We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Star Park

Lone Star Park
1000 Lone Star Parkway, Grand Prairie, TX 75050
972-263-7223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Type: Horse Tracks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live Thoroughbred and Quarter Horse racing. Great Concerts. Year round simulcasting from across the world at Bar & Book. Great venue for group outings, weddings, parties, and outstanding food choices!
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had never been to a horse track so we went for my birthday. We had a group of 12 and knew we wanted to be inside with the A/C (it was 96 outside), so we got two boxes next to each other. At six people per box and a small tv, I wouldn't say a box was a fancy set-up or luxurious, but it was good enough. I have a great group of friends so as long as we had food, cold beer, and horses to watch we were happy folks. About 25 minutes between each race, gives you plenty of time to make your next bet, get food, go to bathroom etc... I wish the wait time between races was shorter, but I understand why it is the way it is. Server was nice enough... nobody ever came by to take our bets (like we were told they would) so we got up and went to the computers to place our bets. Food is just average. Nice building and we enjoyed ourselves.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    15
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“stars and stripes 4th of July disaster!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

we planned our vacation around attending this event as we had never been to this race track and thought it would be great fun as well as ending the day on the 4th of July with the fireworks display. upon arriving it was packed and the line to get in was so long and was at least 200 feet. we waited at least 30 minutes before we could get in through gate. then to get something to drink was at least the same situation. the people attending were gross, foul mouthed and trashy. this is by far not appropriate for what i would expect. we finally decided to just leave. what a great disappointment. I think we will head to Kentucky if we want to enjoy a respectable horse race atmosphere. this place is a joke!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Did not win any money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My then girlfriend and I met other friends there for the afternoon and early evening. We watched the different races, bet on a couple of horses but did not win any money. Christopher entertained between races, he dressed as and had life size mannequins of the Village People attached to him in order to sing and dance with the whole crew of them. Very Entertaining. We had a good time over all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lone Star is a Low Star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The signage for parking is horrendous there. Trying to park is very difficult. Entry to the facility itself is poorly marked and hard to figure out. For a place that has spent so much on the rest of it, the parking and signage makes it difficult. They also have other attractions there and it gets a bit confused as to what is where, can't just follow cars in and assume they are going to the horse races as there is a baseball park there as well.

We had tickets to the suites and yet it is not like going to the AA Center or The Rangers Stadium, it's vip suites NOT VIP 5 star! So from the standpoint of being a first rate attraction and horse racing facility it is way short of other horse race tracks we have experienced. At Louisiana Downs VIP is First Class and easy to get in and out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Spot To Dispose of Income,lol!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I don't like to lose, which is why I've lived 5 minutes from Lonestar Park for 16 years, but have only been twice...maybe 3 times, hehehe! State of the art Racetrack facility, with the good sense to build a skateboard area for the kids of folks dropping their cash at the park! Love the special 4th of July Fireworks Shows, various conncerts etc...1st class all the way and a lot of fun..If ya don't lose TOO much!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Park also viewed

 
Grand Prairie, TX
Grand Prairie, TX
 

Been to Lone Star Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Star Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.