We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend work trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lone Star Christmas
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Weekend work trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Gaylord for a recent golf expo. We booked our trip through Texas golf trail concierge. The resort was impressive. Nice rooms, great personal service, sports bar was incredible for watching college football. I'll return with my family. Great stay highly recommend Gaylord Texan.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    686
    392
    206
    158
See reviews for
656
327
60
956
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colbert, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great experience...It was my husbands birthday and we stayed two nights and it was so relaxing. The food was good and the Christmas decorations was just beautiful. The Dreamworks Ice show was just incredible. The rooms are beautiful and very roomy. We stayed in the lone star atrium area and it was just beautiful with the balcony overlooking tha decorated atrium area. The trains and the decorated trees was just beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I work for an event management company that handles meetings and events for several differnt organizations and buisnesses.

We recently held one of our annual clients' meetings at the Gaylord Texan, and overall it was a pretty bad experience. The attendees didn't notice (thank god), but as the staff and the meeting planners, well, we were treated like crap. My personl experience started with check in. The computer systems were down, so check in was a little slow. That wasn't an issues for me. It was the fact that the front desk agent told me at check in "your room may or may not be clean when you get up there. So, just call us if it isn't clean and we'll come up". UMMMM....I'm pretty sure you can check on the room via radio. I was a former hotel person, and I would have NEVER said that to a guest at check in.

We had to ask multiple times for things before anything ever happened. There was always someone more important than our group. Even though we were there for 3 days in a row with 150 guests. It was BAD.

After the face, the bill took 2 weeks to get to us. After reviewing immediately and sending my changes the next day, it took them 10 days to return the bill to me. Then they only returned the front page, not the back up documents. It took another 2 days for them to email the back up documents. Nothing was done with any urgency...it was an awful experience from start to finish.

I will never take another group of mine to the Gaylord Texan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nobody does a convention better than a Gaylord hotel! Awesome facility.. Great food.. Great service. Super nice rooms. Tile floors and granite counters in bathrooms. Beds were divine. They were decorating for Christmas....what a spectacular display. Took plenty of pictures.. Beautiful.
And the relache spa... Wonderful therapists... Great service with all, and I mean all of the possible amenities. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Overlook the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilonia, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The Gaylord Texan was a wonderful place for a work conference and getaway for my husband and I. The hotel is beautiful and the room was nice with a comfortable bed and furniture. We had a balcony with a view of the atrium, which was a nice surprise. We ate at Texas Station twice during our stay, and the food was so good. Try the brisket plate, it is fabulous!

The convention center was very nice facility, comfortable with good food. They handled our large group with ease. This hotel is huge, so everything is very spread out. Be prepared to do a lot of walking!

The Grapevine area has a lot to do, especially shopping and good food. See my reviews of Cafe Italia and Esparzas, too. We would definitely return if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Gaylord from October 27th thru 30th attending a conference. When I checked in I was told I had a double bed when I was told during my reservation I would have a king. When I attempted to change they declined to move me. They charge a hotel tax for amenities that your supposed to get but never receive. And to compund the situation when I checked out no one asked me about my stay and failed to deliver a folio for the room until I called them today. I have attaempted to deliver a customer satisfaction survey twice. Both times the survey crashed so I got frustated and resorted to this site to provide feedback. Will not be back here or any other Gaylord property if I can avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I attended a conference at the Gaylord Texan in late October. The hotel is convenient to DFW and a taxi ride was around $30. Check in was smooth and they provided a map of the hotel and gave me directions to my room. My room was large and comfortable, but didn’t get a room with a view of the Atrium (those have a small balcony). There is a resort fee at the hotel and this includes 2 bottles of water, free wi-fi and access to the fitness center.

The hotel is like a small community. There are restaurants and shops in several places and the conference center is a short walk from the rooms. The fitness center is large with a variety of cardio equipment, free weights and weight machines. Also, there is a club that is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel if you are interested.

The staff was very helpful and didn’t wait for you to ask for help. I was on my way to print my boarding pass and an employee took me to the front desk since they weren’t busy and printed my boarding pass for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.