We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we hated this place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Fossil Rim

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Fossil Rim
Save
You added The Lodge at Fossil Rim to your Saves list
3022 County Road 2010, Glen Rose, TX 76043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“we hated this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

It was a miserable experience.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

This place is the pits. The cabins were dirty, the food was way overpriced and horrible.

The staff was rude - I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Disliked — Accomodations were awful, staff was rude, prices were a ripoff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

We have stayed at this lodge 3 times and we really enjoy it.
It is really a 5 bedroom house with lots of common areas including (1) a big downstairs "den" with a couch, TV and VCR (bring some tapes), antique carved bar (nice selection of wine/beer/spirits that are reasonably priced) and a big table and chairs perfect for games or eating; (2) a more formal living room upstairs with a huge patio with a great view; (3) kitchen and dining room with a very large table and 8 or so chairs also with a great view.

The house lends itself to getting to know the other families that are spending the night. Everyone hangs around in the den after dinnner. There are 3 options for dinner: going into Glen Rose to eat at a handful of restaurants, bring carryout back to the Lodge or preorder and the Lodge will cook dinner for you.
Breakfast is included and it is off site just down the road in a building that is glass on 3 sides for even more great views. Breakfast is buffet style and usually includes biscuits, fruit, cereal, a meat, eggs, juice, milk, & coffee/tea. We always let the kids run around after breakfast while we sip an extra cup of coffee and soak up the countryside.

The Lodge also has several "tents" that are sort of like canvas-sided cabins that have beds and an indoor bath. We haven't stayed in those but friends enjoyed them.

Included in the lodge/tent rate is the admission to the wildlife park and the kids love that. Be sure to spend the extra $7 for the bag of food so you can feed the animals including the zebras & giraffes.

Glen Rose is about an hour SW of Dallas/Fort Worth and it is an easy drive on Hwy 67.
The Lodge isn't quite up to Westin standards but they are running a non-profit (the whole point of Fossil Rim is to protect endangered species) and we think they do a great job. The house is very clean; the rooms are a nice size; the beds are comfy and the view is fabulous. Don't forget to go outside and look at the stars. There is no light pollution out there to ruin your view.
Once you go, your kids will talk about it for weeks.

  • Liked — Lots of room in the house and great views
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

Our family of four spent a night at the Fossil Rim Lodge over the July 4th holiday. We stayed in the only lodge room left which has two beds and a shared bath. The experience is similar to visiting a friend's ranch house. The room is comfortable with new beddings and a stone fireplace ( they must have remodeled the room since the review from 2005). The room is stuffy when the door is closed. We had to use a fan at night. There are plenty living/family rooms in the house to seat and read or play games. There is one T.V in the house. Didn't check to see if it works. You can also watch animals from the large upstair decks(see previously posted pictures). Water pressure for the shower is very low but it's fine for a bath.(yes, you must run the water first...it's just rust) The breakfast was good but bring your own coffee (it's a little stronger than warm water).

The best part of our stay was spending the evening sitting on the deck by the safari tent area watching various animals and birds with the kids. However, I did not let them swim in the natural pool. It looks too mossy for my taste. We also didn't stay at the tent since it's too small for four. It's best for two persons or at most with a small child.

If the Best Western is your preference then this place is not for you. Stay here to experience an evening in Texas but not just for a night of lodging whille you travel through Texas.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed at the lodge's "Foothills Safari Camp," which is a complex of "tents" located a fair distance from the main lodge building, with a nice pavilion nearby. The tents aren't really tents (while they have canvas walls, they're built on some sort of fixed frame and permanently set onto a foundation with their own little central air & heat, small interior bathrooms with showers, glass doors & windows. But they're also a bit small and unconventional to call them "cabins." I think "cabana" might be a good description and provide a slightly more accurate mental image than does "tent."

The tent interiors are nice in a slightly cramped and rustic way. The general interior layout reminded me of my old college dorm rooms with fixed twin beds on opposite walls, except it was somewhat smaller (no desks, bookshelves, or closets) than my old dorm rooms although it arguably had a nicer little bathroom than the ones in my former dorms! If it gets too cramped for you, the pavilion is a nice, modern building just a few yards away with a full kitchen, a larger restroom (no bath), and lots of tables and chairs. It's also where breakfast is served in the morning.

The tents were very clean and tidy, though I was bothered a little bit by mosquitos (left the door open too much, I suspect, and let them fly in). I might suggest to the lodge folks that hanging mosquito netting over the beds might provide a touch both romantic and practical.

Can't comment much on the main lodge building since we stopped by there only briefly when we checked in. It looked like a nice, modern but pretty conventional B&B. Was obviously someone's fancy vacation home in the '70s/'80s. At a quick glance, the handful of rooms looked nicely appointed and well-maintained, though awfully conventional compared with the "tents."

The Safari Camp's big selling point: The tents are not more than a couple of hundred feet from one of Fossil Rim Wildlife Center's larger watering holes (tents are separated from it by a stout fence) where we watched herds of addax, oryx, axis deer, white-tailed deer, fallow deer and waterbuck pass by, along with the occasional sandhill crane and wild turkey (not an alcohol joke there; actual wild turkeys) pass by.

The one major downside: The prices are very steep, especially when you consider how small and rustic (albeit quite comfortable) the overnight accommodations are, but there can't be a lot of places in the U.S. where an overnight visitor can so easily enjoy this kind of wildlife watching. And since the Fossil Rim Wildlife Center is a nonprofit foundation now, I assume the room costs are partly helping support their conservation efforts.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2005

Fossil Rim is a very nice place to visit if you love animals. The work they do there is spectacular. There are quite a few places to stay in the small town of Glen Rose, but if you want to stay on site, The Lodge at Fossil Rim is your only choice. While the house and grounds are beautiful, the rooms are just average. There are two downstairs rooms which share a bath. There are two rooms on the second floor which have private baths and one huge suite on the third floor. The staff is friendly, but the place needs a bit of polishing. Since there were four of us, we took the two downstairs rooms. Our mattress was very hard and we did not have any extra pillows or blankets (which we really needed). The lamps in one of the rooms were so poor that we had to get another out of the living room to see. These may seem like small inconveniences, but the prices here are very high. OUr rooms were $150/night each. If you decide to stay, choose the rooms upstairs - they seemed better equipped although they are also more expensive. They provide breakfast, but you must go down to the safari camp to eat. The tour of the property is $45.00/pp but it was very interesting. It was led by volunteers and they were great! The Best Western in town is really a better choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2005

We stayed in the Peregrin room at the Lodge for $330/ night (family of four). The room was beautiful and spacious; the bathroom was lovely. The whole lodge is comfortable and inviting. Unfortunately, the room was not well-maintained which led to little unexpected frustrations during our stay. Several lightbulbs were out (showering by Braille was not fun), soaps and shampoo were limited, and there was no way to start a fire without using a whole Sunday Dallas Morning News newspaper. These things would have easily been overlooked in a room half the price, but were irritating when paying so much for one night. There is no one to call with these problems as the "manager" is often working elsewhere. Finally, you should know before you go that guests cannot wander far from the lodge due to the wildlife being just outside the fence. No morning jogs or hikes! We loved Fossil Rim, the people were nice and the place is beautiful. Just felt that we paid too much for the accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Fossil Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Fossil Rim

Address: 3022 County Road 2010, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing escape at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center’s Lodge. Located in a peaceful corner of the park with incredible views, The Lodge welcomes guests to spacious rooms and includes a hot breakfast and a scenic wildlife drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Fossil Rim Hotel Glen Rose
Hotel At Fossil Rim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Fossil Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.