We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaylord wow!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lone Star Christmas
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Port neches,tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Gaylord wow!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I took our 5 year old son to see the dreamworks ice show this thanksgiving weekend and we thought it was money well spent. We loved everything about our stay and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    659
    378
    198
    152
See reviews for
622
313
60
938
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I guess you have got to pay for the a/c to keep the ice from melting but you have got to be kidding .... 16 dollars to tube down some snow you get 10 runs that take about 6 minutes total to complete but wait you have to stand in line for 30 minutes between each run .... each run takes maybe 15 seconds and that counts walking to the next hill ...... it is a cool setup but really and to see the ice works it was something like 25 dollars and that was the basic package ..... the hot choc was good but what a money trap ...... I was in shock to see the prices for something that should have been better priced for the family. I stayed at the Holiday Inn express and the breakfast was awesome there .... thank goodness a friend got tickets for the Ice works and we didnt have to pay or I may have had to take out a loan just to get out of the parking lot .... not worth the cash when everything has a hidden cost ....

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you did not agree with the pricing structures for our Lone Star Christmas events that we offer. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the attractions, and all the other areas that we offer during the holiday season for our guests.

If you would like to provide any additional feedback regarding your experiences with us, please feel free to contact us, and we will be happy to discuss your visit with you directly.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Ok
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with 11 other family members last summer to take advantage of the new water park. We got a good deal on the 4 rooms if you take in to consideration the cost of a normal waterpark ticket per person is around $30.00. The water park is nice, but there is not much for children to do there except float on the lazy river. You cannot bring food or drink of any kind in because they want to sell you their overpriced items of course!! The resort and parking fee of nearly $20.00 per night really is a rip off. The hotel is beautiful and we paid extra for atrium facing rooms and we loved sitting on the balcony and watching the activity below. The cost of food or any kind of snacks is high, so bring your own snacks and drinks!!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for here, the good rooms are quite a bit higher than the average ones and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

As "Thanksgiving orphans," we decided to spend part of the Thanksgiving weekend at the Gaylord for their "Dreamworks Experience" package. It was a little pricey, but cheaper than flying somewhere, and what fun for little Texas kids! We got a two-night stay, a character brunch, character meet and greets (exclusive for the package), scavenger hunt, free entry to the ICE! exhibit (ice slide!) and discounts on snow tubing and gingerbread house decorating. There was plenty to do on-site for our 48-hour stay. We were looking for a full-service resort experience, and we got it.

Yes, there is an extra charge for parking and a resort fee, but this is stated in all the literature I got from the hotel. I would advise anyone considering staying at the hotel to READ all the information and figure in the costs. It's no different than, say, hotels in Las Vegas. It's not really fair to call it a rip-off, in my opinion. These are not hidden fees, at least not if you book through the hotel, which we did.

All the restaurants were open for Thanksgiving, which was great for us. Restaurants are pretty good, there's a good variety, and meals don't cost more than at hotel restaurants in other locations. Vegetarians, be forewarned: there's not a lot on offer for you in most of the restaurants. We live in Texas and are used to that, but I did suggest to the hotel that they might want to add some veggie dishes to the menus.

The main complaint we had about the room was that the beds weren't very comfortable. We had a nice big TV and a good selection of free programming. The WIFI doesn't work very well in the rooms. We've had this problem in other hotels, too: the closer you get to the room door, the better the WIFI works. But on the bed or at the desk, it's pretty slow.

Overall, a great experience. We left on Friday and could tell the hotel was getting busier, but it was not crowded Wednesday and Thursday (Thanksgiving day.)

Room Tip: Choice of "Atrium view" or "Texas view." We chose the latter, because we were wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We went to the Gaylord Texan for our Thanksgiving dinner this year, mistake! Mistake to eat at the Old Hickory Steakhouse that is, there are many complaints the first that the meal for the 4 of us was way over priced, with tip ( which we should not have given) was $432.00. ridlicious, I got the feeling their attitude was if you come on a holiday expect to pay $$$$$$, the service was terrible, we ordered a bottle of wine and it took 30 minutes for it to get to our table, as our server told us they couldn't find it?? we choose steak instead of the Holiday special, our entree was a piece of meat only, veg, salads and desert was extra, we had 2 salads, 1 soup and for our entree a piece of meat on a plate, we ordered a side of mashed potatos and a side of asparagas which was enough for maybe 2 people that don't eat much, my husband's steak was undercooked, my son in law never got the A1 sauce he asked for. We ordered 2 deserts with 2 coffees, but had to wait and wait to ask for a coffee refill and then it was cold.

The Hotel was beautifully decorated but very very crowded and there was a lack of hospitality which is really unacceptable in a grand Hotel such as the Gaylord Texan. I do not recommend staying there stay somewhere else and pay them a sightseeing visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your Thanksgiving meal at our Signature restaurant, Old Hickory, did not meet your expectations with regards to price, portion size or quality.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience with you further. Please feel free to contact us, and we will be happy to discuss your meal with you directly.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Hotel was completely unprepared for the day after Thanksgiving. Room was supposed to be ready for check-in at 3:00. Still waiting at 4:00!! HIRE MORE HOUSEKEEPERS! Crowds were overwhelming and hotel was unprepared to handle them efficiently. Lights in bathroom didn't work (blown fuse). When checked out the next day, valet parking fee (25.00) and self parking fee (18.40) had been added to my bill. (Didn't use valet parking and self parking was included in the package.) If I had not questioned this, hotel would certainly have banked an extra $40.00! Wonder how many people they profit from in this manner? Breakfast was $70.00 for 2 adults and 2 children and no tastier than any hotel buffet. Wondering about unethical business practices.....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your room was not ready when you arrived, and for the issues that you experienced with your guest room bill. While we can understand your frustration, please know that this was a billing error on our part, and not a planned attempt to overcharge you or any of our other guests. We are thankful that you brought this to our attention so that we could correct it prior to your departure.

Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay with us further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This place is a HUGE rip off. Look carefully at the extra fees. They tried to charge me a "resort fee" of $16.24 and $18.40 for self parking! They also tried to charge me an additional $57.12, in addition to what I paid Priceline ($75) and the fees I mentioned above. All total, for a room that was supposed to cost $75, they tried to charge me $166.76. This outrageous!!!

As if that wasn't bad enough, the first operator hung up on me when I asked to speak to the hotel manager!!!! The hotel also didn't have hot water in the morning.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us regarding the reservation you made with Priceline.com. We take these types of reviews very seriously, and would like to be able to discuss your stay with you. Please feel free to contact us directly, and we will be happy to address your concerns with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.