We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dicovery center not legoland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legoland Discovery Center

Legoland Discovery Center
Grapevine Mills Mall, 3000 Grapevine Mills Parkway, Grapevine, TX 76051
+1 877-818-1677
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Legoland Discovery Center like an insider
$20*
and up
Ranked #2 of 5 Fun & Games in Grapevine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside the LEGOLAND(R) Discovery Center Dallas Fort Worth, you'll enjoy a chariot laser ride on Kingdom Quest, construct intricate buildings and vehicles, see the DFW area in astonishing miniature detail in LEGO(R) MINILAND(R), experience an extra dimension of entertainment in our LEGO Studios 4D cinema and, most of all, discover the power of your own imagination! Whatever the occasion, from children's birthday party to educational activities to rainy day fun with the family, you'll spend hours together at our kids' attractions enjoying and exploring inside the largest indoor LEGO playground!
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Dicovery center not legoland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to take the kids. So mucj for them to do here. They learn how legos are made. Rides that were fun. The sculptures out of legos were amazing and the lego Dallas made replica we spent hours looking at it. Cafe for snacks. Play area. Store at the end which actualkybwas priced what you would find in stores except some extras you wont find in store. You can also purchase passes to both lego dicovery and the aquarium which opened not too long ago. Great place to rest up parents during you trip while the kids get to play.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, Marketing Coordinator at Legoland Discovery Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable visit with us and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    110
    101
    58
    43
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you've already been to one of the big LegoLand theme parks in FL or CA, make sure to skip Discovery.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've been to to Legoland Theme Park in Carlsbad, CA before, and I have to say that it was AWESOME, so the Discovery center was a big letdown for my boys, just in terms of the things to do and the attractions. Seriously, if your child is over the age of 6, even if they are a huge fan of Lego, this Discovery Center is really not a big deal. Especially if you've been to either one of the theme parks, which are amazing.

With regard to the service; having worked in the hospitality and restaurant industry for many years long ago, there is a big part of service that we call the "sense of urgency"; sorry, but these folks do not have it.

From the beginning as we walked up to purchase our tickets, the "crowd wrangler" was surly and short;

The (1) person who was manning the photo booth where we could pick up our photo after the first ride was so slow, that I gave up and walked away, and didn't purchase our photo.

As we entered the 4D movie theater, the host barked orders at us with no humor whatsoever.

The person who was running the circular Wizard ride chewed her gum lazily, wore no uniform but sloppy civilian clothes that looked like pajamas, and seemed completely oblivious to the lengthy line of people waiting to ride, sauntering slowly from place to place as if she hadn't a care in the world. If she'd have moved any slower, she would have been moving backwards. AND she failed to adjust my younger son's seat properly, so even after waiting for a good 30 minutes in line (which SHOULD have been 10 minutes) he couldn't reach the pedals that the riders could pedal to get the ride to go higher. Then, a rode that lasted all of 90 seconds. HUGE letdown. Someone light a fire under her...please?

Then, there's the snack bar. Two registers, but only one manned (at 12:30pm during Spring Break, no less). The line literally did not move in the 10 minutes I wasted standing in it. Then when I decided to more closely observe the employees manning it, they were like drugged zombies. No urgency, no pep, absolutely no acknowledgement that there were people waiting at all. I don't expect people to run around as though they are flustered, but come on people, at least put it in second gear and ACT like you CARE! Smile, acknowledge our existence and make things happen!

Ok my rant is done. We love LEGO products and their general company culture, and were very surprised and disappointed in this experience. We thought LEGO should know that the management of this particular location could use some re-training or a change.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, Marketing Coordinator at Legoland Discovery Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback; we value your opinion and are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience. Spring Break is definitely one of the busiest times at the attraction, and we appreciate your patience with the lines & wait times. We would be happy to discuss this further with you if you would like to contact our Guest Experience Managers here at the attraction. Please ask for Bill or Heather at 469.444.3050.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemp, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cute for the size. When use to Legoland, it is a little let down but considering it is a sample center in a mall; it rocks! The girls love it. Be sure to go to the Aquarium across the way.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, Marketing Coordinator at Legoland Discovery Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a fun time with your girls, and we hope to see you again here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun experience but awfully expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time there even though it was very crowded. The map was very deceiving too as it looks huge when in fact it isn't. Seemed like their number one goal was profit and not quality.

If you go, go during the week.

If you go on their website you can buy tickets for less money but be aware you will be placed into a longer slower line. What you save in money you will pay in time.

The one guarantee while you are there is that you will be in line after line.

Another caution is that there are very few places for adults to sit.

Legoland was a big let down for us

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, Marketing Coordinator at Legoland Discovery Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback. We are sorry to hear that your visit was not what you expected. Weekdays at the attraction are definitely less crowded, and we would hope that you will give us another chance and stop by to check out some of the fun events we have coming up this year that are available at no extra cost beyond admission. We also do have special pricing offers that are posted on our facebook page on a regular basis. If you would like more information on our events, we encourage you to check out our website under news & events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really cool for lego lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My youngest grandson loves to make things with legos and the things that are displayed there, made with actual legos...you would never imagine ! We really enjoyed this attraction.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MktgCoordinator, Marketing Coordinator at Legoland Discovery Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you such positive feedback! We are so happy to hear that your grandson had such a fun time at our attraction and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legoland Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Legoland Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legoland Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.