We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, but Crowded Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoffbrau Steaks

Hoffbrau Steaks
315 E. Hwy. 377, Granbury, TX 76048
+1 817-776-4982
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Granbury
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. Family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere bordering FtWorth and the famous Stockyards area. We serve USDA Choice Beef and an expansive menu of chicken, quail, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it Salt & Pepper Simple and make everything from Scratch with Love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample our extensive list of local, national and international beers. We do catering for weddings, birthdays and office parties. We have a large party room to accomodate most events. Established in 1978. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service.What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... a tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978.Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... the great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks,The Fogiel Family
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Food, but Crowded Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were visiting my husband's daughter in Granbury and were looking for a place to take the hubby for a birthday dinner. We originally planned to go to Miyako but it was Saturday night and the wait was over an hour. So we headed to this place. The wait was going to be about 30 minutes, so we decided to eat at the bar. The place was packed, and the seating was close together. It also took us awhile to even be noticed at the bar, and then after we got our drinks it was about 20 minutes until we were able to place our order. Thankfully, our server was friendly even though she was clearly slammed. We started to get really concerned that we were not going to have a good experience, but then the food came super fast after it had been ordered. It was really quite good. We all really enjoyed our meals. The only part that was lackluster was the salad. The perfectly cooked steaks, corn, mac and cheese, and baked potato were great. We finished with banana pudding which was fabulous. By this time it had slowed down enough to discern that our server really was very friendly as she began to check on us more frequently and was really generous. We would definitely return again for the food and friendly staff, but will try to avoid the super busy times of day when people are packed in like sardines and it takes awhile to be served.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Allison,
Thank you for taking the time give us a review of your experience in Granbury. You caught us on Valentine's weekend and were were especially busy (we never complain when that happens), but we do apologize for you feeling cramped. We are thrilled that the food you liked our food and that the server was able to take good care of you. We hope to see you back again. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granbury
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“One Of My Newest Favorite Restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have never had much luck with steak house restaurants because it is nearly impossible to get one cooked the way way you want. BUT!!!! Then I tried Hoffbrau and Holy Moley did I get a surprise!!!! Everything was cooked just as ordered by our party. Service was super and even with it being a very busy night for them, we were seated and served within 35 minutes. Now with a waiting line longer than a stretch of Texas Highway...that is GOOD. It was so good that my wife and I went back three days later and enjoyed another great dining experience. I had the quail on the second visit and it was luscious. The peach cobbler for dessert was super yummy too. This place gets five stars from me. I believe you will love Hoffbrau Steaks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the amazing review and it makes us so happy to fulfill our mission which is to WOW our Guests. Hurry back. Best wishes, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food and Plenty of It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and mother and I enjoyed another nice meal at Hoffbrau last evening. This time we tried hamburgers and chicken sandwich and fried okra and dinner salad. Hamburgers cooked to our preference.. .. Mother especially enjoyed the Hoff chips that came with burgers. And she loves the spicy Ranch dressing. And added bonus was the half priced bottles of wine on Wednesdays. And I really like their Bloody Mary's drinks. Emily was our server...very nice and professional and the right amount of attentiveness . Nice job and we will be back !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best steaks in Granbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Hoffbrau has the best ribeye steak to be had in Granbury. My wife also likes the spicy shrimp and mac & cheese. If you are not too full, have the peach cobbler. All of these are excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Jim,
We thank you for the very nice comments. We are thrilled that you love our ribeye. Bring your wife back and try our other steaks too. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusk, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Absolutely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

It's not often I would order steak but after reading many reviews I pulled the trigger and I may have found my new steak joint. I'm a medium-well kinda guy and it was perfect without being dry or charred to much. Nice job, I'll be back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
CW,
We are glad you found a home for Steaks and we hope to see you back soon to serve you more STeaks 'n Smiles. Happy Holidays. Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoffbrau Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoffbrau Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.