We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice train ride, be prepared for a long day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapevine Vintage Railroad

Grapevine Vintage Railroad
705 South Main Street, Grapevine, TX 76051
+1 817-410-3185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 52 things to do in Grapevine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grapevine Vintage Railroad travels along the historic Cotton Belt Route between Grapevine and the Fort Worth Stockyards. The Railroad is serviced by two vintage locomotives which include "Puffy" the 1896 Steam locomotive and oldest continously operating steam engine in the South, and a 1953 GP-7 diesel locomotive. Passengers enjoy riding in authentic 1920s and 1930s Victorian - style coaches as they take a step back in time and experience train travel as it was in the glory days of the expanding West. Pull into the Fort Worth Stockyards Station and you'll be right in the middle of the Stockyards National Historic District where the Old West comes alive. Have fun at this outstanding retail and entertainment district.
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice train ride, be prepared for a long day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We enjoyed the train ride, complete with train robbery. This train does have to wait at crossings for freight and Amtrack trains though. This can cause a seriously long wait. Thankfully, there are snacks and restrooms available on the train. By the time we reached Ft Worth we had to see it very quickly as the return train would be leaving in less then an hour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    25
    9
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not measure up to other vintage railroads in Central/East Texas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

While this place may be worth visiting if that's the only vintage railroad you can get to, but after experiencing several of them in Central/East Texas I should say that this one will give you quite a limited experience for quite a price. In my opinion Jefferson, TX railroad experience is both superior in quality and price (but is certainly less conveniently located).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Family Outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have done the Thomas the Train rides for the past three years and it is always a great experience for the kids. My son loves it even though he is getting at the age where he is starting to outgrow Thomas. We have also done the Polar Express train ride and getting to visit with Santa and Mrs Claus is always the highlight of the trip. The entire boarding area is decorated for the holidays and really helps to put guests in the holiday spirit. We have also done the round trip to the Fort Worth Stockyards and we have also done the Trinity River Run through Fort Worth. My son really enjoys the train rides every time we ride. My only complaint is the parking. When major events are going on there is not enough parking. We try to do a train ride atleast once a year.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrapevineCVBRep, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Vintage Railroad, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate it very much.
We are glad to hear your family enjoys Day Out With Thomas, North Pole Express and the regularly scheduled Grapevine Vintage Railroad excursions.
We appreciate your feedback regarding parking. This year, we have added additional parking areas and complimentary shuttle to and from these lots for events such as Day Out With Thomas and North Pole Express. We will continue to work to enhance our riders experience all the way around.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Grapevine soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Choo Choo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you are in Grapevine with kids, don't miss the "historic" train. It is fun and who doesn't like trains?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrapevineCVBRep, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Vintage Railroad, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate it very much.
We agree, trains are pretty awesome! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Grapevine soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We took out of town guests here to experience the "train robbery", stockyards, etc. We departed @ 1:00 pm, didn't arrive (after multiple stops to wait for other trains), until 3:10 pm... We had to re-board at 4:05 pm. We literally had enough time to shovel in food and race back. Part of our party and guests refused to ride it back and ended up taking a cab hours later & still beat us back to the station... We purchased first class tickets because summers in July here are brutal and we wanted air conditioning. Unfortunately, we were sat right in front of the huge air duct which was blowing @ 64 degrees. After multiple complaints of the cold from other people riding the train they stated they couldn't turn the air up. It's not worth the money with the minimal amount of time you get in the stockyards. Just drive so you don't feel rushed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrapevineCVBRep, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Vintage Railroad, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your experience on the Grapevine Vintage Railroad (GVRR) was not as expected.
The US Federal Railroad Association sets and regulates the schedule for all rail systems, including the GVRR. We do abide by this schedule and do our best to work around it. Attraction railroads such as the GVRR, must give the right away to cargo rails and commuter rails. Schedules for these trains are not always on time. Unfortunately, this is not something we can control or anticipate as they vary from day to day. Because of these delays, the stay over time in the Stockyards can be cut short.
As for the air conditioning, the First-Class GVRR Victorian coaches' air conditioning unit is almost as old as the coaches themselves. Due to the model and age of the unit, they can be temperamental. To avoid having no air at all, the units are kept at a constant temperature.
We do hope that you will visit us again soon and perhaps take a ride on one of the "Fun Trains" which are just about an hour long and take a different route from the Fort Worth Stockyard train. Thank you again for your feedback.
Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any other questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Vintage Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Grapevine Vintage Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapevine Vintage Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.