We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Texan Welcome..wonderful week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Grapevine
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Big Texan Welcome..wonderful week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Gaylord Texan for a business conference. First class all the way. All the employees were friendly and helpful. They should have the spa service brochures in the guest room and to let the guests know that if you are there for a conference you save 10%.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    799
    580
    348
    192
    144
See reviews for
570
286
59
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed at the Gaylord Texan over the weekend with my wife and a 15mo. old babygirl. With a 105 degree heat tempature in Dallas the comfy 75 temp inside the open hotel areas was great... but the new siwming pool complex was great in the heat... better to get there very early or very late, it gets crowed.
Would have loved to have a daycare in-the-hotel to leave my baby while having a nice dinner at the hickory smoke restaurant... but still all the staff was great acomodating us with the baby at the resturant, and since it was weekend it looks like all guests there expected kids to be around.
Breakfast rest. was a little crowed too... not pleasent to wait for a table when the breakfast was included in the room plan... so no other options to consider but to wait.
Advise: get early (to everything), this is not place to relax if you want to make the most out of your visit with children.

Room Tip: Rooms for good package is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My daughter and i go to the Gaylord Texan a couple of times every summer. We loved the old pool (now adults only), so we had a visit over the last Memorial Day to check out the new "resort-style" pool. It has a lazy river, zip line, water slide, and kids pool.

The zip line has the occasional mechanical problem, getting stuck every 5 or 6 person. But still fun to ride. But i would pay money to be able to just watch others do it...very comical! The lazy river was the most fun. I have never floated at a theme park with a daiquiri in hand!

The only problem I saw with the pool, is the new staff. Service was slow and language barriers with some staff members. The shuttle to and from the pool is a bit of a hassle but ok.

Tip of booking: check on what conferences are in during your stay. Some groups can be loud and overwhelming. We have been stuck in the middle of a few to many, lessoned learned.

Room Tip: Get Texas View to see Summerfest fireworks from rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

Worst front end staff and accounting office. Nice enough but double billed, misinformed, charge two different credit cards, held onto deposit. Avoid this hotel unless you don't care about money

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We pledge to provide the finest servcies and amenities to our guests, and this is not the type of experience that we intend for our guests to experience. Please contact me directly at Texanfeedback@gaylordhotels.com, and I will be happy to assist you personally.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

The new paradise pool resorts was awful. It only has a short lazy river and one slide for 48" . The slide is almost the same as lifetime fitness. At least at lietime you can swim,too. This pool resort is packed with people on the lazy river b/c there is nothing else. Do not waste your $.. Btw, if u want to purchased an additional ticket to the pool resort, it is $35, which is a waste.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding Paradise Springs. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our new offering for our guests, and all it has to offer. Along with the 600 foot lazy river, and the Water Slide, we are excited to be able to able to offer our guests 2 zip lines, water basketball, and 2 horseshoe shaped hot pools in our 6,000 square foot family lagoon. If you would please contact us at Texanfeedback@gaylordhotels.com, we woudl be happy to discuss your experiences with you directly.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I had a business meeting at the Gaylord for a day and a half. It felt almost like being at a Vegas casino or huge beach resort rather than being in the middle of Texas! So that was a nice unusual twist for a business trip.
Rooms were clean, large, average amenities.
Staff I encountered were all very pleasant and extremely helpful from the front desk, to the car/taxi service, and restaurant staff. The airport shuttle is a good deal compared to the car service, but if you're running late for a flight, approx $35 for the car service that leaves immediately will win out over the $12 shuttle that you might have to wait up to 25 minutes for (it goes every 30 minutes).
Food served in the hotel ballroom for our meeting was above average for hotel food.
This would be a great place to go back for another meeting, but seemed a little too crowded for my tastes for vacation. There is a theme park and water park nearby, but I'm not sure I'd want to mix a family trip with a bunch of business travelers.

Room Tip: Outside rooms do not all have a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

This is a huge hotel/convention center, with an enclosed courtyard and lots of good places to eat, but the quality of service makes it feel smaller than it is. Just be prepared for long walks to and from your room to the other areas of the property!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.