We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to see Fort Worth and Texas longhorns by railroad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grapevine Vintage Railroad

Grapevine Vintage Railroad
705 South Main Street, Grapevine, TX 76051
+1 817-410-3185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 13 Attractions in Grapevine
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grapevine Vintage Railroad travels along the historic Cotton Belt Route between Grapevine and the Fort Worth Stockyards. The Railroad is serviced by two vintage locomotives which include "Puffy" the 1896 Steam locomotive and oldest continously operating steam engine in the South, and a 1953 GP-7 diesel locomotive. Passengers enjoy riding in authentic 1920s and 1930s Victorian - style coaches as they take a step back in time and experience train travel as it was in the glory days of the expanding West. Pull into the Fort Worth Stockyards Station and you'll be right in the middle of the Stockyards National Historic District where the Old West comes alive. Have fun at this outstanding retail and entertainment district.
wilcox
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip to see Fort Worth and Texas longhorns by railroad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were visiting the grapevine area and decided to take the Victorian style train ride to see the Texas longhorns. It was a fun train ride with our granddaughter, son and daughter in law. Would like to ride the Christmas train sometime too. Enjoyable family time. The stampede down through Fort Worth was a bit more like a trot through town but a very unique area to visit as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    24
    9
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did a fun ride while on our little vacation in Dallas area. My son LOOOVES trains and he was so excited to do this. He had such a great time. We drove by all the "ding dongs" as my son calls them, and had all the cars honk at us. yes there was quite a bit of construction going on, but the guys working would wave at us. I actually think I had more fun than my son, hehe. We plan on doing the North Pole Express this christmas season, CANT WAIT!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a cool train ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

You can take the Victorian style train that travels along the historic Cotton Belt Route between Grapevine and the Fort Worth Stockyards and enjoy the wind in your hair. The ride lasts approximately 30 minutes and is quite enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Boring ride”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My sister and I were visiting the Stockyards Historic District in Ft Worth TX and decided to take an hour train ride on the Grapevine Vintage Railroad. We choose the $15 First Class trip since it was 104 degrees, and we wanted to enjoy an airconditioned trip. What a total disappointment this little jaunt was. It was not at all scenic. I don't know what we expected, but it was not worth the $15! Not only that, there were a bunch of screaming kids in our car. Should have known better since it was a Sunday afternoon and lots of families were out. We don't need to do that again! Walking the Stockyards district and visiting all the shops was fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Long ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It was fun to do once, but expensive and HOT. Like others said, not much for sights along the ride, and it's a long ride for little ones since there's not much to keep them entertained once the excitement of the train ride wears off. Plus you barely have enough time in Ft Worth to see anything once you arrive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Vintage Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Grapevine Vintage Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapevine Vintage Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.