We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recently enjoyed a one hour walking tour in the beautiful city of Granbury, Texas, What a great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granbury Ghosts and Legends Tour

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Granbury Ghosts and Legends Tour
Granbury Square, Granbury, TX
(817) 559-0849
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Activities in Granbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours: Fridays 8pm & 10.15pm / Saturdays 7pm & 9:15pm• Meet at Wagon Yard Courtyard on Bridge St. between Nutt Hotel and Brazos River Trading Co.• Cost: $10 adults, $7 children 12 and underSpend a spooky evening with the ghost stories and legends of historic Granbury. Meet the Lady in Red, the Faceless Girl, and Indian Joe. Maybe even... John Wilkes Booth? Guides lead the tours dressed in Civil War period costumes as they take you around Granbury's Historic Square. Reservations are recommended but not required. Space is limited.
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
“I recently enjoyed a one hour walking tour in the beautiful city of Granbury, Texas, What a great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A wonderful walking tour with a very knowledgible guide. Priced right. It was an experience that I will never forget. A lot of fun and entertaining for the evening I spent in Granbury, Texas. I would go back in a heart beat. I highly recommend it for all age groups of people. He said History has never left Granbury and I now believe him to be right.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More Historical Than Ghostly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having lived in this area of Texas for most of our lives we thought...geez we have heard the old stories, lets go see if we can get closer to the ghosts. Well what we got was an AWESOME historical lesson on Granbury, the legends surrounding it, and a wonderfully fun walking tour. Boots was great and his stories were too, but we didn't really see any ghosts or have any interesting encounters. After this tour we drove down to the cemetery and went to see Jesse James grave which was fun at 10:30 at night...hee hee! The price was definitely right, the area is great to see on its own and the food on the square is GREAT! We were a group of 10 and we all agreed it was fun to do and that we really enjoyed it. It just wasn't a Ghost tour. We should have checked TripAdvisor before going and then we would have known that we were getting a historical walking tour. Walking is easy for all ages and handicap friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Arrogant & Rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A group of 4 of us took this tour on Saturday the May 25th, 2013. The guide was very confident of himself, but quite arrogant and rude. He insulted an attorney friend in our party on three different occasions during the evening, at one point calling him an "Ugly bald old man". His facts about John Wilkes Booth involvement in Granbury history had major conflicts with the information presented by the television show "Monumental Mysteries", and near the end of the tour, he described the "face on the bar room floor" (a famous attraction in Central City Colorado) as being in Greeley Colorado. He prided himself as quite a knowledgable hisorian and author, (hawking his upcoming book at several occasions) but his credibility in his knowledge were suspect, and his manner and rudeness was shocking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not for ghost hunters but good historical info”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the hour walking tour of Granbury's square. Our tour guide, Boots, was very knowledgable about the area. If you want to learn about Granbury's spooky history this is great; if you want EVPs and ghost hunting equipment you'll be disappointed. We had a groupon so admission was $5 so it was worth the drive. We definitely got our money's worth! If you are a history buff, I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Depends on your guide if the tour is interesting or not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We as a family group went and the first gentleman was very interesting and we had a great time. So the next time company came we took them. The lady only read the plaques and we didn't go off the square as before. It wasn't anything like the first tour. The man told so many stories and if the lady had told the same stories or really any stories we would have taken more company when they visited. I won't be going on another one unless I can find out who will be the guide before the tour. The first time I told everyone how fun it was but will not recommend again. I did notice that they have gone up in price and I hope that means they have finally gotten megaphones or something to make it easier to hear with traffic going by as other ghost tours have.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granbury Ghosts and Legends Tour also viewed

 

Been to Granbury Ghosts and Legends Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granbury Ghosts and Legends Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.