We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for younger children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Life Aquarium

Sea Life Aquarium
3000 Grapevine Mills Parkway, Grapevine Mills Mall, Grapevine, TX 76051
+1 877-819-7677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 attractions in Grapevine
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Are you a Shark lover, Seahorse fanatic or a Clown-fish groupie? Perhaps it’s the graceful Jellyfish or our newest family member- the Green Sea Turtle that you love the most. Maybe you simply can’t decide! At SEA LIFE Grapevine Aquarium you can make up your mind and see them all - from the curious and the rescued to the rare and the enigmatic. SEA LIFE Grapevine Aquarium offers an interactive, hands-on visit for all ages. A day out at SEA LIFE will leave you with fantastic memories and feeling empowered to make a difference to the underwater world. Take the “Behind the Scenes Tour” to discover the top of the ocean tank and get a closer look at the animals who call it home. You'll see first-hand how the SEA LIFE Aquarist Team prepares food for over 5,000 animals each day!
Aubrey, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for younger children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My toddler loves to come to this aquarium. It's rather small for an aquarium, but it's a good size for younger children. This will likely not be an all-day activity for you ... this can be a positive or a negative, depending on how you look at it. You'll be done in less than 2 hours, unless you stop to read all of the information they have posted (which is lacking in my opinion).
Most of the tanks are kid-height. It's great to not have to lift my toddler up in front of every tank.
The sting ray attraction is really well done.
What they do have is done well and the animals look well-cared for.

I feel that it's overpriced for its size and the amount of time you spend in there. However, there isn't much like it in the area.

Overall, my family likes this aquarium.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, MktgCoordinator at Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi and thank you for your feedback! We are so glad to hear your toddler loves the aquarium! Be sure to check out our feed schedule and talks! It is something everyone will love! You will get a lot more information from our wonderful education staff!

Also, be sure to check out our online saver ticket for after 5pm!

Again, thank you so much for your positive feedback and we hope to see you and your family again for another FIN'tastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    81
    47
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A small space for a quick trip with fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This aquarium is located inside the Grapevine Mills mall and is small in my opinion. The have two large tanks one with sting rays and a shark tank which is cool,some jelly fish,a hands on activity center next to a child's play area. My advice is get your tickets on line for after 5pm for the discount price. I would not pay full price for this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, MktgCoordinator at Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We welcome constructive criticism and always endeavour to learn from our guests' comments and make improvements where possible. We are sorry you felt the Sea Life was too small and the visit too short, but happily this perception is the exception rather than the rule. Yes, the attraction is compact by comparison with some, but we believe the ingenuity of its design and layout has enabled us to maximize the space and provide a substantial and absorbing experience for anyone willing to take the time to investigate thoroughly. We feature in the region of 5,000 sea creatures of more than 100 species, and the quality of the environs we provide both inside and outside the tanks is, we believe, second to none. But it takes more than a cursory glance to spot all our fishy residents and to appreciate their finer qualities. That is why we have friendly staff on duty to help point out the more elusive creatures, and provide a deeper insight into their fascinating lives. We hope you will visit again some time and make a more leisurely, more thorough exploration, perhaps seeking the help of one of our resident experts. If you do, we are confident you will change your opinion. Do let us know either way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for both me & my 5 year old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My daughter & I really enjoyed our stop at the Sea Life Aquarium earlier this week! The facility was well maintained, very clean, & worth every penny we spent on our ticket. I was shocked at how many presentations they offered throughout the entire day! We would definitely go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, MktgCoordinator at Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It's always great to hear that you had a wonderful time with your family visiting our attraction. We work hard to make sure your day here is the best and you enjoy every minute of it! Hopefully, you were able to check out some of our talks and feedtimes on your visit!

Be sure to check out our Special offer we have going on right now with our tickets!

Again, thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to see you and your family again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great for kids under 10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've been to a lot of aquariums, including the National one in Baltimore, and despite it's small size, I thought Sea Life was worth the price (just make sure you buy tickets online first to get the discount; and if you plan to go to Legoland, get combo tickets). Yes, it's small, and you will be out in 40 minutes to 2 hours (depending on how long your kids spend in the indoor playground and gift shop and how much they bother to stop and read and whether or not you go to any special events such as the sting ray feeding), but the speed is due more to lack of size and prolonged walking space than lack of highlights. That is, all of the major hits (sharks, sting rays, jellyfish, the ever beloved touch tank) are there. I haven't been to too many places that have a glass shark tunnel you can walk through, looking up and down, and it's pretty awesome. Bring socks for the indoor playground (no play allowed without them). It's clean and well kept and has good decorations/background. The kids will enjoy the scratch-off trivia game, for which they will be rewarded with a cheap plastic medal (two-day treasure!) at the end. It wasn't at all crowded when we went, on a weekday. It's especially good for kids under 7 who tend to get tired at the larger public aquariums.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, Marketing Coordinator at Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for the positive feedback!

I am glad to hear you had a good time and enjoyed our aquarium. Be sure to follow our website and Facebook for updates and events and new exhibits coming soon!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Totally worth the price!!! This place is beautiful!!! I would def. go back again. I was shocked to see it IN THE MALL but that's ok. It wasn't busy while we were there so we were able to enjoy all of the sea life. They had such beautiful displays and the walk
through was amazing!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, Marketing Coordinator at Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for such a positive response!

I am so pleased to hear you had such a great time! We have new events and exhibits coming up so be sure to follow our website and Facebook for updates!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Life Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Life Aquarium to your Saves list