We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamworks Experience at Gaylord Texan was Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Woodworth, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dreamworks Experience at Gaylord Texan was Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

There were so many things to do as a family during the Dreamworks experience. We checked in on Monday afternoon and went looking around, meeting characters, doing the scavenger hunt and making gingerbread cookies with Gingy. We then saw Puss in Boots 3D before turning in for the night. The next morning, we went to ICE at 1030. Very cold! 9 degrees! So dress very warm and wear warm gloves! Do not wear high heels, cowboy boots or open toe shoes if you want to enjoy the ice slide! Then we went to the character brunch at 1145 which had great food and opportunities for the kids to get pictures with the characters and earn their "ogre" ears. After that we took them Kung Fu Panda snow tubing which was a blast! I wish we would have gotten tickets for us instead of just the kids as I think we would have had fun with them! We then took the kids to the Galleria for some shopping and ice skating! All in all, we had a great stay! We will be back! Next time we won't forget bathing suits, though, as they have a heated pool!

Room Tip: Being that it was our kids first time, we paid extra for a balcony room so they could see the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    825
    456
    238
    175
See reviews for
763
374
69
1,164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I purchased two rooms online for two nights for a family of six. We were greeted by every staff member in a really genuine, caring way. I made a mistake with my online order and they went out of their way to help me get a room for the holidays at a reduced special rate. The rooms were average with two queen beds and adjoining. The rooms were very clean, and housekeeping was prompt when called. The breakfast buffet was great, staff very attentive. ICE SHREK was fun and the whole family enjoyed it.
My only complaint was my credit card was over- charged for the rooms and I have not had this problem resolved yet. Also, if you eat and spend $100 or more your parking will be validated. They failed to tell me that. I found this out when listening to the recording on the phone while waiting for booking to answer.

Room Tip: Look for online specials. Sign up for Great Wolf emails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, TX
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Be prepared to pay the $15 for the resort fee plus $17 for parking! We booked a room 1 month prior to our stay and our room was very average. My family members booked another room only one week before their stay. They were given a much larger room and were told they did not have to pay for parking! If you visit the attractions you can get your parking validated for only one day, but not for overnight.The rooms were hot even with the thermostat set on 65 degrees. We enjoyed the ice display and the "Puss in Boots" movie experience; however the movie was $100 for 2 adults and 2 children. The details said it was gourmet movie snacks. When did pretzel bites and popcorn with sea salt become gourmet? With all that said, the resort is absolutely beautiful during Christmas time. We would recommend staying there-just be prepared to shell out some serious cash and ask for free parking when you book your room.

Room Tip: Ask for free parking when you book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanFeedback, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you would recommend staying with us, we are sorry to hear that you did not find value in some of the aspects of your stay. Our Puss and Boots 3D movie experience includes not only admission to the theater and the food and beverage offerings, but also the family photograph with Puss, the Puss and Boots movie collectable and the DreamWorks character experience prior to entering the theater.
While it sounds like you choose a room only rate for your stay, we do have a number of packages in which our resort fee and parking charges are included, which might be the case with the other reservations you mentioned.
If you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact us directly and we will be happy to review the details of your visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

ICE Shrek was awesome! A fantastic family getaway. What great ice sculptures they are so neat, it is for all ages.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed the weekend after Thanksgiving with our family of 5. This was our third stay at the resort and we found that the quality of the resort is definitely deteriorating. Although there were several things we enjoyed, as we are quite easy to please, there was noticeable management issues from the start of our 3 night stay. It is easily evident that the hotel has sacrificed quality for quantity. There were so many people rushed in and out, little detail was paid to properly training their staff to make our stay seem like a resort weekend. 1. Front desk- helpful and courteous as always. No issues here. 2. Bellman- complained about his job and the people that were checking in alongside us. No professionalism. I tipped him to make him leave. 3. Room quality- OK- definitely not 5 star as we had stains on the carpet and beds were hard. We had interior suite room with great atrium view. A little loud as things echo throughout the atrium. 4. Restaurants- decent price. Poor service and LONG wait times. Food quality ok. Had server mishaps x 2 at Mexican restuarant which seemed to be lack of training. Steakhouse was awesome. Even with young kids. 5. Room Service- brought wrong food once and then argued with us that we were wrong. Go figure. 6. Made Gingerbread houses with large group of young girls and manager interrupted our session and accused one of our grandma's of stealing a bottled water and another on of getting too much change. 7. ICE exhibit was super-cool. A little over priced for families, but still cool. 8. Puss In Boots 3D movie was the best part. Good value, character appearances, and my 3yo loved it. She kept glasses on the entire time. 9. Convention services- we were at a clogging convention for our 6 year old. Seemed fine. Rooms were not too cold like most conventions. 10. Pictures with Santa- cool Clean nice Santa. The pictures were 6x8 and wallets. The frames they sold with the pics in a package did not fit...go figure. The staff was nice, but seemed rushed. 11. Shopping- really nice gift shop ladies. They took time to talk and help me with my little girls. 12. Swimming- this was our day thing with my 8 yo son and 3 yo daughter while mom and 6yo were at convention. Pool area was clean and towels available, but indoor pool was TOO COLD!!! We swam anyway as they could stand it, but I was freezing. 13. Valet- we paked on arrival and didn't leave for 3 days. No issues for us. We did have some families with us that paid for valet and were not able to use it as they were full.
Overall, this was a nice weekend with our family and we spent the entire weekend at the resort. I definitely feel that they have sacrificed overall quality that they had a few years ago when they opened for quantity and hoarding people in and out. You can see this in their employees interactions with customers and also with their pricing and special deals. We paid 100 dollars a night for the room and would have paid 3 times that 3 years ago. They really have a long way to go to deal with the crowds they get at Christmas and maintain a quality product. We were somewhat frustrated by our experience but still enjoyed our stay. We will definitely think twice before spending another family weekend at the hotel. Right now, I would recommend staying at another high quality hotel in the area (Embassy Suites, Westin, Hyatt, etc.), and just make a day trip to enjoy all the stuff at the hotel.
My advice for the hotel is to get a hold of your management, properly train your staff on customer interactions and service, and call Disney and steal away one of their management teams. We love Disney and they know how to handle large crowds and make you still feel like you are important and help create an atmosphere to enjoy and relax like a resort really should.

Room Tip: Interior atrium view is absolutely a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanFeedback, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. While it sounds like there were several aspects of your stay that were enjoyable, we are sorry to hear about the few experiences you had that were not. We would appreciate the opportunity to have some additional feedback regarding your stay. Please contact us directly, and we will be happy to discuss your experiences with you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed for a conference and was amazed by the resort. The gym is clean and with a variety of (working !) machines. The restaurants were very good if not Texas by nature. The resort feels like a mini-amusement park, with prices to match (my only real complaint being the prices internal to the resort like ridiculous parking - $18/night). Staff was helpful and went out of their way to help me in a variety of ways. I was ill the 2nd day of my stay and room service came and the gal was legitimately trying to help me stay hydrated and let me know of the nearest pharmacy, etc. Nice to be taken care of, so I'll forget about the obnoxious prices!

Room Tip: Facing North ~ not facing the Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We bought the "Girls Getaway Weekend" and it was tremendous. We were treated like royalty.

We will definitely be back next year for Rick Springfield again and another "Girls Getaway Weekend"!

Room Tip: Ask for the ATRIUM view! Its fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 193 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.