a nightmare too. The parking garage that serves the convention center filled up by 9am, forcing us to park at the other garage which was 1 mile from the convention center. There wasn't a shuttle, and it was freezing, so our male staff member physically ran from the lot back inside. It was pretty bad. Negatives aside, the holiday decorations were beautiful and the shuttle service to the airport ($12/each way) was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

They Gaylord is a nice resort with all the bells and whistles you'd expect from a first class family oriented resort. The rooms are nice but not outstanding. Service from the fresh faced staff is friendly but, as witnessed from the youthful appearance of everyone from the front desk to the wait staff, inexperienced. This doesn't mean it's not good, it means that this job is a stop along the way to another job for these folks. Which also means they have no vested interest in going above 'acceptable' service for the customer.

Bottom line: you get what you pay for and at the Gaylord, you pay a lot.

Room Tip: Go for an atrium facing room with a balcony overlooking the central part of the building. Grab a bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attica, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for three days during a conference. I have stayed at the Gaylord Opry Land in Nashville so had certain expectations. Some of the reviews I read for this property were less than favorable so my expectations were not very high. I travel extensively and attend conferences all over so I know what to expect.

The room was a king, had a bath with two sinks and elegant furniture. The room was very clean and seemed much more updated compared to Opry Land. It was what one would expect for the price and very inviting. My only complaint was the lighting, not sure if they used anything over a 40 watt bulb.

The grounds were being set up for Christmas and everything looked nice. The staff was friendly and I would be hard pressed to find much I did not like.

I ate at the Mexican place on property and the food was good but not fantastic. The conference food we ate was very good and well prepared. Try the wine bar, great selection!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 6 days at the Texan for a convention and it married both the work and pleasure aspect nicely. It was great to not have to leave the property to eat as there onsite restaurants were great. Room were at an above average level for a hotel, but it is the amenities that makes this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Gaylord for a recent golf expo. We booked our trip through Texas golf trail concierge. The resort was impressive. Nice rooms, great personal service, sports bar was incredible for watching college football. I'll return with my family. Great stay highly recommend Gaylord Texan.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great experience...It was my husbands birthday and we stayed two nights and it was so relaxing. The food was good and the Christmas decorations was just beautiful. The Dreamworks Ice show was just incredible. The rooms are beautiful and very roomy. We stayed in the lone star atrium area and it was just beautiful with the balcony overlooking tha decorated atrium area. The trains and the decorated trees was just beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.