We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our One Night Stay Felt Like Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 Bass Pro Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Grapevine
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our One Night Stay Felt Like Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife wanted to get away for Mother's Day, but she didn't want to travel far from home. We did a little shopping around and found the Embassy Suites in Grapevine. We found a pretty good rate via AAA, so we booked it. I was impressed. Riding the glass elevator up to the 10th floor and looking down to see the river running through the atrium really made me feel like we were on a mini-vacation. It was nice hearing the waterfall during the hot breakfast the next morning. By the way, the omelet was great.

We did have a problem with our room not getting cool enough at night. The thermometer said it was 65 degrees, but it was motion sensor activated in the living room. That's a problem if everyone is sleeping in the bedroom. When there's no motion in the living room, the air would shut off.

I finally called the front desk to complain at midnight and they sent an engineer up to fix the issue. Kind of interesting, they have a secret method they use to drop the temperature lower than the average guest might know about. The engineer fixed the AC motion sensor issues so that the AC ran all night and, he entered a sequence of buttons that allowed him to lower the temperature down to 60 vs. 65. 5 degrees does make a difference.

Long story short, the room cooled down and we all slept through the night without another problem.

My kiddo loved the saltwater pool and his mom enjoyed the jacuzzi.

All in all, it was a nice stay and we're thinking about doing it again for Father's Day. :o)

Room Tip: If your room is hot/warm, call the front desk and ask the engineer to enter their secret AC code. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Aggietodd

We are so pleased to hear Mother's Day was a success! During the year to be able to get away to a close destination is so important to all of us!

Glad to hear you were able to resolve your issue fairly quickly.

We appreciate you and your family choosing the Embassy Suites Outdoor World. Hope to see you for Father's Day...just around the corner!

Sue Llewellyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    131
    49
    21
    14
See reviews for
147
46
15
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My family and I have been lucky enough to stay a lot of places..... This is home! The staff is courteous, service has that southern hospitality and the atmosphere is comfortable. Because of both the breakfast and the happy hour, the value is unmatched in the area. Grapevine Mills Mall, DFW, Bass Pro Shops and a host of other restaurants and attractions are right next door. Internet fees may be extra.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear AntoineFam

We appreciate you & your family feeling at home with us! This is truly a compliment which confirms we have accomplished why we are here... "welcome all our guests to our home".

We look forward to inviting you back. Hope to see you in the near future.

Your family at the Embassy Suites Outdoor World.

Sue Llewellyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Parking and front desk staff are great. This is a very nice Embassy Suites. Try the chicken quesadilla it's pretty darn good here. The Grapevine Mills mall is right next door although it seems to have really gone down hill lately.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue L, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
We appreciate your kind words in regards to the parking and front desk team members. We will share your comments with them. Grapevine Mills will be getting a makeover in the very near future. Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Outdoor World for your travelling needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

A very clean and comfortable place to stay right next (and attached) to the Grapevine Bass Pro Shop. Made to order complimentary breakfast and both lunch and dinner venues also make this a great place to stay for business in the area. With easy access to the freeways and only minutes to DFW, this was a great choice for my visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I did 2 separate reviews for families and for business travelers.

Things to watch out in the next few months for all travellers:

If you arrive at DFW and are renting a car, beware there is a lot of construction through Sept 2012 with EXTREMELY POOR signage on the highway. Even though hotel is close to the North side of DFW, getting there is very difficult due to the construction, even with GPS.

REVIEW FOR FAMILIES:
For families, hotel is great, close to shopping center and movie theater 5 minutes by car/hotel shuttle.
Rooms are typical Embassy suites SUITES with a bedroom + a private living room area with work desk and sleeper couch. Flat TV's in each, bedroom and living room are rather small.
There is a daily charge to use the internet. You can avoid this charge if you are an ATT DSL customer and remember your login name and password.
Hotel has a small pool and jacuzzi great for kids. There is also an arcade that is not worth even walking into.. Outdated games and not good choices for any kids of any age. the arcade is located across from the elevators before you enter the pool area.

There is a Starbuck in the lobby only open from 7-11AM or similar hours.
Breakfast is standard Embassy suites. Included with room rate, and it is a good deal.

Good steak restaurant next door. Uncle Buck's. Food is great, service is average. There is water in the room for $3 a bottle. For extended stays, bring your own bottled water before checking in and save.

REVIEW OR BUSINESS TRAVELERS:

The business center here is not good. 2 computers and super slow internet or not working. The working desks and furniture in the rooms are vey good and comfortable. Internet in rooms worked great. Again, if you need to print a few items during your stay, this hotel may be a good choice. No Kinko's nor FedEx nor Office Depot nearby.
Hotel has conference meeting space. Beautiful grounds and meeting rooms.
ALL THE STAFF is great, from reception to Housekkeping to Banquet staff.
FREE PARKING!
I took precious time to write this review to help you make a better informed decision before booking your next stay. PLEASE take 3 seconds to indicate if this review was helpful. It would help me to know.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Thi higher floor rooms are better for view and newer furniture in some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
661 reviews 661 reviews
323 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here a couple of nights on business in March 2012. I had a mixed experience -- there's a lot to like about the hotel, but it had some downsides too.

So, what did I like? Well, the hotel is pretty -- it's got a dramatic atrium, very nice decor, etc. My room was in good condition, with a reasonably (though not fantastically) comfortable bed, a nice desk with comfortable and adjustable chair, and above-average furnishings. All rooms are suites, of course, and the space is great. I think the rooms themselves are a notch above your average Embassy Suites property.

The location is fine. It's very suburban and very Dallas...but it's near several (mostly chain) restaurants and lots of shopping, etc. in Grapevine. It's reasonably close to DFW. Note, however, that rental car pickup is on the SOUTH side of DFW and this hotel is on the north side. So, if you rent a car, your trip to & from rental car pick-up/return will be longer than you might think for an airport hotel.

What did I not like? The front desk was consistently under-staffed. There was a long line to check-in (only one person was working), another long line to check-out (one person working). I had three packages delivered to the hotel. The front desk staff had to work to find them; once they were located, an agent on the phone told me, "they'll be right up." Well, 20 minutes passed with no package delivery. I called back and was told that "no bellman was available" and that's why I had to wait. Well, one, hire more bellman and two, if that's the case, don't tell me they'll be right up. They came about 15 minutes later.

I didn't have a great room service experience. My food came quickly and as requested, but was very bland.

The other thing isn't necessarily a dislike -- just a thing to be aware of. The hotel is VERY family-oriented. That's great for families -- I see why they like its space and location. As a business traveler, I found it a bit irritating: the fitness center/pool were full of kids (thus it was hard to squeeze in a workout), the business center computers were always occupied with people just surfing the internet, the elevators were full of kids riding up and down, and the complimentary happy hour was a flurry of people reaching for nut mix as if they hadn't eaten for days. That doesn't make this a bad hotel at all, just not perhaps the best choice for a business traveler.

So, average overall -- high quality rooms, service could use improvement, not a great business hotel but good for families.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Greetings from the Embassy Suites Grapevine Outdoor World!

We appreciate tremendously your post regarding your accommodations experience on Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our AAA 4 Diamond rating as we have maintained that status for the past 12 years and this is the level of service that we expect all of our guests to encounter.

I’m however saddened to learn that this wasn’t the case for a portion of your stay. It seems that we give you the perception of being understaffed and that wasn’t our intent. I’ve shared your comments with our executive chef regarding the service food appearing bland. I’ve also shared your feedback with our Front Office manager about the delayed on the delivery of boxes.

At our hotel, we strive to provide excellent service and we proudly serve all type of guests; corporate travelers and leisure guests. I can't say we serve more a leisure traveler than our corporate guests. It all depends on holidays, spring break; weather, etc…Our occupancy is totally dictated by our guests demands and we are grateful for it. We love them all.

Again I thank you for choosing our property and if you return to the Grapevine area I would love to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again, to show you that we can provide you with an excellent stay.

Sincerely,

Senior Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed two nights and really enjoyed this hotel. Everything nicely appointed and food at breakfast was excellent. The evening manager's reception had more than the usual snacks and some healthy stuff too. Rooms are clean and have the usual (two flat screens, desk, etc). I would stay here again. wish American Airlines would offer this hotel more often when my flights get cancelled instead of some of the other options in the area.

Room Tip: West (better) or east views give you take off and landing aircraft from/to DFW in you are into that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Greetings form the Embassy Suites Grapevine Outdoor World in Grapevine!

Our hotel staff would like to thank you for the kind comments regarding your accommodations experience on Trip Advisor. We hope to service you and your family in the near future!

Thank you for staying with us!

Hotel Senior Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World

Address: 2401 Bass Pro Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grapevine
#7 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#9 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Outdoor World is located in the heart of the Dallas Fort Worth metropolitan area just 1.5 miles north of the Dallas Fort Worth International Airport. Guests will be treated to sophisticated service in any of our 329 two room suites. With 20,000 square feet of meeting space, groups will experience the AAA 4-diamond hallmark service for which we are known. Nearby historic Grapevine features six wine tasting rooms and antique shopping on Main Street. Connected to the hotel is the world renowned Bass Pro Shop. It's a wonderful and convenient side trip for the outdoor sports enthusiast. Grapevine Mills Mall offers over 200 specialty stores, restaurants and entertainment venues. Tucked between the cities of Dallas and Fort Worth, Grapevine is central to museums, sporting events and landmark venues for leisure guests and large groups. Embassy Suites Outdoor World is a member of Hilton Honors program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Grapevine
Grapevine Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel DFW Airport North/Outdoor World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.