We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lone Star Christmas
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here the night after the wedding before our flight out early from DFW. We paid for the cheapest room and got upgraded to the Executive Suite just for being on our honeymoon. Just ask at the desk when you check in. The room was amazing - with a flat screen TV in each of the two rooms and lots of space. The dinner at their Italian restaurant was one of the best meals I've ever had. The pool was relaxing. Check out their packages for food vouchers - we got $50 with a one night stay.

Room Tip: Honeymoon, let them know at the desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    687
    393
    206
    158
See reviews for
657
327
61
957
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We went to the Gaylord Texan for my sister's Bachelorette Party. We were definately wanting a relaxing, spa weekend. When I stumbled upon the Girls Getaway package on the Gaylord website, I knew that was exactly what we were looking for. The package includes free valet, a cheese platter and chocolate martini bar in your room, 20% spa services, 2 free appetizers at a restuarant, free breakfast at the Riverwalk Cantina, and other perks.

We absolutely enjoyed the spa. They ordered our lunch and had it delivered to the spa in between our treatments, and they gave a complimentary glass of wine. The therapists were friendly, but they left you alone and let you relax. The slumber room was a peaceful place to rest, if interested.

We also enjoyed the Paradise Springs lazy river. It wasn't too crowded with families. We grabbed some adult beverages and floated for an hour or so. The lazy river is fairly small, but we didn't care.

One of our favorite parts of the package was the chocolate martini bar and cheese platter that was delivered to our room. It came with 2 nice size cheese platters, 2 plates of crackers, 2 small bottles of vodka, and 4 miniature godiva bottles... plus, a shaker and bucket of ice. It was the perfect snack after the spa and pool, and a good pre-dinner appetizer.

Free breakfast at the Riverwalk Cantina was also a nice ending to the stay.

If you want a girls night away (and you want a spa day), get this package! Totally fun and worth it!

(We also got the Traditional Atrium View. I wouldn't pay for much else unless you are spending a lot more time in the room because this was a great room. This room was very spacious, and had a good view of the cool atrium).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I had heard so many great things about this resort that we decided to try it on a visit to see family. What a disappointment! The rooms are overpriced-I've stayed at larger and better accomodations at a Hampton Inn for a lot less money. The customer service was terrible, and when we had a complaint about our room one evening we were told no one else had ever complained about that before. So, don't care. We will NEVER stay at this property again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We pride ourselves on providing the highest level of customer service for our guests, and this not the type of experience that our guests have come to expect at the Gaylord Texan. This is something that we take very seriously. Please feel free to contact our hotel directly at Texanfeedback@Gaylordhotels.com, and we will be happy to address your individual issues with you directly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUBBOCK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This hotel is amazing from the minute you arrive until you leave. The Rooms have the Best Beds and Great Air Conditioning which makes for an awesome stay. Everything you would expect at this Hotel is Grand. I would like to say how grateful I was that they have motorized scooters to rent making your visit more enjoyable if you have any walking issues. We will be back for another stay soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Service staff who can actually think and take action! What a concept! Quality throuoghout the place which is done as only the Texans can do it. One of the most pleasant hotel conference settings I have experienced.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My stay was do to a business event. Check in and check out was a breeze. The staff
was very polite, friendly and helpful. This place was beautiful from the grounds to the restrooms. The restaurants were very nice. The food in each one that I experienced was appealing to the eye and delicious. I would definitely recommend the Gaylord Texan to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Gaylord for our first anniversary over Memorial Day weekend. Luckily, they opened the new waterpark the day before we arrived! The hotel was incredible. Our room was huge, and very clean. We had a double vanity, which was great! Be prepared to walk a lot - neither of us brought good walking shoes, so make sure you do. Make sure you're prepared to spend about twice as much as the actual cost of the rooms. Nothing is included in the cost, so you'll pay extra for dining (which was somewhat expensive, depending on the restaurant), spa services, parking, a $15/day resort fee, gratuities for bellhops and bus drivers, etc.
As for the restaurants, Texan Station, the sports bar, had pretty good food, only slightly overpriced. We did have very very slow service at this restaurant. The Riverwalk Cantina, the Mexican restaurant, was delicious and priced about what you'd find at any other restaurant. The Steakhouse was extremely overpriced. They had good food and service, but not worth the money. The Java place that's open 24 hours is great. Again, slightly overpriced, but they had good smoothies, sundaes, and breakfast food.
One surprising thing is that this enormous resort only had one small single hot tub! There is no hot tub at the waterpark, which was disappointing, and no hot tub at the indoor pool.
We would liked to have seen more activities. The days we stayed the Glass Cactus nightclub was not open, so we did not have any nightly entertainment. We were glad they opened the waterpark, otherwise we would have been bored after one day.
Service was great, people were very friendly, and overall we had an awesome vacation! We recommend it, and will likely go back, but be prepared for those extra costs.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner/oversized room! They're huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#10 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort Convention Center
Gaylord Grapevine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.