We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but avg service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrari's Italian Villa

Ferrari's Italian Villa
1200 William D Tate Ave, Grapevine, TX 76051-4030
817-251-2525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ferrari's Italian Villa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 200 restaurants in Grapevine
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Highway 114
Transit: The city of Grapevine offers a Grapevine Shuttle, making 2 stops hourly in front of Ferrari's Italian Villa.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food but avg service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Made reservations for restaurant week and to celebrate our son's birthday.
Arrived on time and they had lost our reservation. Saturday night and place was full.
Waited in the bar for 50 min. When seated service was slow all night.
Food is good and atmosphere of restaurant is very nice.
For an Italian restaurant food and wine pricing was expensive.
The owner did provide one free bottle of wine for their mistake.
That was nice.
They have a policy of not serving table bread until you place your order.
I found this a little strange since we wanted to sip our wine and talk a little before
ordering.. Apparently they haven't been to Italy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    28
    16
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food; exceptional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived and was quite empty so was a bit concerned! However, I couldn't have been more pleased so people are missing out. Food was plentiful and delicious. Manager and staff were very efficient, helpful and pleasant. I would recommend for a nice dinner. Only downside was it was a bit dark inside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“O.M.G. AMAZING.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at the Gaylord Texan and just wanted to find a restaurant nearby. We stumbled on this AWESOME restaurant - so good it may have become the highlight of our entire vacation!

We arrived at 5:30/5:45 with our children and without a reservation and they were very kind to seat us in the casual dining side (there is a "fine dining" side of the restaurant that we wandered through later - it had wonderful ambience - I would love to sit there at another time when we had more time and fewer children :). The waitress was delightful and helpful.

EVERYTHING was scrumptious: the complimentary bread with marinara, the caprese salad, the kids' half orders of spaghetti with meatballs (which I was happy to help polish off for them), my husband's filet quattro formaggio and my medaglione di filet (which was prepared table side by the most delightful older gentleman who I have to assume was the owner) - scrumptious! As my husband said about my filet, "It's so tender it melts in your mouth like cotton candy!"

Oh, and I forgot about dessert. Chocolate and hazelnut mousse, and tiramisu. So. So. Good.

And the darling owner (same brilliant chef who prepared my filet) came over to make sure we were enjoying our meal and told us (after we gushed and gushed), "If you are happy, we are even happier."

The saddest part is that it's over. This is my new favorite restaurant and it's 325 miles from my house.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a quick meal.
Not overly hungry and trying not to over eat I ordered a salad and appetizer. The waiter turned icy and nonexistent .
Never checked on our meal. Then brought our check right away.
Sad service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Super Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

10 of us had dinner here last night. The freshness, quality and quantity are out of this world.
The seabass and 30 day old dry aged ribeye were the best I have ever had.
All 10 were very pleased with our meals and would definitely return.
Matt, our server did an excellent job, his attentiveness to our needs was just right.
Not an inexpensive meal but it was well worth the $1000! That included two $90 bottles of wine and 6 appetizers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferrari's Italian Villa also viewed

 

Been to Ferrari's Italian Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrari's Italian Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.