We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time and would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dino's Steak & Claw House

Dino's Steak & Claw House
325 S Main St, Grapevine, TX 76051
817-488-3100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 189 Restaurants in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“First time and would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

First time to dine and wished we had dressed more casually for outside dining just because weather was so nice. Was great anyway and we got to listen to piano player. I had tuna and husband had steak and scallop special. My tuna was good (though I actually ordered halibut and waiter miscoded it but was apologetic). Steak was good but scallops rather bland. Waiter did bring dessert to make up for mistake but wished he had asked our preference first. Brought tiramisu, which was good but wouldn't have been my choice. Next time will sit outside and try appetizers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Located in the heart of downtown Grapevine, what a cool find this was. We did not have a reservation but we were there early enough that they were able to seat us. Good food and very nice service. I recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Awesome gem near DFW in downtown Grapevine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just had a great dinner there on a Wednesday night with family and a friend from out of town. Everything was terrific. Exterior is unassuming, but inside atmosphere was quiet and dark. There was a second floor balcony for additional seating and a private room which was in use for what looked like a business dinner. Dress ranged from casual to semi-formal. Service was excellent. Our waiter, Giorgio was very knowledgeable. The menu is short, but it is supplemented by several specials which Giorgio explained in great detail. Steaks are dry aged and were delicious. Good wine selections, heavy on reds as to be expected.

There were four of us, three adults and one teenager. A seafood appetizer platter for two was perfect for the whole party. The calamari were done perfectly and the crab cakes were especially tasty. I didn't get one of the scallops, but the others said they were sumptuous. The adults all had the lobster bisque. It tasted like velvet and everyone enjoyed it.

All of us ordered steaks. The seared NY strip was amazing, Great flavor and tender. It came with garlic mashed potatoes and a carrot/zucchini medley. While we were all very full, we were enticed into ordering one dessert for the table and all shared. Total bill was reasonable for wine, appetizer, soup, dinner and dessert at about $70/person including tax.

I would definitely come back here for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Grapevine choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I enjoyed the house salad with the pecans, cranberries and Gorgonzola. The scallops dish was pretty good.

The server was friendly, knowledgeable about wine.

Server billed incorrectly- charged everyone a mixture of items that each person ordered). We didn't say anything and worked it out ourselves. His service was too slow at the end.

Good restaurant overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our party goggled Dino's before deciding to go there. A 4 out of 5 made our decision. Liked the setting, were seated right away for an early dinner, and service was great and attentive, Part of party had soup of day-Lobster Bisque and rest had salads. Mine was a mixed greens w/praline pecans, Gorganzola cheese and dried cranberries in a balsamic vinegarette was fabulous. Those who had the Lobster Bisque raved about it. Our entree orders included 2 porterhouses, 1 veal chop and 2 specials-filet w/scallops on top. The porterhouses & veal chop were ordered medium rare & came medium & one of the specials were ordered medium & came medium rare. We did not have time to have the food refired but even so my steak was still not of the caliber I expect in a $38 piece of meat. The side dish of garlic spinach was tasting but have had similar priced sides which were much more abundant. The Chilean merlot we ordered was also disappointing. My main disappointment was at these prices a restaurant should have a chef who can cook to order.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dino's Steak & Claw House also viewed

 
Grapevine, TX
 

Been to Dino's Steak & Claw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dino's Steak & Claw House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.