We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent View from the Balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verizon Theatre at Grand Prairie

Verizon Theatre at Grand Prairie
1001 Performance Place, Grand Prairie, TX 75050
972 854 5111
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Decent View from the Balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We saw Steely Dan here Saturday 8/31, this is our second concert in this venue (Elvis Costello was our first). The show was impressive. Fagen and Becker selected a great group of musicians to perform all your favorite Steely Dan tunes. Our seats on the balcony row B - were good enough. Most anything one couldn't see clearly was broadcast on the two large screens to the left and right of the stage. The bass drum was a bit dominant from our listening vantage, but it wasn't a bummer. At show's end, we escaped out the DO NOT EXIT - EXIT and beat the crowd out of the venue and the parking lot. All in all, a great show at a great venue.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Everything was "easy" about this venue: tickets, location, parking, getting in and out, buying food and drinks. We have been twice and the acoustics are awesome. We enjoy the smaller size venue. Our seats were great each time. No problems or complaints at all!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Its one limitation is size, as it is a small to medium size venue. But the acoustics are amazing and the close quarters do give everyone in theater a respectable view.

The lower lever is the best, and worth the price increase for a special event. We had lower level seats for Leonard Cohen and it was awesome!

The theater sells alcoholic beverages and decent food offerings. Parking is for a fee, but close and secure. This is well worth trying at least once, and you might feel compelled to return. Much more up close and personal than American Airlines Center.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sound quality is awesome. Employees actually treat you like you are fellow citizens, not convicts. I have not been treated this well at a concert venue in years! The air temperature was good and not too hot like a lot of venues. Parking was easy and the venue was easy to get to.




Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

First time in Grand Prairie and to this theater. It was really neat, I didn't expect so many things indoors. There are bars, and food everywhere. Seating was nice, and it's a bit chilly so if you are like me bring a light sweater or cardigan.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verizon Theatre at Grand Prairie also viewed

 
Grand Prairie, TX
Grand Prairie, TX
 

Been to Verizon Theatre at Grand Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verizon Theatre at Grand Prairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.