We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort we've ever been to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Best resort we've ever been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The Gaylord Texan Resort is not just a hotel. It's also the destination too. You don't want to leave once you get there.

The hotel staff is very friendly, courteous, and they go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and special as possible.

My husband and I booked the "Spa Sensations" package. As soon as we arrived we were treated like celebrities with the v.i.p. check in. We booked their least expensive room and to our surprise we were upgraded to a mini-suite! It was awesome! The double balcony over looking the hotel was beautiful. The room itself was spotless and clean.

Included in our package was a Swedish massage. It was the BEST massage both of us have ever had.

I'm an extremely picky eater and I have to say the food was delicious! We ate twice at the Riverwalk Cantina and you get a lot for your money.

We both agree that we'd stay there again. I can't wait to be able to stay at the other Gaylord properties in the U.S.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    631
    368
    194
    145
See reviews for
613
295
60
891
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011 via mobile

Very pricey place. On top of all the regular fees they charge a daily resort fee, even if you don't use the gym, pool, bottle of water, etc. I would not book a vacation stay at a Gaylord property after this experience. At every turn they want more money and there is nothing near as any type of alternative - unless you pay at least five dollars for some type of transport

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Son, daughter-in-law and 3 grandkids stayed here for 2 nights. They were able to negotiate a very reasonable rate as the hotel only had 30% occupancy for a Sunday and Monday night. Beautiful building with many amentities including a water park and several good restaurants. We forgot and left a portable GPS system on a chair in the Riverside Cantina on Monday evening. One of the employees found it, turned it in to security and I was able to pick it up the next day. This says a lot to me about the integrity of the restaurant and hotel in general. The food at the Cantina was excellent Tex-Mex. Great fajitas, great taco salad and a very nice atmosphere. This setting is a similation of the Riverwalk in San Antonio. You can eat at the Cantina even if you are not staying at the hotel. The restaurant will provide you with a comp. ticket for the $12 parking fee. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DFW area. Excellent location for a business stay-over or a family trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

All the staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. We were there for 5 nights for a business conference. The atriums have a constant springtime, outdoor atmosphere, even though it was 100 degrees outside. They are beautiful landscaped, decorated, extremely clean and well tended. It is very loud within the atriums and lobby, though. Country Western music blares through speakers along all the paths inside and outside. The fountain in the atrium is nice, but really noisy. Noises echo and magnify within the atriums. There was no quiet place to make a phone call or read outside the room. The room was standard sized, and had a nice double sink area outside the shower-toilet room. Everything was very clean. Walls were somewhat thin as I could hear a "snorer" at night. Our door lock gave us trouble from the start, and we informed the front desk twice. The last night of our stay when we needed to get back into the room to pack and sleep for an early flight, the lock would not work at all...even with a master key. Engineering replaced the lock and still could not get it to work after two hours. We had to move to another room at midnight. The bellman was exceptionally diligent, helpful and apologetic, although nothing was his fault.

Room Tip: Lone Star w/rooms overlooking main atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Visit the Cactus Fine Dining and Bar while you are there. Lazy River for the kids to enjoy. So many restaurants to choose from. The Indoor Garden is Haven. Very fast service and helpful staff. Room are spectacular.

Room Tip: texas view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Gaylord Texan for a business conference. First class all the way. All the employees were friendly and helpful. They should have the spa service brochures in the guest room and to let the guests know that if you are there for a conference you save 10%.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed at the Gaylord Texan over the weekend with my wife and a 15mo. old babygirl. With a 105 degree heat tempature in Dallas the comfy 75 temp inside the open hotel areas was great... but the new siwming pool complex was great in the heat... better to get there very early or very late, it gets crowed.
Would have loved to have a daycare in-the-hotel to leave my baby while having a nice dinner at the hickory smoke restaurant... but still all the staff was great acomodating us with the baby at the resturant, and since it was weekend it looks like all guests there expected kids to be around.
Breakfast rest. was a little crowed too... not pleasent to wait for a table when the breakfast was included in the room plan... so no other options to consider but to wait.
Advise: get early (to everything), this is not place to relax if you want to make the most out of your visit with children.

Room Tip: Rooms for good package is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#11 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.