We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money and time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grapevine Vintage Railroad

Grapevine Vintage Railroad
705 South Main Street, Grapevine, TX 76051
+1 817-410-3185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 13 Attractions in Grapevine
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grapevine Vintage Railroad travels along the historic Cotton Belt Route between Grapevine and the Fort Worth Stockyards. The Railroad is serviced by two vintage locomotives which include "Puffy" the 1896 Steam locomotive and oldest continously operating steam engine in the South, and a 1953 GP-7 diesel locomotive. Passengers enjoy riding in authentic 1920s and 1930s Victorian - style coaches as they take a step back in time and experience train travel as it was in the glory days of the expanding West. Pull into the Fort Worth Stockyards Station and you'll be right in the middle of the Stockyards National Historic District where the Old West comes alive. Have fun at this outstanding retail and entertainment district.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money and time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a rip off you ride the train for like and 20 minutes all they do is play Christmas music and two little girls do a little dancing and read the night before Christmas Story then u ride back to the same spot where you board where is supposed to be the north pole and the tree Maze that they mention is just like 2 minutes Walk... All the kids were so excited when the board but after 5 mnts they were so bored... don't waste your money I bought a 10 group tickets with it was over 250.00 dollars.. to end up so disappointed

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    24
    9
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay but I wouldn't go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

As tourists railroads go, this one is okay. My brother, sister-in-law, and myself took the train from Grapevine Texas to fort worth stockyards last week.
We rode in a coach car with about 10 families and 50 kids. We knew after the first five minutes of the train ride that we wouldn't be able to put up with it much longer. Conductor Bob was gracious enough to See our pain and allowed us to move to the first class car.
After that we could talk and enjoy the ride on padded seats with only a few people in the car with us. The scenery wasn't very good, the train travelled about 20 miles an hour for the hour and 15 minutes it took to go to Fort Worth.
If you're into trains give it a try, but don't expect a lot.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Boring and lacked history & narration.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Save your time and money and drive to Ft Worth on your own schedule. The route is too slow and not at all scenic.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Probably the worst tourist experience I have ever had.

We took a 3 year old and a 5 year old with us ... and the trip was miserable. The trip to Ft. Worth took 2 hours because there was another train in the way. The trip from Ft. Worth to Grapevine TOOK 3 HOURS! The kids were miserable, the restrooms had no running water and the wood seats were uncomfortable. I will never, ever do this trip again. And would never, ever suggest that friends take a trip.

I would have asked for my money back when we arrived in Grapevine, but the kids were not happy ... oh and the station was closed.

Save yourself some time and money .. just drive.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilcox
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip to see Fort Worth and Texas longhorns by railroad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were visiting the grapevine area and decided to take the Victorian style train ride to see the Texas longhorns. It was a fun train ride with our granddaughter, son and daughter in law. Would like to ride the Christmas train sometime too. Enjoyable family time. The stampede down through Fort Worth was a bit more like a trot through town but a very unique area to visit as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Vintage Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Grapevine Vintage Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapevine Vintage Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.