We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Bass Pro Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Grapevine
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was an A+ experience from start to finish. The staff was helpful, amenities were perfect, the hotel and the suite were immaculate. The close proximity to Uncle Bucks restaurant and Outdoor World were fantastic. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upper level room overlooking the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    131
    49
    21
    14
See reviews for
147
46
15
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in January 2013 room was clean and spacious. The bed was firm with many pillows. Free breakfast cooked to order w great. The facility had a lodge decor. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in mid-January for a small business conference. Hotel is located next to Bass Pro Shop, so it is easy to see - and the street is called Bass Pro drive, so you can't miss it. There is a free shuttle from DFW but it took about 20 minutes for it to arrive at baggage claim.

Check in desk is very small - just a podium, really. Nice staff and no line, but my room wasn't ready at 1pm, so I checked my bags and went to the conference room on the 2nd floor. The atrium is very pretty, with lodge-type touches and a large lighting structure hanging in the center of the room. The restaurant/bar area keeps the atrium somewhat loud.There is a small gift shop (more of a trinket shop) by the elevators. I was on the 12th (top) floor and never had to wait more than one minute for one of the glass elevators.

My room was a suite (I think they all are suites) and seemed larger than the average suite you would get in this type of a hotel. I had a sitting area, a wet bar with fridge and microwave, a small dining area with four chairs and a flat screen TV in one room, along with a very large half bath. When I arrived, their was an industrial size fan in my room and a heavy scent of deodorizer. Once I moved into the bedroom, I believed I smelled a hint of smoke, so I think they must have been trying to mask a previous smoker (which is a no-no in Texas). It was a non-issue for me since the fan and smell were gone when I got back to my room that evening.

The bedroom was also very large and had a small patio (but it was too cold to go outside) that is recessed into the building so that it is completely private. It also makes the room a bit dark but ti didn't bother me since I keep the blinds closed anyway.

The bed was king size and had plenty of pillows. It was a firm mattress and very comfortable. Dallas was having a cold snap and I had to get out the microfiber blanket in the closet, but it looked brand new. There was a flat screen TV on the dresser and an alarm clock/mp3 player. One of the bedside lamps did not work. Neither had a convenient plug so I had to plug in my phone and laptop on the desk. The closet was smallish and did not have a robe (even though I am a Hilton Honors Gold member). The bath was large but only had a tub/shower combo (although the tub was jetted). I loved their toiletries - Crabtree and Evelyn avocado shampoo, conditioner and soap. The hair dryer was connected to the wall (annoying) but worked well. Towels were of a good quality although the bath mat was tiny. I enjoyed having a separate bedroom and when I shut the door each evening, I heard absolutely no hotel noise, even though my room was just off the elevators and all rooms face the atrium.

We chose this hotel for convenience and value. Although the rate was a bit high ($200), it included the free airport shuttle, free parking for those who drove in, and a free breakfast and cocktail reception each day. Those little things add on to the final bill at other hotels. We ate at the sports bar twice, where the food was very good and not too expensive. We also ate at the Bass Pro restaurant, where the food was not as good (although fair). Breakfast was a typical buffet and crowded every morning, although we never lacked for a place to sit. Near registration, there is a small refreshment bar where they served warm cider and cookies in the late afternoon.

Coffee in the conference area was better than coffee on the buffet, and for purists, there is a Starbucks in the hotel where you can get a fix (for a price).

This hotel is right in the middle of the DFW area, although it is not adjacent to much, other than a shopping mall and the town of Grapevine. If you rent a car, you can easily get to Dallas, Cowboys Stadium, Fort Worth or Six Flags in about a half an hour (depending on traffic). Construction on the highway just outside of the hotel was particularly bad and congested during our stay. The shuttle had to take a long detour to get to the airport, which should have been a 3 or 4 minute drive. This is not the hotel's fault, but probably should be conveyed on their website so guests can plan accordingly.

I thought this hotel was certainly worth the money and I would stay there again. I would recommend it for business travelers or those with a rental car wanting a central location.

Room Tip: I think the higher floor have larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have had meetings at the Bass Pro Drive ES for several years -- each time, I complain because the HVAC system in the room does not work properly and the filter dirty. Generally, I ask the maintaince staff to remove the window lock (with the promise I remind them to put it back). The hotel uses a central boiler -- so if you want A/C and they decide not to turn it on, you are out of luck (and vice-versa)

Quite frankly, the hotel has not been updated in four years -- the furniture is worn, while the sheets are high quality, the bottom sheet is not fitted and the staff never tucks it in (ok, picky -- but as a weekly traveler, I either want a fitted sheet or a bed made properly -- as after a day of meetings, making a bed is not a priority).

On the other hand, if you are looking for a decent hotel -- this one fits the bill (nothing great, nothing terrible).

Room Tip: If you want fresh air --- ask for a room that has a window stop that will allow you to open it. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stay here every time we are in Dallas/Grapevine. Love how close it is to all of the attractions that bring us to dallas. Very clean and comfortable hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Love that it is connected to Bass Pro. Fuddruckers is a wonderful resturant around the corner too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past five years and really enjoy it. The hotel is clean and the service is good. The morning breakfasts are good and the location can't be beat. All in all, it was a much better value than the Gaylord Texan a mile down the street. (I've written a separate review for my experience there.) There is a pleasant Fuddruckers very close by, and the sprawling Grapevine Mills mall just across the street. (The AMC theatres there have the full "Cinema Suites" experience - no better way to see a movie.) There are a number of chain restaurants adjacent, and a number of pleasant restaurants in Grapevine nearby. Two complaints about the rooms. First, they tend to be very dark, particularly in the living room. Second, the furnishings and drapery in the rooms, as well as the carpet and accessories throughout the hotel, are really beginning to show their wear. That said, you will enjoy your time here and I look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice hotel; although more pricey than other nearby Hilton properties with nearly same amenities. If open bar and omelet bar are not must for you, then other nearby Hilton properties are better value. All provide convenience to Grapevine and Coppell area needs, and all are close to DFW and Love Field for easy access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World

Address: 2401 Bass Pro Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grapevine
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#9 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Outdoor World is located in the heart of the Dallas Fort Worth metropolitan area just 1.5 miles north of the Dallas Fort Worth International Airport. Guests will be treated to sophisticated service in any of our 329 two room suites. With 20,000 square feet of meeting space, groups will experience the AAA 4-diamond hallmark service for which we are known. Nearby historic Grapevine features six wine tasting rooms and antique shopping on Main Street. Connected to the hotel is the world renowned Bass Pro Shop. It's a wonderful and convenient side trip for the outdoor sports enthusiast. Grapevine Mills Mall offers over 200 specialty stores, restaurants and entertainment venues. Tucked between the cities of Dallas and Fort Worth, Grapevine is central to museums, sporting events and landmark venues for leisure guests and large groups. Embassy Suites Outdoor World is a member of Hilton Honors program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Grapevine
Grapevine Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.