We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cowboys Golf Club

Cowboys Golf Club
1600 Fairway Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051
817-481-7277
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 Attractions in Grapevine
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 18-hole championship golf course is the first opened up by an NFL team and is dotted with Cowboy's memorabilia.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better Than Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Got a special deal to play the course. The list price is very high, even with the food and drinks included. We ate a reasonable breakfast in the restaurant. Hit some balls on the practice range (included in price) and were ready to go. The course has a mix of long and average length holes and adequately punishes you for bad shots with tree lined fairways, sand, and water. I found the sand much more than normal on the day I played. Most of the bunkers were deep and full of sugar sand. The pace of play was slow, even with me finding so much trouble, we were waiting between every shot except our putts. Take lots of cash to tip the beverage cart girl, the hot dog vendor girl, the club cleaner and cucumber mango towel girl, and whoever else is there providing service on the course and in the restaurant. Take your credit card if you like purchasing mementos from pro shops.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Golf course and the Mango towels are perfect when its hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The course was very nice and challenging. Lots of sand and seemed that I was always finding it. The course was in great shape and beautiful. We had about 7 holes left and it was very hot and no breeze and the girls in the drink carts gave us Mango towels that felt good on the face and neck and got us through the last holes. I would recommend this course.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Golf Course, Great Layout, Disappointing Greens.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Played the course twice in a two day span, and truly enjoyed the experience. However, for this caliber of golf course to have greens in this poor of shape in May is alarming. In 36 holes I did not get a true roll on one green. Before I would play this course again I would like to see the greens in better shape.

The staff and food were absolutely great, and the food and non-alcoholic drinks being included in the green fee is a nice touch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Golf Facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Pro Staff was great and the golf course was in good shape. The Rolling Hills around the course were very senic also,

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Formidable Challenge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We (foursome) played this course on Sunday, April 6, 2014, 53°F (11.6°C), light drizzle to rain for the entire round. (We love golf, don't mind challenging conditions.) Cart path only golf. Dallas Cowboys themed course (even the golf carts have the scripted names of former Cowboy Greats).
(For the record, I am a Green Bay Packer fan.) The course is beautiful, well conceived and will challenge most, dependent on tee box selection. Fairways and greens were in impeccable shape! Food and non-alcoholic beverages are included with your round. Price tag is about $185, which is close to commensurate with the services included. Food at on-course snack shack was good. Staff was very amicable upon arrival. The only unfavorable detail that we experienced was after completing an agreeable round of golf, the staff was far less than efficient with regard to the care of our clubs and, their hospitality. Something that I would never expect from the Cowboys Golf Club. (It were as if they didn't want to be there.) With regard to pure golf and playing the course, I would definitely consider returning here, but not completely convinced because of our lackluster post round hospitality.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboys Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Cowboys Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowboys Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.