We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pace for family and friends to gather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Fossil Rim

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Fossil Rim
Save
You added The Lodge at Fossil Rim to your Saves list
3022 County Road 2010, Glen Rose, TX 76043   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great pace for family and friends to gather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights around New Year's Eve and had a blast. We had a few families with kids ranging from 5 years to 18 months. It is a lodge rental, not a hotel stay. Staying two nights was great because it allowed us to settle in and really enjoy the lodge. The kids loved waking up to see deer all around and hearing the wolves howling at night.

You can purchase beer, wine and hard alcohol at the bar that is on the honor system. It was not well stocked if you have some heavy drinkers. But it was good for a couple of drinks at the end of the day.

It has two large great rooms with fireplaces that are stocked with wood and games and is a great place to relax.

It has a full kitchen along with a nice sized grill on the deck. I would recommend to bring some food to cook/grill because it is about a 10 - 15 minute ride to get to a restaurant (you can also have pizza delivered). Breakfest was 4 or 5 minute car ride away at a dining facility where they also have the permanent tents.

Glen Rose has a couple of fun places to eat. Holleywood and Vine was great (go outside to eat) and the kids loved the atmosphere. Ranch House BBQ had some good bbq.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

As others have indicated, this is not a typical hotel or b&b. The house has been turned in to a lodge with five rooms. We stayed in the Parrot. We were able to park right outside our door for easy luggage moving. There were still a few steps but not bad.The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and it is "step in." That also means it is "step out" which may be difficult for anyone with mobility issues. My knees don't do well with a high step so it was a little inelegant (and would be even if one showered instead of enjoying the tub). No television except in the large common room but it was more fun watching the animals grazing nearby. You are not permitted (for safety reasons) to leave the enclosed area but the view is amazing and animals are constantly changing. I woke up to deer right outside the door.

Breakfast is down at the "safari camp" and was plentiful and tasty. Because there were only a few guests breakfast was plated instead of buffet. (One note of caution: The next morning the server did not show up for work so no breakfast was available. It took several calls to get someone to the camp to prepare food, delaying activities that were scheduled). Our reservation for the behind the scenes tour, only available to those who spend the night on site, was never entered in the computer so we had to return the next morning for our tour. Still it was worth it and I'd do it again.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms are on the first floor but share a bath. The Parrot Room has the least steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

All i can say is the lodge leaks when it rains housekeeping is great the people are nice the water smells like rotten eggs lights dont work very good the door knob on the front door is broken horrible decorations workers sleep on the couch at night no service at those hours the tents not so great they have most uncomfortable beds in them i wouldnt recommend staying at all and way over priced.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at the safari camp was ok untill I was ready for bed,and found only a box spring, no extra blankets or pillow and no mattress.I paid 225 dollars to sleep on box springs. Cannot believe that I did that.Did not receive any help that satisfied me.NEVER AGAIN FOR ME. Place is way overpriced.

Room Tip: If anyone still decides to go to this place make sure you take somes pads to sleep on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for the purpose of seeing the animals and taking the breakfast tour. No way would I pay the regular season rates for this place.

The Lodge rooms (bar, bedrooms, kitchen, dining area, etc.) are on multiple levels--you are constantly negotiating steep steps and stepping up to the kitchen, down to the living room, etc. so we were always carefully watching our step. One could take a nasty fall here. If you stay in the Attwater room, you can park your car outside the patio, but you still need to negotiate the patio and haul your luggage over the sliding door threshold. I would not recommend the Lodge for anyone with mobility issues, and it is definitely not ADA compatible.

The views are impressive, and there is plenty of deck space to watch the animals, enjoy the sunset, or have that first early morning coffee. The Lodge is in the middle of nowhere, and I wouldn't plan on trying to find your way there after dark. This place "nickles and dimes" you for soft drinks, water, and snacks, so bring your own. Also check about bringing your own food to prepare in the kitchen. You cannot bring alcohol. There is a nice do-it-yourself bar with wine, a few bottles of liquor, and not much else. It operates on the honor system, and you write up your tab. Pretty expensive prices, but it's the only game in town.

I wanted to like this place--it's pretty impressive. But the housekeeping is not very good (debris in corners, spotty vacuuming), the carpets are very worn and nasty, and there is not enough hot water. If you are considering the Parrot room because of the jacuzzi, make another choice. There was not enough hot water to cover the jets, there was something gross floating around, and the water smelled like boiled eggs. Plenty of towels, a good working toilet, and a nice comfortable bed. The Attwater room's screen door to the patio was broken, the carpet was dirty, and the room did not feel "clean".

You will not get any service here, so be prepared to take care of your own needs. It must get lonely, because the young woman on duty kept coming upstairs to "visit". There is a very young man that sleeps on the couch downstairs at night in case there is a "problem".

If you haven't made arrangements for dinner, there are a few pizza places that will deliver. Jim's is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is not the place to stay if you are looking to be pampered. But, if you want an away from the hubbub of everyday this is it. Nicely appointed rooms, a great breakfast buffet, quiet surroundings in which to observe endangered species, the opportunity to see up close and personal many unique animals, Fossil Rim provides several different opportunities. The Lodge is the most upscale, but the tents in Safari Camp provide more traditional safari accommodations and a chance to see the animals truly in your front yard.. Fossil Rim Wildlife Center is a wonderful place for young and old to appreciate endangered species and the significant efforts that are being made to preserve them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

For my birthday, my wife arranged a trip for us to Fossil Rim Wildlife Park in Glen Rose Texas. As part of the trip, my wife booked us into the Peregrine Room at the Lodge for a night. Here's a few things to know to manage your expectations:

1. This is not really a hotel or B&B in the traditional sense. Basically this was a house in which the various rooms have been converted into 'lodging'. There isn't room service, televisions, phones, attendants, etc.
2. On the subject of service, again, not traditional hotel.There was someone there when we checked in and when we checked out to take our payment and give us our key but that's about it.
3. The Peregrine Room itself was nice with a big jacuzzi tub and large bedroom though the ambience is late 70s/early 80s.

In other words if you are looking for a very nice, high service level hotel? Not the place. At all.

So, why stay at the Lodge?

First, if you are with a group of people (large family, friends, businesses etc) this is probably a great place to rent out. It has lots of deck and kitchen space and you can probably have a fanstatic time cooking out and sitting on the patio with its spectacular view of the hills in Fossil Rim.

It is seculded (down a looooong country road), which also makes it a great place to retreat from the larger world.

But probably the number one reason to stay is it is the only way you can go on the Morning Safari Tour which departs at 8:30am the next morning. If starting off your day being driven around by two experienced guides, stopping to see cheetahs, feed giraffes, pet baby rhinos, see all the best the park has to offer while getting a great education from charming hosts, then it is *definitely* worth a night's stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Fossil Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Fossil Rim

Address: 3022 County Road 2010, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing escape at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center’s Lodge. Located in a peaceful corner of the park with incredible views, The Lodge welcomes guests to spacious rooms and includes a hot breakfast and a scenic wildlife drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Fossil Rim Hotel Glen Rose
Hotel At Fossil Rim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Fossil Rim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.