We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Middle Buster Road, Gonzales, TX 78629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gonzales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor Management!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The young ladies at the front desk was very nice (Randi and Katlyn) but the house cleaning wasn't good at all. I had to ask every day for someone to clean my room. The location of this hotel is very nice. My main problem I had was they lied about what
they were charging me per night. I was told 179.00 the first night then 129.00 every night there after. I went to do my expense report and saw these people charged me over 1400 for a week.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We would be more than happy to clarify again the price issue you have. Your room was discounted from the original price of 229.00 to 179.00 flat rate for your entire stay by the General Manager and this was relayed to you by Katelynn. You were also not charged for a broken mirror in your room. Please contact us with any questions, concerns, or comments, our front desk and housekeeping are here to provide you the best service we can. We are glad you have returned to stay at our hotel. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
3
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Gonzales is a smaller town, I did not expect to see a Holiday Inn Express here. The hotel rooms were quite cozy. I think the Microtel across the street is a bit more updated though. The staff was great, and the cleaning ladies did a great job. The wifi was really good compared to other hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We value your opinion and like to hear were we can improve. We designed the hotel to fit the area of Gonzales, while still trying to be modern and cozy. We pride ourselves on our persistence in keeping the hotel clean. We hope you will join us again on your next visit to Gonzales, Texas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The grounds and room were very clean which is saying a lot since there are quite a few oil workers staying here. That's not a problem though. They were all very quiet and polite. I had no issues with noise. The on site gym is good aside from the fact that the treadmill died right in the middle of me using it. Didn't have an opportunity to use the pool. It was 104 while I was there and I don't tolerate the heat well. Air conditioning and fan in room kept up nicely despite the high temps. The breakfast offerings were standard and probably perfect for oil field workers. I chose cold cereal. I'm sure they don't get a lot of traffic from little old ladies with sensitive digestive tracts who are watching their weight :-)

I would stay here again. It was a nice base of operations and the bed was comfy and I slept well even though my room pointed out toward the highway. The road noise was not noticeable although I suspect the fan hid a lot. Staff was friendly, I generally have few requests. My door didn't want to close without a good shove but once I figured that out I was good to go.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to accommodate you and yours when visiting Gonzales, Texas! We value your opinion and are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I came in on a last-second drop by after perusing for business, and they were COMPLETELY accommodating!

In this burgeoning area thanks to the Eagle Ford Shale, many places have taken on too many travelers and have thus become run down. Not the Holiday Inn Express & Suites here in Gonzales!

Large and clean interior, the coffee was fantastic and the bathrooms were clean.

Not only was the staff accommodating, I actually got great service... with two smiles!

Highly recommended, both for brief AND extended stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We value your opinion and like to hear were we can improve. We pride ourselves on our persistence in keeping the hotel clean. We hope you will join us again on your next visit to Gonzales, Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I loved the presentation and cleanliness of hotel. Customer service is excellent. Kimberly at the front desk thanks for always greeting and providing excellent customer service. bed is fantastic especially the pillows.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to accommodate you and yours! We are so glad to hear how pleased you are with our hotel. I will show Kimberly and all our front desk staff your compliment. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Gonzales, Texas is a good hotel for the Oil patch in the Eagle Ford Shale. The rates are a bit high, but I suspect demand really dictates this in the area. There are few hotels around of this caliber, so Holiday Inn is setting the price at what the market will bear. As far as the hotel goes, it is new and clean. The rooms are nice and appointed to Holiday Inn standards. We had trouble with the Wi-Fi internet working and had to mention it 3 times to the front desk over our 3 day stay for them to get it taken care of. We were offered a cable hook up to the system, but none of our equipment had that capability. The breakfast buffet was good, but rather minimalist. It was clearly designed to feed their target audience (oil field workers). There wasn't much of a selection on light things like yogurt. The first day we were there, the bacon was cooked extra crispy and the biscuits were cold, but we had missed their targeted rush time, so this was kind of what was left. The second day, we were up much earlier and this seemed to make a big difference in freshness, although the selections remained rather rudimentary. Over all, I would call this a good hotel for it's location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for allowing us to accommodate you and yours. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We apologize for the inconvenience of our front desk staff not resetting and solving the WIFI issue more quickly for you. We will be discussing this with our staff to better solve your problems at a faster rate. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very friendly and accommodating at the HIEX Gonzales!! The rooms are clan and the breakfast area is great!! The manager, Alison, is very nice and wants the best for customers!! Stay here, it's nice along with it's sister hotel, the Sleep Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to accommodate you and yours when visiting Gonzales, Texas! We value your opinion and are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales

Address: 126 Middle Buster Road, Gonzales, TX 78629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Gonzales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gonzales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.