We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arkens Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arkens Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Arkens Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
635 June Rose Court, Granbury, TX 76048   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Granbury B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

One year ago this weekend, I had the most beautiful wedding at Arkens!!! Ken performed the ceremony and Arliss did everything else, including music and photography! The property was perfect and Ken and Arliss are great hosts. If I had to do it all over again, there isn't a single thing I would change about my wedding day!

Room Tip: You can't go room with either room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Arkens for our 25th anniversary. It was our first experience with a B&B and it was just what we had hoped for...and more. Their place is over the top gorgeous with so many amenities. Ken and Arlis are such fun and kind people. And the breakfasts...oh my. So delicious, so much variety and so much of it! Then there were the little snack jars all over the kitchen and the special dessert at night. We spent all day relaxing in the pool and their beautiful back yard. We will be going back to see our new friends, Ken and Arlis, and are already spreading the word to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We wrote our first review in January after booking to stay at the Arkens B&B and being blown away by the thoughtfulness of Arlis as we organised our road trip to the States. We have now been on holiday and have to say that our actual stay was even better than we expected.

Right from the moment we arrived - greeted by hugs and a welcome notice with our names on it - to the minute we left we were made to feel totally at home and pampered and special.

Not only were Ken and Arlis the perfect hosts but the house itself is extremely luxurious - the website doesn't really do the rooms or back garden justice. We stayed in Anita's Garden Suite, it was far bigger than we envisaged with a huge bed (that can massage you and change to the firmness you require) and a seating area & TV (with just about every film you could imagine available) in addition however there is a large walk in wardrobe complete with your own refrigerator (stocked with water and soft drinks, of course). By the time we got to Texas we had four suitcases and there was plenty of space in the room and wardrobe for them all. There was also a large bathroom with double sinks and a separate toilet and wetroom/shower room. Arlis also made sure that the bathroom was stocked with anything you could have needed or forgotten to bring with you.

Breakfast was cooked for us everyday by Ken & Arlis and was delicious with fruit, juices and a cooked course that more than set us up for the day. Cookies, sweets, candies, coffee and soft drinks are also available to you all day.

It wasn't however just the bedroom & breakfast that was fantastic, Arlis and Ken make their wonderful garden with pool, sofas, loungers, hammocks, firepit and dock available to their guests and give you all the privacy that you need. In true Arlis & Ken fashion everything is provided for you from robes and towels to sunscreen and bug spray. The location is quite superb, private and beautiful right on the edge of the lake and we spent our last day just lazing around the pool and lakeside.

It is probably however the special touches that made our stay so memorable, one of them for example, was the bucket of popcorn and soda pop that Arlis presented us with as we left to go to the local drive in movie. There are many, many other things that we could tell you about but instead would encourage anyone reading this to go and try. Whether you are vacationing in the area, live in the Dallas/Fort Worth locale and feel like a luxury break or visiting on business go and stay at Arkens Bed & Breakfast - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Four friends and I take a 3-day vacation to a bed and breakfast every year. Our visit this year was to Arkens, and we had one of the best times ever. Ken and Arlis made us feel like family, and the food and drink was unsurpassed. The saltwater pool was really nice, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Arlis and Ken are such terrific innkeepers that you will hardly know that they are there unless you need them. And the incredible breakfasts they serve make lunch plans irrelevant. We had a wonderful time just relaxing and enjoying a little shopping in Granbury. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What an amazing stay! Arlis and Ken were the perfect host. It felt like you were staying with friends. The rooms were beautiful and the backyard is a paradise. I can't wait until we go back and stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wow what a wonderful place! Arlis and Ken are the best! They have a unique way of making you feel like family while attending to your every need. We were pampered the entire weekend and enjoyed their company so much! This was our second time to stay at Arkens and won't be our last! We stay at B &B's all over the country and I can honestly say this one is the finest!

Room Tip: We have stayed in both rooms. They are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arkens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 635 June Rose Court, Granbury, TX 76048
Location: United States > Texas > Granbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Granbury
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkens Bed and Breakfast is a private two guest room property designed to be your own individual destination spot. We take great pride in giving you that much needed time to relax. Fabulous views of the pool and lake bring that tranquility and peace. Enjoy just gazing out while lying in our hammock or sitting in our hanging chairs listening to the peaceful wind chimes and the flowing sounds of the waterfall. If you prefer to be active, you may swim, boat, fish, putt around on our putting green or play any one of our outdoor games. Sit back by the outdoor fire pit and watch the moon come up over the lake. If you enjoy indoor activity, shoot pool, build a jig-saw puzzle, test your luck on our slot machines (tokens only), watch any one of our extensive DVD/Video library. Or, you can do nothing but sit back by the indoor fireplace and let us pamper you, give you that special place you can relax. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arkens Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.