We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once we parked the boat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelicans Landing Waterfront Restaurant

Pelicans Landing Waterfront Restaurant
500 Harbour View Rd, Gordonville, TX 76245-3717
903-523-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Once we parked the boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Happening place. The staff was friendly. Service was efficient. Fod was very good. Bathrooms clean. Calamari was outstanding. Shrimp cocktail skimpy

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Took the whole family and it was fabulous. Food was great, atmosphere was wonderful with all the sailboats and the lovely view of the lake, Service was awesome. We loved it. A far drive but worth it,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A large group of us were staying at Lake Texhoma and Pelican's Landing was where we agreed to meet for dinner. It was a Friday Night, and the place was packed, which is usually a good sign. We were seated in the bar. It was so noisy, we couldn't hear anyone past one seat away from us. The spouse ordered the pizza and took the server's suggestion to have it double-cooked to make it extra-crispy. It looked like a frozen pizza when it arrived and the spouse said a frozen pizza would have tasted better. I ordered the catfish and shrimp, but changed it after a friend got hers and there were only three fried shrimp and one piece of catfish- one less piece of catfish than the cheaper catfish entree. It seemed we waited an inordinate amount of time for the food. The servers were personable, but overwhelmed. The catfish was good, but rather thin and small. Our ticket was wrong, but quickly corrected. By the time I left, I had a headache from the noise. I would make the short drive to Catfish Haven for more reasonable prices and quieter atmosphere next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't go on weekends and holidays...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a bad experience last night. I can't comment on the food because we never even had a chance to eat. We waited in line for an hour only to be told that a sewage backup problem wouldn't allow them to seat anyone else.

Now, I understand that restaurants on the lake get slammed on holiday weekends. However good restaurants account for that and manage their business accordingly. While there was an hour wait, 3 empty tables sat there idle for at least 20 minutes. That's just poor management, plain and simple. I would NOT recommend going to this location on crowded weekends and/or holidays because they don't know how to manage peak demand.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Out of State guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had been to the restaurant a few months ago and enjoyed it. I took a guest from the NORTH... We had a great meal. Good food /good service/ nice menu! For sure a repeat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelicans Landing Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pelicans Landing Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelicans Landing Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.