We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants filled room - see picture” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   309 State Highway 114 West, Grapevine, TX 76051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Unityville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ants filled room - see picture”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This review is only my opinion.

I am sitting at the room's desk, using my laptop, and I see an ant crawl across my desk. Then another one. An ant starts crawling up my headphone towards my face, then an ant is literally walking across my laptop screen. Is this a nightmare?

I look around, and I see a long line of ants crawling literally all the way up and down the corner wall next to the desk. The bottom of the corner had quite an ant pile on it. Mind you, I am on the THIRD FLOOR

I took ant pictures on my cell phone to show the clerk downstairs. She offered to send up houskeeping but I told her I wanted another room. She moved me. The clerk told me ants crawl in thru the old-school window a/c. Maybe it was not sealed up right in this room. I was on the THIRD FLOOR but apparently these ants crawled straight up the outside wall

I noticed many other reviews of people who have woken up at this hotel with dozens of bites. I wonder if they were from ants.

The a/c in my first room was horrid. The next room was nice and cool, and not filled with ants.

This review is only my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. We have examined all of our rooms to ensure that we do not have ants in any of them and shared your feedback with our pest control company to make sure they are proactive so this situation does not occur. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Grapevine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
25
9
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a simple hotel for those who just need a place to rest, sleep and shower. It's quite near the airport, nothing fancy, but our rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor do come with a mini bar, a microwave, and free wifi. Simple breakfast are also provided for free. Just as any other place in the Grapevine area, taxis are nowhere to be seen, not even around the hotel or any mall. Overalls the hotel look tired though it didn't bother us much.

Room Tip: Request for rooms on the 2nd & 3rd floor that come with mini bar and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to inform you that we will be renovating our rooms prior to the end of this year! We have already completed exterior painting, adding new 42 inch flat screen TV's, installing new PreCor fitness equipment and all of the linen and pillows in the hotel are new. Please stop by on your next trip to Grapevine to see our newest updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here at the end of June for 1 night, booked 2 rooms. One of the rooms toilet broke - we called the front desk at 8:30p and they said they'd get someone to fix it for us. No one ever came. We had to use the bathroom in the lobby - not exactly convenient. In the morning the front desk said they would refund that room. I'm STILL waiting for that to come through, despite numerous phone calls and promises to get it taken care of and that they will call me right back. Very poor service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I apologize that your experience was not satisfactory. We do not show any reports of toilet problems around the timeframe indicated and we have maintenance on staff until 10pm. Please contact the hotel directly since we have no records of this issue. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter with you to ensure your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is convenient and clean but the shuttle is unreliable. It never arrived at the airport on arrival and on departure we left 20 minutes late. Give yourself extra time or account for 25 bucks in taxi each way

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We apologize if there was a delay in our shuttle service. We do our very best to stay on schedule with our shuttle runs and ensure our guests arrive and depart timely. We understand the importance and strive to exceed your expectations. Unfortunately, we sometimes experience traffic delays and situations outside of our control. We hope that you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Grapevine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Booked this hotel on points for 1 night prior to catching a flight for vacation. Hotel was difficult getting to but simply due to construction being done (I hate this DFW construction). Hotel is really nice and located in an area that has several restaurants within walking distance. All staff members were wonderful, rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. As mentioned we stayed one night in order to catch a flight out the next morning and were pleasantly surprised that they offer park and fly. We were able to park at the hotel and the shuttle could take us to DFW for approx. $3 a day. We were vacationing for 8 days so this offer was a great price compared to DFW parking and not having to deal with DFW traffic. Would definitely stay here again. One thing I must mention is that these rooms do not have microwave or refrigerator as most other HIX but they are available for $10 (I believe that's the price).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our property and our park and fly services. We recently acquired the property and are in process of ordering new microwaves and refrigerators for all the rooms. We currently just have them in suites. If you would like to stay in a suite next time, they suite charge is just slightly more than our deluxe rooms. Please stay with us again in the future and enjoy all of our exciting new improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Athlene (manager) was incredibly helpful and hospitable. She made recommendations for meals that were exceptional. She offered shuttle services that enabled us to do the things we wanted to do more easily--pickup from car rental, transportation to Legoland, baggage storage, shuttle to the airport. Walter who drove the shuttle was also kind and helpful. These services greatly increased the value of the accommodations. The hotel itself was also great, including the complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking in all the great restaurants and attractions in Grapevine! We are pleased that you enjoyed our shuttle service and breakfast. We will be sure to share your comments with Athlene, Walter,and the rest of our service staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a King room with a sleeper sofa. The room was a bit smallish for the furniture in it with the bed extended. The television was top notch and the internet was solid. Our stay was two nights on Priority Points but we were treated as if we were paying the rack rate. The construction on 114 is a challenge to find the property but it was worth it after we found how to get there. Breakfast was the typical HIX fare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our property with our new flat screen TV's, internet, and accomodating staff. We hope you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine

Address: 309 State Highway 114 West, Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Grapevine
#13 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated November 2014. Located just 3 miles from DFW International Airport, the Holiday Inn Express Grapevine, we are the business traveler's office away from the office. Our 100% smoke free hotel, and complimentary breakfast make the Holiday Inn Express Grapevine the place to stay for business. Our complimentary wired/wireless HSIA, located throughout the hotel, allows you to finish last minute presentations and conduct your meeting in confidence. If you left your laptop behind, our business center is ready to serve you 24 hours a day. Whether conducting interviews or hosting a conference for 40 people, Holiday Inn Express Grapevine is ready to accommodate your meeting needs. We can also set up catering options for your luncheon or business dinner. After a long day, relax in our outdoor Jacuzzi, work out in the completely renovated fitness center or kick back with friends at one of 7 restaurants within walking distance. There's no need to rent a car with our complimentary shuttle service, anywhere within five-miles, including DFW International Airport, Gaylord Texan Resort and Grapevine Mills Mall, to name a few. Shuttle service is limited on holidays. Our hotel is one mile from the small town charm of Historic Grapevine and minutes from the nightlife of both Ft. Worth and Dallas. Visit Grapevine and with the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. FEMA #TX1507 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dfw - Grapevine
Holiday Inn Grapevine
Holiday Inn Express Grapevine
Grapevine Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.