We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ICE Shrek!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“ICE Shrek!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

ICE Shrek was awesome! A fantastic family getaway. What great ice sculptures they are so neat, it is for all ages.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    764
    426
    224
    168
See reviews for
705
351
64
1,068
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottsboro, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed the weekend after Thanksgiving with our family of 5. This was our third stay at the resort and we found that the quality of the resort is definitely deteriorating. Although there were several things we enjoyed, as we are quite easy to please, there was noticeable management issues from the start of our 3 night stay. It is easily evident that the hotel has sacrificed quality for quantity. There were so many people rushed in and out, little detail was paid to properly training their staff to make our stay seem like a resort weekend. 1. Front desk- helpful and courteous as always. No issues here. 2. Bellman- complained about his job and the people that were checking in alongside us. No professionalism. I tipped him to make him leave. 3. Room quality- OK- definitely not 5 star as we had stains on the carpet and beds were hard. We had interior suite room with great atrium view. A little loud as things echo throughout the atrium. 4. Restaurants- decent price. Poor service and LONG wait times. Food quality ok. Had server mishaps x 2 at Mexican restuarant which seemed to be lack of training. Steakhouse was awesome. Even with young kids. 5. Room Service- brought wrong food once and then argued with us that we were wrong. Go figure. 6. Made Gingerbread houses with large group of young girls and manager interrupted our session and accused one of our grandma's of stealing a bottled water and another on of getting too much change. 7. ICE exhibit was super-cool. A little over priced for families, but still cool. 8. Puss In Boots 3D movie was the best part. Good value, character appearances, and my 3yo loved it. She kept glasses on the entire time. 9. Convention services- we were at a clogging convention for our 6 year old. Seemed fine. Rooms were not too cold like most conventions. 10. Pictures with Santa- cool Clean nice Santa. The pictures were 6x8 and wallets. The frames they sold with the pics in a package did not fit...go figure. The staff was nice, but seemed rushed. 11. Shopping- really nice gift shop ladies. They took time to talk and help me with my little girls. 12. Swimming- this was our day thing with my 8 yo son and 3 yo daughter while mom and 6yo were at convention. Pool area was clean and towels available, but indoor pool was TOO COLD!!! We swam anyway as they could stand it, but I was freezing. 13. Valet- we paked on arrival and didn't leave for 3 days. No issues for us. We did have some families with us that paid for valet and were not able to use it as they were full.
Overall, this was a nice weekend with our family and we spent the entire weekend at the resort. I definitely feel that they have sacrificed overall quality that they had a few years ago when they opened for quantity and hoarding people in and out. You can see this in their employees interactions with customers and also with their pricing and special deals. We paid 100 dollars a night for the room and would have paid 3 times that 3 years ago. They really have a long way to go to deal with the crowds they get at Christmas and maintain a quality product. We were somewhat frustrated by our experience but still enjoyed our stay. We will definitely think twice before spending another family weekend at the hotel. Right now, I would recommend staying at another high quality hotel in the area (Embassy Suites, Westin, Hyatt, etc.), and just make a day trip to enjoy all the stuff at the hotel.
My advice for the hotel is to get a hold of your management, properly train your staff on customer interactions and service, and call Disney and steal away one of their management teams. We love Disney and they know how to handle large crowds and make you still feel like you are important and help create an atmosphere to enjoy and relax like a resort really should.

Room Tip: Interior atrium view is absolutely a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanFeedback, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. While it sounds like there were several aspects of your stay that were enjoyable, we are sorry to hear about the few experiences you had that were not. We would appreciate the opportunity to have some additional feedback regarding your stay. Please contact us directly, and we will be happy to discuss your experiences with you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed for a conference and was amazed by the resort. The gym is clean and with a variety of (working !) machines. The restaurants were very good if not Texas by nature. The resort feels like a mini-amusement park, with prices to match (my only real complaint being the prices internal to the resort like ridiculous parking - $18/night). Staff was helpful and went out of their way to help me in a variety of ways. I was ill the 2nd day of my stay and room service came and the gal was legitimately trying to help me stay hydrated and let me know of the nearest pharmacy, etc. Nice to be taken care of, so I'll forget about the obnoxious prices!

Room Tip: Facing North ~ not facing the Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We bought the "Girls Getaway Weekend" and it was tremendous. We were treated like royalty.

We will definitely be back next year for Rick Springfield again and another "Girls Getaway Weekend"!

Room Tip: Ask for the ATRIUM view! Its fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Gaylord Texan is an enormous resort. Font lobby greeters and front desk staff were very attentive, professional and genuinely friendly. The check in went very smooth. The resort is huge and rooms may be a long walk from front desk. Enjoyed Old Hickory Steakhouse, wine bar and sports bar, all reasonably priced and quality of food very good. Sincerely appreciated the hotel team members strategically positioned in major thoroughfares to provide guidance. Rooms were quiet, bed comfortable and bathroom amenities nice. I'd recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Probably one of the worst stays at any resort in my lifetime. At the very least you'd expect the bed to be comfortable. It wasn't, it was as hard as a rock. With that, the noise from the entertainment level till 2 to 3AM, the crowds, and the over priced food and rooms at the resort I would not recommend any friend stay there. The rooms were clean, but were at least double the cost of a similar size rook at Hilton or Marriot amd I believe both of those chains have taken care of us better. At the very least we've had an ice bucket in room from those chains or a mini fridge in rooms of similar size. You won't find either of thos at the Gaylord.

Room Tip: Choos a good room at Marriot or Hilton. DO NOT STAY here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordTexanFeedback, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we do provide ice buckets and mini refridgerators in every guest room, we apologize that there were parts of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact us directly, and we will be happy to discuss the details of your stay with you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Had a company meeting here. Place overall is impressive from a view perspective, activity, shops, etc. Sorta like a mini mall built into the facility.

I would probably bring my wife and kids to this for a 1 night stay. I would probably rate it a 4 then.

However; this was a business trip, and the amenities are more geared for families, and people who like to shop.

Building is older, but well kept. Room was darker styling, and the typical ritzy fluff. The desk was nice, but a chair to use at the desk in the room was pathetic...I never can understand why they put these ugly stationary chairs at desks...very uncomfortable when you have work to do.

The internet was so slow, that I could not use it. And for the additional fee they charge, it is totally unjustifiable.

Bed was just okay, it was not very soft. Bathroom was nice.

Room smelled like I was on top of a grill, and smoke smell was very strong. Reminded me of a place I stayed in vegas. It was uncomfortable.

Room was also next to an elevator, but I never heard that, so if you get a room by the elevator, you probably do not have to worry about the noise.

Room Tip: Valet is expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.